Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great reference
It's not a book that covers all aspects of WPF, and it that sense some might argue that it's not a reference book.
For me, as a begginning WPF Developer it's the perfect book!

It doesn't develop an application as one follows the chapter. The examples are instead kept short, just hightlighting any current subject the author wishes to explain.
It...
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by Håvard

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Claims to be a programmers reference for WPF with .net 4 but does not include coverage of new WPF features like the Datagrid, Datetimepicker and Calendar.
Published on 4 May 2010 by Andrew Mid Wales


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great reference, 15 Mar 2011
This review is from: WPF Programmer's Reference: Windows Presentation Foundation with C# 2010 and .NET 4 (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
It's not a book that covers all aspects of WPF, and it that sense some might argue that it's not a reference book.
For me, as a begginning WPF Developer it's the perfect book!

It doesn't develop an application as one follows the chapter. The examples are instead kept short, just hightlighting any current subject the author wishes to explain.
It doesn't cover code behind very much, the focus is mainly on xaml markup.
Since the "code coverage" is not as high as in other books, some advanced topics are left out.
That actually works to this book's advantage in many areas.
As a beginners's WPF book, and a xaml reference, I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should be your first book on WPF !, 10 Jan 2011
By 
Daniel Marivoet "ddanbe" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WPF Programmer's Reference: Windows Presentation Foundation with C# 2010 and .NET 4 (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
Should be 6 stars, but I only can give 5.
I have read other books on the subject. This is the first one that makes me understand what WPF is all about.
Without ever losing the total picture, you get gentle guidance through often hard to understand topics as XAML, containers etc.
Also liked the attitude of the writer: He sums up the advantages, but also the disadvantages!
Great book to have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're serious about WPF, read this!, 5 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: WPF Programmer's Reference: Windows Presentation Foundation with C# 2010 and .NET 4 (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
I have purchased several WPF books, but this is the best written and easiest to understand I have read.

Even the most complext tasks are broken down into little pieces for easy digestion. Not too much technical information is given, but sufficient to know why you are doing a particular task.

If you are serious about WPF development, then this is the book for you.

Hope this helps,
Martin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book for Beginners, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WPF Programmer's Reference: Windows Presentation Foundation with C# 2010 and .NET 4 (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
When I started trying to use WPF it was hard going get straightforward information about how to use WPF. The videos on the Microsoft site are excellent but assume you already have some knowledge of WPF whilst the Microsoft technical articles are good but try to cover everything and can tend to be confusing. Rod Stephens' book is a good introduction to the subject. It gives simple examples and highlights the main points from the other detail. One section that was particularly useful is Chapter 4 Common Properties where he reviews the layout options and the effect they have on the result. Where I would have like more detail would have been in the use of SQL Server and binding. However, this is a minor issue and might be the subject of another book. There is an emphasis on XAML rather than code despite the book's title and might also be useful for programmers who use visual basic. The other misleading aspect of the title is its claim to be a 'Programmer's Reference'. There is a reference section at the back but it is selective rather than exhaustive.
In summary, this is a good book to get you started so that the reference material on the Microsoft web site starts to make sense and hang together. My recommendation is that this is a good, easy introduction to WPF but if you are going to be using WPF professional and heavily then Matthew MacDonald's 'Pro WPF in C# 2010' might be a better choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 4 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WPF Programmer's Reference: Windows Presentation Foundation with C# 2010 and .NET 4 (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
Claims to be a programmers reference for WPF with .net 4 but does not include coverage of new WPF features like the Datagrid, Datetimepicker and Calendar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on WPF and great examples, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WPF Programmer's Reference: Windows Presentation Foundation with C# 2010 and .NET 4 (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
I am new to C# and WPF and I have to say this book is the best one I have come across. It has great examples which can be downloaded from the site. I have tried about 4 others on the subject of WPF and the layout and explanations by this author I find to be the most logical and closest to a real world scenarios.

I now look for books by this author first on IT subjects.

An example - there is a logical example of how to Bind a combo box and list box to a database table and include images in the combo box items. Nice and simple and easy to follow. There were not examples of this in any of the other books I purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource for learning WPF, 21 May 2010
By 
M. Bird - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WPF Programmer's Reference: Windows Presentation Foundation with C# 2010 and .NET 4 (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
This is a great book on WPF for existing programmers. Concise and to the point, there are plenty of code examples to try out in order to get used to XAML. The author dives straight into what matters and the organisation of the book means you can go directly to chapters of interest. This allows you to get the most out of the book in the shortest amount of time. In this way it truly is a "reference" material and indispensable if you don't have time to trawl through tons of banter and drivel, as is the case with some other programming books out there.

If you're already a programmer, need a quick ramp up into WPF and don't need a complete "dummies guide", this is the book for you.

My only slight criticism is that it's not a completely comprehensive reference, some newer WPF features are not present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WPF, 22 Jun 2010
This review is from: WPF Programmer's Reference: Windows Presentation Foundation with C# 2010 and .NET 4 (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
Antoher great book by Rod Stephens. Starts easy with lots of background information on what WPF is, progressing through lots of simple examples to more detailed complex examples. Good decision by Wrox to make the book full colour as well. Makes easier reading IMO. I own 2 Rod Stephens books and next time its time to purchase a new one I'll be looking to see if Rod has covered the topics I need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews