Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant
I have been umming and aahing over buying this book for a while, put off by the high price, though I can certainly say now I own it that it has been worth every penny. I am constantly learning new things about creating pralines and decorative pieces using chocolate that I even have been going through the book as bedtime reading as well as a valuable information resource...
Published on 26 Aug 2011 by PennyDog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Less than expected.
I bought several books for chocolate and with this one I was dissapointed. The book has 3 parts, chocolate science, recipes and techniques.
The first part is for professionals it's very interesting but not for everyone. It's all about professional equipment, ingredients, basic chocolate techniques.

The 2nd part which is the best in this book is the recipes...
Published 9 months ago by alphaprior


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Chocolatier: From Classic Confections to Sensational Showpieces (Hardcover)
Another must have book from one of the worlds best. . . . . . . . .. . /
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Chocolatier: From Classic Confections to Sensational Showpieces (Hardcover)
Absolutely fabulous book. Full of useful information and delicious recipes. I would recommend this to anyone interested in making confectionery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Chocolatier: From Classic Confections to Sensational Showpieces (Hardcover)
I bought this for my daughter for Christmas and I know it is quite expensive but it was worth it.

It is a quality book with lots of detailed instructions etc - and she says even if she never uses the recipes, she adores flicking through the book - it's gorgeous.

Pricey but worth it for a longterm purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing the best one I have got chocolates and confectionery ..., 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Chocolatier: From Classic Confections to Sensational Showpieces (Hardcover)
amazing the best one I have got chocolates and confectionery and that is good for making the chocolates but this one is better in fact that it shows you how to do showstoppers a must have book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His not a nutter his a Notter! Fabulous, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Chocolatier: From Classic Confections to Sensational Showpieces (Hardcover)
First and foremost, I had never taken much notice of Ewald Notter before I purchased Confectioner then I was hooked like a Bee is to Honey.
This book is absolute gorgeous. The cover is elegant and simple. This is perfect for any coffee table. The page quality is amazing and the photography is topnotch.
It is obvious that the publishers skimped on nothing when it came down to producing.

The book is divided into the following chapters:

A. Information regarding the basics of chocolate and ingredients used in the process of chocolate making.
B. Essential Equipment needed to start your chocolate making journey.
C. Basic techniques
D. Recipes and instructions for producing your own pieces, from simple ganache to chocolate flowers and assembling three-dimensional figures.

The Publication is fairly easy to follow. If you happen to jump straight in, you may run into terms that the average reader wouldn't be aware of.

The information in the beginning of the book starts from scratch. There are airbrushing techniques, and decorating techniques that are scary for the average house wife to say the least.

But the layout of the instructions is so easy to follow. Plus there are numerous photos for almost every recipe that help anyone make these.

And last but not least, lets be sure to give credit where credit is due:

Joe Brooks and Luc Schaeffer have done fantastic job with the photography in this book.
You won't go one single page without another gorgeous photo.

It probably helps that Notter's creations are so visually appealing to start with.

Notters books are very sufficient as a good chocolate library for the advanced chef and also the adventurous House Wife

I found the Recchiutti "Chocolate Obsession" and Pierre Herme books to be far less useful.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All about Chocolate, 21 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Chocolatier: From Classic Confections to Sensational Showpieces (Hardcover)
I am new to chocolate. Not new to tasting, new to creating.
I wanted a book so I can read everything about creating pralines, designs, molds etc. A book about the technics, recipes and explaining the why. So I can learn, I can understand.
That book gave me all that. Its complete. The best part is that it a value for money. It worth every cent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy with purchase, 24 Feb 2013
By 
R. Haggerty (South Coast of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the Chocolatier: From Classic Confections to Sensational Showpieces (Hardcover)
The book arrived promptly. It was exactly as described. I am very happy with it and would purchase from the buyer again. The book describes in detail much of the basic information required for making chocolate and chocolate products. On the down side it also instructs on how to create some elaborate decorative chocolate pieces of which you are probably never going to create yet alone have the equipment to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of the Chocolatier: From Classic Confections to Sensational Showpieces
126.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews