Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 1 Mar. 2009
By 
Purple Ferret "TPW" (Harrogate UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D60 For Dummies (Paperback)
My experience with many "after-market" guides has almost always been that you get a book with the first couple of chapters dedicated to product that you have purchased, whilst the remaining 80% book is a generic guide on the relevant subject - in this case photography. I suppose that, in this way, the publishers and author can use the vast majority of the material for a range of different products.

What has impressed me with this book is that it is 342 pages dedicated solely to the Nikon D60. The illstrations are in large clear colour throughout, it contains frequent "screen dumps" from the information display on the camera, and all is explained in everyday language. This book starts where the manufacturer's hand book leaves off, and whilst the handbook tells you "what the camera does" this shows book shows you "how". I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone from beginner to intermediate level (which is after all the sector of the DSLR market the D60 aims to capture).

For my money this book is leaps and bounds ahead of the competition, I am very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No longer a D60 Dummy, 26 July 2009
By 
D. G. Phillips (Lancs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon D60 For Dummies (Paperback)
I never read any of the 'for Dummies' books before, but having decided to buy a DSLR and have a go at photography as a hobby I was overwhelmed with the complexity of my new Nikon D60. The Nikon D60 for Dummies book demonstrates how to use the camera in simple easy to understand terms with illustrations on every step along the way from the setting up the camera to learning how to use the advanced setting to get stunning shots. A book that I am sure I will refer to again and again in the future...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful!, 16 Sept. 2009
By 
Danielle (SC, USA and Europe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nikon D60 For Dummies (Paperback)
I have had my D60 for nearly a year and have yet to learn how to use it. I tried a few online sources and the manual it came with. I've always had cameras and consider myself electronically savvy, but knew I was missing out on many things this camera has to offer. This is my first "Dummies" book and I couldn't be happier with it. It is a wonderful resource for learning this camera and is very easy to follow. I highly recommend buying this book at the same time you buy the camera, so you don't waste nearly a year as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Beginners DSLR book, 16 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Nikon D60 For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought this book after struggling with others such as The Complete DSLR handbook. I love photography and am super keen to learn but other books were just tooo technical. This book however was much easier to read and use. I worked through it bit by bit on a week long holiday in Corsica. There were some tricky bits but the book would warn you so you could decide if you wanted to plough on or if you'd save it for another time when you're armed with a large vino!

My photography skills and understanding of my own camera have increased exponentially since using this book and to be honest i'm only really half way through!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikon D60 for dummies, 11 Oct. 2009
By 
beth (wexford ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nikon D60 For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is very good at first glance. I have yet to use it in any great detail as I have not got the book long. I am a new user of a DSLR camera so I have a lot to learn. I have a digital camera which is basic point and shoot so I have a lot to learn about my new camera. I have just returned from hols where I used my new Nikon D60 intensively. Tried different features but need to read up this book so I can use my camera to its best. Looking forward to using this book as a manual as the manual that came with camera is very technical. This book is more user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I was after, 23 July 2009
By 
D. Colliss "David Colliss" (Brasil staying with my wife) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon D60 For Dummies (Paperback)
I recently purchased a Nikon D60 so as to take up photography as a hobby.
I am a complete novice with DSLR cameras' and the Nikon D60 for dummies is exactly the type of book I was after to help me with all the cameras functions, tips/instructions for taking great pictures and also for post editing.
I would strongly recommend this book to all who like me are complete novices to the world of DSLR cameras as it just explains everything in very simple readable terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A handy addition., 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've had my D60 for quite a while and didn't feel that I was using the camera to it's best. I came accross this and bought it on Kindle.
It's refreshing to read and guides you through all that the camera can do and how to do it, in simple terms. If you're still a bit unsure about unsing your D60 to it's fullest, you could give this book a go. You'll be surprised at what you can learn (I was).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikon D60 for Dummies, 22 Mar. 2009
By 
V. T. Spratling (Lancaster Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon D60 For Dummies (Paperback)
The book is easy to understand and the step by step explanations are written in plan English and not all this technical jargon. So if you have a Nikon D60 is book, you should not be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book with More Information, 20 Sept. 2009
By 
Yehia Zakraia El Zene (Egypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon D60 For Dummies (Paperback)
Well i had a couple of books for the D60 Camera and both were actually good deleivering a great knowledge for whoever using the D60 for the first time. But actually i found this one "Dummies" deleiver more information and tips and tricks for the first time user that does not exsist in other books ... it's a must have though ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BIBLE, 2 Feb. 2011
By 
D. M. Roberts (Preston, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D60 For Dummies (Paperback)
Having had a Nikon D60 for a couple of years and rarely read the instruction manual I have taken the plunge and bought this dedicated "Dummies" guide to my camera. With well over 300 pages it looks a little daunting at first. I have only read the intoductory chapters but have already learnt a lot more about the camera's basic functionality. I will read the book in small doses and that's probably the key to getting the most from it...read a bit and play with the camera at the same time. I hope to be able to use some of the D60's more complex picture setting modes in the not-too-distant future!

Well worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikon D60 For Dummies
Nikon D60 For Dummies by Julie Adair King (Paperback - 5 Sept. 2008)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews