Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource for encouraging Social Interaction
This book is a great resource for professionals or parents working with children identified with Autism Spectrum Disorder or Sensory Processing Disorder.

It is an easy read and has a lot of fun ideas to help motivate children to socially connect. It is a helpful resource book for those practising RDI, Floortime, Son-Rise, and other interventions like these...
Published on 14 Mar. 2010 by Love2Read

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I thought it would be a good book with ideas for games between me and my ...
I thought it would be a good book with ideas for games between me and my child.
instead almost all of the games are targeted for groups of children!!
So.. no good for parents of 1-2 kids!!
Also, there is no info about the appropriate age range of the games.

All in all, probably is good (?) only for professionals working with groups of kids.
Published 5 months ago by Irene M.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource for encouraging Social Interaction, 14 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Intervention Games (Paperback)
This book is a great resource for professionals or parents working with children identified with Autism Spectrum Disorder or Sensory Processing Disorder.

It is an easy read and has a lot of fun ideas to help motivate children to socially connect. It is a helpful resource book for those practising RDI, Floortime, Son-Rise, and other interventions like these which focus on social interaction.

Instead of looking at the children from a "label" perspective, Barbara looks at them as children, and gives some valuable ways in to encourage social interaction which is so hard and gives a way at the same time to build skills such as fine and gross motor,and language. She is very in tune with the child's world and has a very great understanding of their perceptual strengths and difficulties.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I thought it would be a good book with ideas for games between me and my ..., 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Intervention Games (Paperback)
I thought it would be a good book with ideas for games between me and my child.
instead almost all of the games are targeted for groups of children!!
So.. no good for parents of 1-2 kids!!
Also, there is no info about the appropriate age range of the games.

All in all, probably is good (?) only for professionals working with groups of kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Autism Games, 28 Jan. 2011
By 
Ms. O. J. Graham (Kilkeel, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Early Intervention Games (Paperback)
This is a great book with wonderful ideas for games with Children with Autism. My Cameron has autism and we have great fun in his playroom using the games from this book. Well worth the purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Intervention Games (Paperback)
Very helpful in understanding what makes children with sensory problems tick. The games are great and simple to organise and do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly simple ideas, 23 Aug. 2010
By 
This review is from: Early Intervention Games (Paperback)
Loads of fantastic ideas for play-based "therapy" to get ASD kids interacting with "normal" kids, with everyone having a lot of fun. The games all use readily available things (like shoes and water!) and are clearly explained, including what particular issue(s) each game addresses. I haven't tried out any games yet, but it seems so easy that even "just" a parent like me should be able to make a go of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 17 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Intervention Games (Paperback)
This book is well written and easy for parents/carers to understand. Gives a very useful insight into how OT can be made fun for young children. Unfortunately most of the games suggested would work better in a nursery setting as they require more than one child to be present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Intervention Games (Paperback)
The book is well written with easy to understand games that break down the games so that the parent/teacher or therapist knows how to apply it with the specific needs of the child they are supporting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Intervention Games (Paperback)
Great for sensory delay ideas in my classroom with some fantastic games to play hat hit what I need to support my children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for developing children with autism, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Intervention Games (Paperback)
its really good really glad I purchased this book it gives some really good ideas that you would never think of yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Early intervention games, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Intervention Games (Paperback)
Brilliant and easy book to follow which gives easy play for children which do not cost a fortune to implement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Early Intervention Games
Early Intervention Games by Barbara Sher (Paperback - 29 Oct. 2009)
£11.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews