Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in every way
This book does everything apart from write your actual script for you. It's clear, concise, and offers sensible advice from someone who obviously knows all the pitfalls. Highly recommended for anyone starting off, or who needs a bit of a refresher, or is facing the dreaded writer's block. Or indeed, just needs a bit of inspiration during the hundreds, sometimes thousands,...
Published on 9 Nov 2011 by S. Brayne

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More for the big screen....
This Dummy guide is very american and really aimed at writing film/movie scripts - so if thats your field or where you want to go then yes this books for you - if not and tv's your thing look else where.
Published on 31 Mar 2011 by Karon.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in every way, 9 Nov 2011
By 
S. Brayne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screenwriting For Dummies (Paperback)
This book does everything apart from write your actual script for you. It's clear, concise, and offers sensible advice from someone who obviously knows all the pitfalls. Highly recommended for anyone starting off, or who needs a bit of a refresher, or is facing the dreaded writer's block. Or indeed, just needs a bit of inspiration during the hundreds, sometimes thousands, of hours it takes to create and write a film script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin, 20 July 2009
By 
Mr. Cj Hubbard (Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screenwriting For Dummies (Paperback)
I've read similar books on the subject by other authors such as Syd Field. Whilst Syd Field's book "The Definitive Guide to Screenwriting" is valuable in explaining (at length and repeatedly) about getting into the mindset of being a screen writer - this book nicely lays the initial groundwork on all areas. I'd recommend getting this book before all others. If you still feel unsure after reading it, then move on to a heavier book such as the afore mentioned "The Definitive Guide to Screenwriting".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More for the big screen...., 31 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting For Dummies (Paperback)
This Dummy guide is very american and really aimed at writing film/movie scripts - so if thats your field or where you want to go then yes this books for you - if not and tv's your thing look else where.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good resource, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting For Dummies (Paperback)
I'm working on a tv scriptwriting course. Struggling a bit. Dipping sideways into this text is helping to keep me motivated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love this product, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting For Dummies (Paperback)
this product is so amazing it is giving me loads of information in order for me to write a film script
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great first read for prospective screenwriters, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a very practical guide to screenwriting. If like me you are seeking to turn a novel into a screenplay, this tells you exactly what the format should be. It will doubtless prove to be the main work I refer to as I write my screenplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my 10 year old son loves it, 12 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Alan Denison "scotdoc" (Aberdeen, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting For Dummies (Paperback)
...and that's about it! well written, accessible and has given him lots of ideas to write his first blockbuster! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK!, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting For Dummies (Paperback)
Great Books, I have been six months at my TV/FILM/MEDIA/PHOTOGRAPHY Course now and I love it. I am in the middle of shooting my first short film. I don't like Editing so far, but with this book and my own PC at home, I am starting to get the hang of it. Great Books. I have bought my first movie camera, and starting to get to know it. This book helps, I like it! Great help with my first Screen Play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting For Dummies (Paperback)
This book helps you clear your mind about your script. Help you write your script systematicaly. It is really worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screenwriting For Dummies (Paperback)
This was purchased for a friend in fact who has found it absorbing and useful. It sounds as if it's a good buy for aspiring writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Screenwriting For Dummies
Screenwriting For Dummies by Laura Schellhardt (Paperback - 27 Jun 2008)
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews