Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive Introduction
The author provides a detailed introduction which focuses on the diatonic harmonica in C, but people wanting to play any type of harmonica could benefit from reading the various chapters on theory and practice and from listening to the CD. It would be difficult to find a better guide, and it comes at a very reasonable price.
Published on 25 May 2009 by D. Smith

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK - but if you want rock and blues, keep looking.
I started the harp a few months ago and bought this as my first guide. It is comprehensive, with an introduction on music and notation which is great for beginners. And it allowed me to achieve my first goals of single notes and bening. However, alot of the explanation is confusing and left me lost. I struggle with the songs and arrangments on the CD - they are really...
Published on 18 Mar 2012 by Bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive Introduction, 25 May 2009
By 
D. Smith (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harmonica For Dummies (Book And Cd) (Paperback)
The author provides a detailed introduction which focuses on the diatonic harmonica in C, but people wanting to play any type of harmonica could benefit from reading the various chapters on theory and practice and from listening to the CD. It would be difficult to find a better guide, and it comes at a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for beginners, 26 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Jack Hood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harmonica For Dummies (Book And Cd) (Paperback)
Great book if you have never tried the harmonica before. It show all the techniques from holding to cleaning to taking apart and customizing your harmonica. It also shows all the chords and how to make them sound right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stick at it.........., 8 Feb 2010
By 
C. Haylett (Wertach, Bavaria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harmonica For Dummies (Book And Cd) (Paperback)
Read chapter 1. then go to chapter 5 making tunes. Spent 20 minutes playing all the basic tunes, and then you cant help but want to play more and more. its sooooooooo easy with this book. i love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for all levels, 11 Mar 2009
This review is from: Harmonica For Dummies (Book And Cd) (Paperback)
Easy to understand yet profound and accurate instruction for the
harmonica players of all levels. This book is an ideal introduction
for beginners in order to learn how to play the instrument without
getting bad habits. It is also a great help for intermediate players
to study more advanced technique. For advanced players, it shows the
way to dig into further possibility of the harmonica playing and
method of teaching.

What makes this book stood out among other instruction books is the
precise physical description of each technique. The author describes
what part of body we use for each technique and how to use it. They
are sometimes shown by the picture and easy to understand. This is of
course useful for beginners and intermediate players but it would also
be very helpful for advanced players who want to teach but can not
explain physically what is happening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what the Harp Doctored ordered, 8 Jun 2011
This review is from: Harmonica For Dummies (Book And Cd) (Paperback)
Bought this a few short weeks ago, after playing with the idea to learn the Harmonica. Now i am no expert with any musical instrument but I now have a basic grounding in music theory and more importantly I have the confindence to go on and learn more.

Which is what i was after. It is clear concise and guides you gently through the chapters in an easy to understand format. In no time at all i was playing simple tunes (after a fashion) but more importantly I wanted to progress and that I put down to this book. It didnt try to be a big clever guide that only musicians can understand. As a beginner on the Harmonica I would certainly recommend it.

Also at the Amazon price it was a real bargain and these days they all count.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars harmonica for dummies, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. Jm Townshend (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harmonica For Dummies (Book And Cd) (Paperback)
this book is just what the title tells you ,if you want to play well and have some self disciplin it will take you from beginner to as far as you want to go,its very easy to follow,playing the stuff is harder than reading it,what did you expect?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harmonica For Dummies (Book And Cd) (Paperback)
It actually works you can play a tune straight away. My daughter wanted a harmonica so I got this to help her okay. She could play 1 song in about an hour but needs to use book more for my sake. Recommend it to anyone learning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book-dont listen to the one bad review, 2 Sep 2010
This review is from: Harmonica For Dummies (Book And Cd) (Paperback)
Great book. I wonder if the person who gave it one star actually read it. At no point do you have to learn to read music, although it can help you with that as well. Combine with harptabs.com for lots more free tabs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 18 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. Anthony Patrick "Rainbow" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harmonica For Dummies (Book And Cd) (Paperback)
It would be very difficult to find a book as good as this on the 10 hole diatonic harmonica. I am virtually a complete beginner (I did own one of these 30 odd years ago) and it is all that I need to learn how to play well and to build up a decent repetoire. Great product that I could recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like having a teacher, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harmonica For Dummies (Book And Cd) (Paperback)
Great book, and good value for money considering how expensive it can be to pay for a tutor. Everything is explained well (literally for 'dummies' - it doesn't assume that you know anything about the harmonica). The accompanying CD is good too - I've learned a few instruments whilst having professional tuition, and I think that a combination of this book and CD is just as effective as paying someone to teach you. Best of all, you can go at your own pace by learning in this way. Would definitely recommend,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harmonica For Dummies (Book And Cd)
Harmonica For Dummies (Book And Cd) by Winslow Yerxa (Paperback - 5 Sep 2008)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews