Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent reading for dog owners
It is very revealing and relaxing to find out that you don't have to be the boss to have a great relationship with your dog. Yes, you have to be clear in what you expect from a dog, but that would be to any living creature, if you want any understanding.
Good reading, with the latest views on how to handle your dog.
Published on 19 Feb 2010 by Doglov

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but basic
This was easy to read, but fairly basic for anybody who already attends dog training. It is written in a very American style with lots of whooping and high fiving which put me off somewhat.

A good starter book, but otherwise I wouldn't bother.
Published 13 months ago by Amy Luff


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent reading for dog owners, 19 Feb 2010
This review is from: Bonding with Your Dog: A Trainer's Secrets for Building a Better Relationship (Paperback)
It is very revealing and relaxing to find out that you don't have to be the boss to have a great relationship with your dog. Yes, you have to be clear in what you expect from a dog, but that would be to any living creature, if you want any understanding.
Good reading, with the latest views on how to handle your dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonding with your Dog, 22 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonding with Your Dog: A Trainer's Secrets for Building a Better Relationship (Paperback)
Although I haven't completely finished reading this book I would recommend it to anyone who is having issues with their dog. Mine was a rescue with a history and 40kg of pure muscle with a biting attitude needed the expertise and the gently handling suggestions that this book had to offer. Already there is a great deal of improvement just by respecting the dog he now has more respect for me. The pack issue in other books might be ok in their right place, but there is no substitue for working together with your dog to build up the relationship that is at the heart of any owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for first time dog owners, 30 July 2011
This review is from: Bonding with Your Dog: A Trainer's Secrets for Building a Better Relationship (Paperback)
This is a great book for first time dog owners and those who perhaps have an iffy recall. Also for those who cant understand why the dog just dosnt want to be near them etc but I couldn't give five stars as it isnt actually marketed specifically to 'that niche' and I bought this book to already realise that we do and have done etc what is in this book.

I do think anyone taking on an adult dog for the first time or 'having problems' with their dog should give it a read though.

It is good that the author touches on the fact that not all dogs like physical praise or play and that not all dogs want food as a reward and that you need a relationship with your dog and the positives it brings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonding with your dog, 15 July 2010
This review is from: Bonding with Your Dog: A Trainer's Secrets for Building a Better Relationship (Paperback)
I read much of this book on holiday and love the style of writing. The author recounts her experience with her clients' dogs and incorporates ways of training and playing with your dog to make the bond between you stronger. It's a great book to add to your doggies shelf on your bookcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book about relationships with your dog, 28 May 2010
By 
Katie (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonding with Your Dog: A Trainer's Secrets for Building a Better Relationship (Paperback)
I really liked the style of this book - it was written through the authors experiences with her clients and their dogs but at the same time detailing training exercises etc and how to do them with your own dog. I was just a nice read on its own but also had some good tips in there for anyone wanting to improve the bond they have with their dog/s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonding with Your Dog: A Trainer's Secrets for Building a Better Relationship (Paperback)
I wondered if this book was going to be a bit too 'schmaltzy' due to the photo on the front cover! However, there are some really practical tips for people seeking a happy well behaved member of the family but don't want to have to use the bossy 'pack leader' training route. The author is an APDT trainer, so her methods are Kind Fair and Effective, but it is more than that; as the title says, it shows how a thoughtful owner can gain more from just polite behaviour from their dog by building up a close bond so that your dog thinks you are the greatest person on earth and more important than chasing squirrels or leaping onto visitors knocking on the front door. I have read it twice already and can thoroughly recommend it to beginners and professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but basic, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonding with Your Dog: A Trainer's Secrets for Building a Better Relationship (Paperback)
This was easy to read, but fairly basic for anybody who already attends dog training. It is written in a very American style with lots of whooping and high fiving which put me off somewhat.

A good starter book, but otherwise I wouldn't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 28 Dec 2011
By 
S. Watkins "Soph" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I first started reading this book, I must admit, I wasn't sure about it. I bought the Kindle edition, so was unable to have a flick through in the traditional sense. However, the style was good. My concern was that I felt in the first couple of chapters there was a lot of "bond this" and "my clients that" and not a lot of how to get there. I hoped that this would follow, and it did. I read it from start to finish in two sittings (one last night and one this morning). I am now looking forward to enjoying my doggies that bit more. Fun and lots of good ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to have a better relationship with your dog?, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: Bonding with Your Dog: A Trainer's Secrets for Building a Better Relationship (Paperback)
I loved this book! So far I've read several books on positive training and clicker training but this is the one I like most. Most books tell you how to start training your dog but this one explains how to consolidate the behaviour.
I find the concept of bonding very interesting, I think it goes one step further. It is not only a question of having a well trained dog but it is more a question of being in sync with him and creating a very special relationship with him.
The book is easy to read and very enjoyable, it is full of examples and humour too. If you want to have a better relationship with your dog this is a good book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every dog owner should read this!, 24 Aug 2011
I cannot give this book enough praise! I couldn't put it down the first time and I've re-read it twice. Any dog owner who's dog is more than just a pet will completely understand where this author is coming from. Any dog owner who wants a better, stronger, more fulfilling relationship with their dog should read this book and follow it's advice!

With plenty of real life stories and examples from the authors relationship with her own dogs and clients, this book gives training tips, activities and games to use with your dog to build a bond. Whether you have a new dog or rescue and don't seem to be able to connect, or have had your dog for years and want to experience that 'man's best friend' thing this is an excellent read.

Every dog owner I know can expect a copy of this for their next birthday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bonding with Your Dog: A Trainer's Secrets for Building a Better Relationship
9.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews