Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2010
I purchased the Canon EOS 1000D in Nov 2009 to migrate from taking simple pictures with a standard digital camera. I want to become a serious photographer, so I bought this book to improve my knowledge of the basic and creative functions of the camera. I found this book to be detailed enough and useful in what I expected. This book is purely aimed at Canon 1000D. The manufacturer's manual is very basic, so this book gives simple explanations and illustrations to those new to this Camera. Those with a solid background in digital photography will not find this book very useful. It simply will not teach anything new to exprienced photographers. To newcomers, my advice is that take your time to go through the book with your camera (if you have bought it already) beside you. Its certainly not for one weekend reading. There are many other books and web sites which can give you various tips into taking amazing pictures with this camera. As I said, this book is just an intro to newbies and I would recommend it.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2009
Being completely new to SLR photography, I was really impressed with the clear layout and concise instructions which are cross referenced in this guide. It makes finding your way around the camera easy and straightforward with a wealth of information on how to take pictures in all conditions whether using the automatic controls or progressing on to manual selections. An absolute must!
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
I received my new Canon 1000D as a gift, of my choice, when I recently retired from work so I decided that I would really need to learn how to use it properly in order to get the best results out of it. Although I have had a number of film and digital point-and-shoot cameras I have never owned any kind of SLR camera, film or digital, before and it is rather daunting to set out to use something you have never used previously and what was such a difference from any camera I have used before. The 1000D for Dummies is certainly helping me to get to grips with the camera and its various functions and I am actually getting some very reasonable shots after following event the most basic instructions in the book. It is very easy to follow and is better than the booklet that came with the camera. I am looking forward to getting even better results once I have managed to get through the all of the book and should, by that time, know the camera and its operation inside out. All in all a great reference book and an easy to follow beginners guide to an excellent digital SLR camera.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
I recently purchased my first DSLR and was quite disappointed in the manual that came with my EOS 1000d, as I'm an absolute novice when it comes to photography and I found it confusing and not detailed enough. After browsing through manuals online to see if I could find something better to help me teach how to use my camera, I came across this book, Canon EOS 1000d for Dummies, and didn't hesitate to purchase it. I'm only half way through it but am absolutely delighted with it, as the author explains everything in great detail, so that even people who have hardly held a camera in their hands should be able to understand what it's all about! As mentioned in the previous reviews, this book is probably not recommendable to those who already have a knowledge in photography and who just want to improve their techniques. But for people like me, this book is perfect and I'd recommend it to anybody who wants to learn the basic ins and outs of this DSLR!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2010
A really good book. Easy to follow and has some great tips to expand your photography ability. Highly recommended. "Does exactly what it says on the cover!"
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
I have owned this camera for a year now, like most people the instructional manual supplied with it lies barely flicked through. Techno speak and boring layout might meet the criteria for the product but for me the xxxx for Dummies series of books is written for people like me. Those that want an interesting and occassionaly humorous read that is written minus the techno babble. I have sat and read a small section of this book each day with the objective of learning at least one thing different each time(and often more than one as I can't help but keep reading it once I have started).
It has proven to be an excellent read and very informative following which I am enjoying my camera much more which has encouraged me to start taking more photographs as a result. Does what it says on the tin as they say.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2011
I bought this as the manual supplied was so basic and needed more information.
Very easy to read and understand and i've learnt a heap since I purchased it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
This book is just the job for some one of my ability I have been taking pictures for many years now. With the advent of DSLR this has changed many factors of the game so much detail on those systems too much for most people to take in . That's where this book takes over very well laid out easy to understand detail. I suppose now im taking proper pictures. I also got one for a family member too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
This book is thorough and easy to ready and I definitely recommend it for consideration with your 1000D. The array of buttons and switches is a bit daunting and this will certainly help you navigate them.

Just 4 stars though I am struggling a bit to cross over from reading to doing. Perhaps as the layout is focused on functionality/theory vs mini-projects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2011
If you can get past the dubious American attempt at humour which all Dummies books seem to want to do the content of the book is good, well laid out and informative for a newcomer like me. By its nature it is a large book and very heavy so difficult to take with you on photographic expeditions for reference. Overall worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)