Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD CONDITION
THIS IS THE BOOK I WAS LOOKING FOR...ITS ALSO IN A VERY GOOD CONDITION.. IT WILL MAKE MY LIFE EASIER!!
Published 12 months ago by alipiowalter

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable, badly structured, boring, full of pointless jargon
To say this book is verbose would be a gross understatement. Where a simple concept could be explained in two or three sentences, the authors dedicate paragraphs, pages, diagrams, tables and in some cases, whole chapters in order to get their point across. Readability is further reduced by pointless pseudo-management jargon in a fruitless attempt to lend academic rigour...
Published on 8 Jan 2012 by Adam C. Serafini


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable, badly structured, boring, full of pointless jargon, 8 Jan 2012
By 
Adam C. Serafini "Adam Serafini" (Slough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systems Analysis and Design with UML (Paperback)
To say this book is verbose would be a gross understatement. Where a simple concept could be explained in two or three sentences, the authors dedicate paragraphs, pages, diagrams, tables and in some cases, whole chapters in order to get their point across. Readability is further reduced by pointless pseudo-management jargon in a fruitless attempt to lend academic rigour to a subject that should really be common sense. On page 135 the authors declare that "humour is a powerful tool", advice that has been sadly ignored as they wrote this book. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IT project management more than IT analysis, 25 Feb 2012
By 
Giulio (Muenchen, Deutschland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Systems Analysis and Design with UML (Paperback)
The title of this book is misleading since a lot of pages (30-40% or more) are focused on typical IT project manager activities: staffing people, estimating costs, workplans, etc. Even the UML is used as a subsidiary instrument together with other (old) tecniques like CRC card, CRUD analysis, etc.
I suggest this book for all of you having this kind of problem: "my boss told me that I'm the new project manager and assigned me the to build a new product, from where I start?" If you are in this situation then this book will conduct you by hand in the dark IT valley.
For me reading this book was absolutely boring, useless and wasting out all energies from me. I stopped to read it, I can no more. A lot of jargon, poor UML introduction, a lot of generic sentences.
Don't buy it if you (like me) are searching for a good reference point (to keep on the desk beside your PC) about all is concerning analysis and design with UML.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD CONDITION, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systems Analysis and Design with UML (Paperback)
THIS IS THE BOOK I WAS LOOKING FOR...ITS ALSO IN A VERY GOOD CONDITION.. IT WILL MAKE MY LIFE EASIER!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep coming back to this book for every project i start, 29 April 2012
By 
F. Alhassan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systems Analysis and Design with UML (Paperback)
This book is very good for kicking start your project. As it's about Analysis and design, i always come to this book when i reach that phase.
The authors try to be as pragmatic as possible. very practical templates. Just love this book.
NB. Those bad reviews are because the reviewers are not developers. For a developer who have to do all the phases yourself, this book is just indespensable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for IT projects, 13 Mar 2011
By 
R. Whitehead "author of 'Leading a Software D... (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systems Analysis and Design with UML (Paperback)
This is a very good book on analysis and design. It wasn't quite what I needed since its emphasis is on IT projects rather than designing new products or systems (though it does address these). So it places a lot more emphasis on analysis than would be appropriate when designing a new system.
I also think that the deisgn section is rather weak, especially the way it takes a bottom-up approach: create the classes and then join them into units, rather than a top-down approach which is much more sensible in a design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Systems Analysis and Design with UML
Systems Analysis and Design with UML by David Tegarden (Paperback - 29 April 2009)
47.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews