Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilmott explains intuitively then covers the maths after
Wilmott has a knack of explaining a concept intuitively so you "get it", then showing the maths behind it. Far too many other authors take you through pages of derivations, leaving you with a equation which leaves you none the wiser.

If you want to impress your boss or friends by leaving a complex, dense looking tome of seemingly indecipherable maths on your...
Published on 9 May 2008 by W. O. Smith

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars luke warm
I did not have a maths/physics background, so I read this book. Beware - by the time you get to stochastic processes you might be hopelessly lost. This book is great for maths undergrads who have not done any maths for years. For those with a non maths background, stochastics will be hard to understand from this book. More explanation is needed.
Expectancy is treated...
Published on 2 Mar. 2008 by samuel clemens


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilmott explains intuitively then covers the maths after, 9 May 2008
By 
W. O. Smith (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul Wilmott Introduces Quantitative Finance (Paperback)
Wilmott has a knack of explaining a concept intuitively so you "get it", then showing the maths behind it. Far too many other authors take you through pages of derivations, leaving you with a equation which leaves you none the wiser.

If you want to impress your boss or friends by leaving a complex, dense looking tome of seemingly indecipherable maths on your desk, go elsewhere.
But if you want a light-hearted, consise but thorough introduction to quant finance, I'd highly recommend his book.

Note the similarity between the 1 volume ('introduces') and the 3-volume ('on') Wilmott textbooks. You don't need both - the 3-volume is simply the 1-volume with some extra depth in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 1 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Paul Wilmott Introduces Quantitative Finance (Paperback)
I haven't finished it yet, but this book is excellent for someone new to quantitative finance. It assumes no previous knowledge of finance, and attempts to use only the minimum maths required. The pace is excellent, with many new terms introduced each page without seeming overwhelming. I rarely have to go back an re-read sections, Wilmott seems to get it just right.
One downside is that I never got the accompanying CD that is referenced frequently in the book. However, Wiley the publisher will dispatch one to you if you request one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great book if you are an starting in Quant Finance, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Wilmott Introduces Quantitative Finance (Paperback)
You will get bored if you are a great mathematician or if you have already an MSc in Financial Math but you will find it useful if you are an engineer or if you have a background in Finance.
Still this book is a reference and any serious quant should have one of Paul Wilmott's book even the ones with an Msc in Quant Finance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction but assumes you have some market knowledge, 15 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. Parimal Kumar (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul Wilmott Introduces Quantitative Finance (Paperback)
This is a good book to get started with on quantitative finance if you already have had some exposure to the financial services industry. The book defines key terms directly related to its subject matter: derivatives. However, a student new to the world of financial services should get a dictionary to financial terms as well.

Overall, a good book, well laid out with clear diagrams and source code (in VBA). Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars luke warm, 2 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Paul Wilmott Introduces Quantitative Finance (Paperback)
I did not have a maths/physics background, so I read this book. Beware - by the time you get to stochastic processes you might be hopelessly lost. This book is great for maths undergrads who have not done any maths for years. For those with a non maths background, stochastics will be hard to understand from this book. More explanation is needed.
Expectancy is treated in a basic fashion - fair enough - but then it is hard to understand it when it keeps surfacing later.

Therefore it depends on your background. Interactive classes will always be important. I look forward to reading Neftci and then coming back to this and moving on to Hull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wilmott explains maths better than anybody.., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Wilmott Introduces Quantitative Finance (Paperback)
Wilmott explains maths better than anybody..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 1 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Paul Wilmott Introduces Quantitative Finance (Paperback)
Excellent introduction to the Quantitative Finance topic. I haven't finished the book yet, but I'm looking forward to by PWOQF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No issues. Arrived in perfect condition, as expected., 18 July 2011
This review is from: Paul Wilmott Introduces Quantitative Finance (Paperback)
No issue with the vendor. The book itself is a little full of itself but it's alright. The book focuses too much on the technicalities of various topics before having done a good job of introducing the concept and mathematics first. It's a good thing I studies maths at uni, otherwise I'd not gain very much from paging through this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul Wilmott Introduces Quantitative Finance
Paul Wilmott Introduces Quantitative Finance by Paul Wilmott (Paperback - 29 Jun. 2007)
£30.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews