Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2010
This book is a great resource for professionals or parents working with children identified with Autism Spectrum Disorder or Sensory Processing Disorder.

It is an easy read and has a lot of fun ideas to help motivate children to socially connect. It is a helpful resource book for those practising RDI, Floortime, Son-Rise, and other interventions like these which focus on social interaction.

Instead of looking at the children from a "label" perspective, Barbara looks at them as children, and gives some valuable ways in to encourage social interaction which is so hard and gives a way at the same time to build skills such as fine and gross motor,and language. She is very in tune with the child's world and has a very great understanding of their perceptual strengths and difficulties.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
I thought it would be a good book with ideas for games between me and my child.
instead almost all of the games are targeted for groups of children!!
So.. no good for parents of 1-2 kids!!
Also, there is no info about the appropriate age range of the games.

All in all, probably is good (?) only for professionals working with groups of kids.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2011
This is a great book with wonderful ideas for games with Children with Autism. My Cameron has autism and we have great fun in his playroom using the games from this book. Well worth the purchase
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Very helpful in understanding what makes children with sensory problems tick. The games are great and simple to organise and do.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
This book is well written and easy for parents/carers to understand. Gives a very useful insight into how OT can be made fun for young children. Unfortunately most of the games suggested would work better in a nursery setting as they require more than one child to be present.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
The book is well written with easy to understand games that break down the games so that the parent/teacher or therapist knows how to apply it with the specific needs of the child they are supporting.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
Loads of fantastic ideas for play-based "therapy" to get ASD kids interacting with "normal" kids, with everyone having a lot of fun. The games all use readily available things (like shoes and water!) and are clearly explained, including what particular issue(s) each game addresses. I haven't tried out any games yet, but it seems so easy that even "just" a parent like me should be able to make a go of it!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
Great for sensory delay ideas in my classroom with some fantastic games to play hat hit what I need to support my children
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
its really good really glad I purchased this book it gives some really good ideas that you would never think of yourself
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
Brilliant and easy book to follow which gives easy play for children which do not cost a fortune to implement
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse