Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful and a good intro to the Camera
I purchased the Canon EOS 1000D in Nov 2009 to migrate from taking simple pictures with a standard digital camera. I want to become a serious photographer, so I bought this book to improve my knowledge of the basic and creative functions of the camera. I found this book to be detailed enough and useful in what I expected. This book is purely aimed at Canon 1000D. The...
Published on 21 Feb 2010 by Eddie Francis

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very basic
The book is a little more than an illustrated elaboration of the manual enclosed with the camera. It is a very good EOS1000D manual but I expected more tips on photography with the EOS1000D camera. If one is completely new to SLR and photography then it is a good starting point. However, if you are familiar with basic concepts like depth of field, f-stop etc then the...
Published on 7 Jan 2010 by S. Siddhanta


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful and a good intro to the Camera, 21 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel XS/1000D For Dummies (Paperback)
I purchased the Canon EOS 1000D in Nov 2009 to migrate from taking simple pictures with a standard digital camera. I want to become a serious photographer, so I bought this book to improve my knowledge of the basic and creative functions of the camera. I found this book to be detailed enough and useful in what I expected. This book is purely aimed at Canon 1000D. The manufacturer's manual is very basic, so this book gives simple explanations and illustrations to those new to this Camera. Those with a solid background in digital photography will not find this book very useful. It simply will not teach anything new to exprienced photographers. To newcomers, my advice is that take your time to go through the book with your camera (if you have bought it already) beside you. Its certainly not for one weekend reading. There are many other books and web sites which can give you various tips into taking amazing pictures with this camera. As I said, this book is just an intro to newbies and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 21 April 2009
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel XS/1000D For Dummies (Paperback)
Being completely new to SLR photography, I was really impressed with the clear layout and concise instructions which are cross referenced in this guide. It makes finding your way around the camera easy and straightforward with a wealth of information on how to take pictures in all conditions whether using the automatic controls or progressing on to manual selections. An absolute must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal book for a real SLR Dummy!, 23 Aug 2010
By 
A. Douglas "Alastair J Douglas" (Erskine, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel XS/1000D For Dummies (Paperback)
I received my new Canon 1000D as a gift, of my choice, when I recently retired from work so I decided that I would really need to learn how to use it properly in order to get the best results out of it. Although I have had a number of film and digital point-and-shoot cameras I have never owned any kind of SLR camera, film or digital, before and it is rather daunting to set out to use something you have never used previously and what was such a difference from any camera I have used before. The 1000D for Dummies is certainly helping me to get to grips with the camera and its various functions and I am actually getting some very reasonable shots after following event the most basic instructions in the book. It is very easy to follow and is better than the booklet that came with the camera. I am looking forward to getting even better results once I have managed to get through the all of the book and should, by that time, know the camera and its operation inside out. All in all a great reference book and an easy to follow beginners guide to an excellent digital SLR camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant guide for dummies, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel XS/1000D For Dummies (Paperback)
I recently purchased my first DSLR and was quite disappointed in the manual that came with my EOS 1000d, as I'm an absolute novice when it comes to photography and I found it confusing and not detailed enough. After browsing through manuals online to see if I could find something better to help me teach how to use my camera, I came across this book, Canon EOS 1000d for Dummies, and didn't hesitate to purchase it. I'm only half way through it but am absolutely delighted with it, as the author explains everything in great detail, so that even people who have hardly held a camera in their hands should be able to understand what it's all about! As mentioned in the previous reviews, this book is probably not recommendable to those who already have a knowledge in photography and who just want to improve their techniques. But for people like me, this book is perfect and I'd recommend it to anybody who wants to learn the basic ins and outs of this DSLR!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 6 July 2010
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel XS/1000D For Dummies (Paperback)
A really good book. Easy to follow and has some great tips to expand your photography ability. Highly recommended. "Does exactly what it says on the cover!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Purchase, 2 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel XS/1000D For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought this as the manual supplied was so basic and needed more information.
Very easy to read and understand and i've learnt a heap since I purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This dummy loves it, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel XS/1000D For Dummies (Paperback)
Great value book. I treated my self to a new Canon EOS SLR camera but needed a book to explain all the terminology. This fits the bill nicely. Easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars camera book, 16 Jan 2013
By 
F. Tibbo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel XS/1000D For Dummies (Paperback)
bought the wrong book for wife's Christmas present. should have been 1100D. still it gives her some tips. it will be
interesting to see if it improves her photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Canon EOS 1000D for Dummies book review, 19 Aug 2011
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel XS/1000D For Dummies (Paperback)
I have owned this camera for a year now, like most people the instructional manual supplied with it lies barely flicked through. Techno speak and boring layout might meet the criteria for the product but for me the xxxx for Dummies series of books is written for people like me. Those that want an interesting and occassionaly humorous read that is written minus the techno babble. I have sat and read a small section of this book each day with the objective of learning at least one thing different each time(and often more than one as I can't help but keep reading it once I have started).
It has proven to be an excellent read and very informative following which I am enjoying my camera much more which has encouraged me to start taking more photographs as a result. Does what it says on the tin as they say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why do Dummies books try to be humorous?, 16 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS Rebel XS/1000D For Dummies (Paperback)
If you can get past the dubious American attempt at humour which all Dummies books seem to want to do the content of the book is good, well laid out and informative for a newcomer like me. By its nature it is a large book and very heavy so difficult to take with you on photographic expeditions for reference. Overall worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3494edc)

This product

Canon EOS Rebel XS/1000D For Dummies
Canon EOS Rebel XS/1000D For Dummies by Julie Adair King (Paperback - 12 Dec 2008)
13.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews