Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to Java
If, like me, you have an interest in getting to grips with Java but have no prior experience of the language, and/or little or no experience of programming generally, then this book offers a great place to start. It represents basic principles in a non-technical way, making good use of analogy to help the reader understand some of the more abstract concepts.

I...
Published on 12 Dec. 2012 by Steve

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For the beginners beginner
Quite slow paced and would be vastly improved if it was more concise. Often gives you information about figures that you seen 5 pages ago. Means lots of flicking back, If it was more concise, learning would flow a lot more smoothly.
Published 14 months ago by Dave Horne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to Java, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If, like me, you have an interest in getting to grips with Java but have no prior experience of the language, and/or little or no experience of programming generally, then this book offers a great place to start. It represents basic principles in a non-technical way, making good use of analogy to help the reader understand some of the more abstract concepts.

I would therefore recommend this book to anyone starting out on the Java journey.

I would however add that, towards the endof the book, the subjects become more complex and so the content become less and less comprehensive/helpful in terms of developing a full understanding. That's ok though in my view, since it's unrealistic to expect any one 'technical' book to offer all things to all levels of competency.

Instead, the subjects towards the end should be viewed more as an introduction to 'other stuff that Java can do', to whet your appetite. Inevitably though further reading will be required to build a comprehensive understanding of these more complex areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, explains everything in English, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning Programming with Java For Dummies (Paperback)
I will be studying Java and Android for the next 4 months, so I decided to get a book to try learn some basics beforehand.

I had previously studied C and C++, but was still a bit shaky on programming in general. I found this book a bit easy for the most part, but it was a great refresher on basic concepts along with Java Specific Stuff. I will see in the coming months how I fare in college.

My advice:

- if you have never programmed before this book is perfect for you
- if you have programmed before, maybe you would be better off with the Java For Dummies book,as this book may be a bit easy for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning Programming with Java For Dummies (Paperback)
My computer literate 10 year old has been teaching himself Java with this. I think that says it all. Simple enough to understand but complex enough to captivate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Website and author support, 2 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning Programming with Java For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a well written and enjoyable introduction to Java. Clearly nobody is going to master Java without a lot of practice, however, this book does give some insights into the language and I found it interesting and helpful.The great strength of this particular book is the support given by the author who has a website and also answered an individual e-mail inquiry. I was tremendously impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great place to start., 17 April 2013
This is a great book to introduce you to java. Its brilliantly written and very easy to follow. From setting up an IDE to writing your first little program, everything is explained so well whether you have a pc or mac. If you're looking for somewhere to start this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most effective book for new programmers I have ever seen., 6 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Beginning Programming with Java For Dummies (Paperback)
Java for dummies offers a comprehensive cover of basic java right from the beggining so everyone can understand fully. With the witty writing of Barry, everyone could have fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST BUY!, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
Mrs. A. C. Herron "Merlin" (Northern Ireland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning Programming with Java For Dummies (Paperback)
THESE BOOKS HAVE BEEN A STARTING POINT FOR MANY PEOPLE STARTING TO LEARN A NEW DISCIPLINE.
I AM CONVINCED THAT A CLEAR AND CONCISE WAY TO LEARN IS A MUST NOT A CONDEMNATION OF I.Q.
ALL OF US LEARN AND THINK IN BITE SIZED PACKETS OF INFO , AND BUILD UPON THAT FOUNDATION .
THIS BOOK IS THE WAY ALL BOOKS AND EDUCATION ESTABLISHMENTS SHOULD BE (AND SELDOM ARE) TEACHING THEIR STUDENTS !
SO, IT IF YOU WANT A GOOD FOUNDATION OF KNOWLEDGE AND A REFERENCE SOURCE BUY THIS BOOK OR ONE LIKE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I would recommend, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it is a book that assumes absolutely no prior knowledge of programming and it explains things very clearly. For those who have some programming background, the first chapters safely be skipped. I would certainly recommend it both for total beginners and also for those, like me, who have 'played' with programming in the past but have no professional experience in the field
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for beginners, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning Programming with Java For Dummies (Paperback)
Ideal book for beginners to learn Java. You could do a lot worse than buy this book.

Sorry its short and to the point. I'm just really busy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction To Java Programming, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning Programming with Java For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is a fantastic introduction to Java programming. If you don't have one clue about programming or Java then this is the book for you. As long as you know how to use a computer, you can begin programming in Java within days. Before I bought this book I wanted to know how to create text-based programs and learn the various concepts in Java. I am still in the middle of this book, but I am well able to write programs in Eclipse and I understand how they work. This book covers
- How to download all the tools you need for Java programming
- How to use the Eclipse IDE
- Then, you will begin learning about all the programming terms you need and you will start creating your own programs.
The author introduces each concept step by step and you will be able to formulate your own programs a few chapters in.

What will you achieve by the end of this book? By the end of this book, you will be able to create basic to moderate text-based programs in the Eclipse console with a lot of programming knowledge. You will also be able to create windows with graphical components. You won't be a programming master but you will know a lot of programming knowledge and be able to progress to more difficult books.

The author explains difficult concepts in a chatty and witty way, which lightens the atmosphere when reading. Things you have to know are clearly marked and common programming mistakes are clearly highlighted so you don't make them yourself.

Overall, I would recommend this book to all beginners or even those who know programming but want to learn Java.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginning Programming with Java For Dummies
Beginning Programming with Java For Dummies by Barry Burd (Paperback - 10 April 2012)
Used & New from: £7.86
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews