Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple, comprehensive, visual
there's not much you can say about dummies books apart from it 'does what it says on the tin'. If you want to know about AD in tyhe win2k environment from a practical point of view then this book is definately for you. It is aimed at the beginner and has pplenty of analogies for getting the point home.
Published on 30 Jan 2004 by Aux

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Active Directory
This book may be useful as a reference source however it takes 5 chapters to get into anything useful to a beginner 'dummy'. I think it could be useful but not a beginner learning book really. I would have preferred a book set at a level where the basics are covered step by step with better colour explanations and A4 pages. I know this would have increased the cost but I...
Published on 16 Oct 2010 by Carl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple, comprehensive, visual, 30 Jan 2004
there's not much you can say about dummies books apart from it 'does what it says on the tin'. If you want to know about AD in tyhe win2k environment from a practical point of view then this book is definately for you. It is aimed at the beginner and has pplenty of analogies for getting the point home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book to start off with, 28 Aug 2003
By 
Mr. M. Griffiths "griffymark" (Woking, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These books are primarily aimed at easily intimidated users, so being still easily intimidated after 10 years it IT, I found this book a great starting point for studying for the Active Directory MCP exam. Indeed, I found some things explained so well that some some concepts that I struggled thorough for other MCP exams were explained away with ease. A lot of the other more 'technical' study guides are largely a copy of the often vague or incomplete Windows help files, but this book rarely falls into this trap.
To emphasize though, you still need to go away and practice on a real system and learn more than is covered in the book to have a confident attempt at the exam, though the book does give good starting points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Active Directory, 16 Oct 2010
This review is from: Active Directory For Dummies (Paperback)
This book may be useful as a reference source however it takes 5 chapters to get into anything useful to a beginner 'dummy'. I think it could be useful but not a beginner learning book really. I would have preferred a book set at a level where the basics are covered step by step with better colour explanations and A4 pages. I know this would have increased the cost but I would rather have learned a few really useful things that I understanmd than have patchy knowledge of basic through to more advanced concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest thing since sliced bread, 22 Oct 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
When Microsoft took an elegant simple schema from UNIX and redesigned it into a convoluted might mare called "Active Directory" it was time for this book. Turns out that "Active Directory" is not active or a directory; who would have guessed? Well this book starts you off with correcting concepts and even lets you know that with the new terminology that the definition of "domain" has been changed.
A lot of time Dummies books are too busy being cute; this one however is so packed with helpful information that it does not have time to be cute. This book takes you from ground zero to up and running while helping avoid common pit falls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated Information, 20 May 2005
This book is a fair introduction to Active Directory but is based on a beta of windows 2000, so some of the information isn't correct.
There is no mention of the changes made in the release version of 2000 or of those made in 2003 Server.
The Visio trial is date locked, and the date expired on Jan 1st 2001.
Unlike other Dummies books this one doesn't go into enough detail to act as a reference after reading it.
There are much better books for Active Directory that act as an introduction and a reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars active directory, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Active Directory For Dummies (Paperback)
this should give me a chance to get my head around active directory and maybe the microsoft way of thinking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)), 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Helped me when I was doing my courseon active directory. . . . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too Short and Too Basic, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Active Directory For Dummies (Paperback)
A good book to give you some idea of AD but felt that it needed to have a bit more inforrmation. If you looking to sit the 70-640 exam this book itself would not do the job. But will be good to provide a summary of AD for you. Something that you can skim through before a job interview or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. Paul Cooke "Cookie" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Active Directory For Dummies (Paperback)
It's a good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Feb 2009
By 
K. Galbraith (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Active Directory For Dummies (Paperback)
Excellent resource full of top tips which you can actually use. Fair helped me out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Active Directory For Dummies
Active Directory For Dummies by Marcia Loughry (Paperback - 8 Aug 2008)
£15.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews