Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars11
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2010
This is a brilliant book which really shows you how to get the best out of Zbrush whilst modeling humanoids. I would not however recommend it for an absolute beginner. The added DVD really helps crystallise concepts raised in the book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2010
This is a superb book on human antomy, and Zbrush sculpting. Unlike other books this book teaches you about the human form and anatomy when sculpting, and giving you a solid basis in Zbrush. Other books will tell you to do this and do that, without telling you why the human body should be that way, but this book tells you everythign you need to know, from making a base mesh in Maya to adavanced scultping in Zbrush. This is highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Bought the electronic edition for Kindle but there is no way to get the DVD from the publisher's site. It does state this clearly as it does for all Kindle books where there is an accompanying DVD, but having obtained a copy afterwards with a DVD, I would definitely say that it's better to go for a version with a DVD if you can get it.

The book's a little old now but is mostly still valid for the current version of ZBrush 4R5, except for the re-topology section, as the way this works is different in the latest version of the software.

This book focuses heavily on the anatomy of the male human body and shows you how to sculpt a heroic figure from the inside out (muscles first). So if that's what you're looking for, great, but it doesn't focus very heavily on using ZBrush itself. However, there are other good books for that, so this is worth the purchase alone just to see what techniques a great artist like Scott Spencer uses to achieve such great results.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
Buy this if you want to improve your skills using Zbrush. Instruction moves at quite a pace so if you are new to ZB you should read this guys other book. The DVD is packed with tutorial videos that more than flesh out the book. Several hours of tuition at this price - a no brainer - buy it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
I bought this book to help me out with the correct human proportion and muscles explanations.

Is very well realized, it doesn t explain when use a determinate tool because this is not it's function ( there are many book for that), but the peculiarity of this one is that divide in blocks the geometry helping you the understanding of the general mash and then going into details.

I gave it 4/5 because there is not the female body.

I suggest also to buy a pure anatomy book like "Human Anatomy for Artists: The Elements of Form " in order to have a full package of anatomy books with all the reference that you need ( because the aren't too many reference picture in " zbrush digital scu. ") .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2010
Not a word about women characters, or about fats volume and position, it's only the process for the big low-fat overly testosteroned dude on the cover.
The 3.5 features, like ZSpheres 2 are not showed.
No technical precisions, it's not about where and when to click, the basics must be already known.

But, I give it a 5/5, because it's my new anatomy and sculpt bible, very complete about proportions, muscles bones and attachment, and with good chapters about SSS and topology.
And even if your english is as bad as mine, it's very clear and pretty well illustrated.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
I purchased this book after taking some online tutorials on zbrush and I got to say that not only is this a great book for anatomy on its own, it's great to see how all the anatomy info translates into the zbrush program. Other anatomy are good for ref but for me, this book is just what I was looking for as Scott does a great job in delivering a solid foundation and workflow in anatomy for zbrush. This book will be my new bible in sculpting in zbrush and I might even have a go a tradition sculpting. All in all an essential purchase for any kind of work involving anatomy.

5 Stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
Very interesting and helpful book, i can also improve my drawing skill thanks to the details shown here. Recommended for those who like to study human anatomy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
Judging by the reaction from my son, this was just the gift required to polish some of his skills on the computer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
Helpful for getting proportions right and how the muscles all interact.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)