Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars13
3.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 August 2008
Save your money and read your manual. This book only briefly touches on the D300 and believe it or not the manual that comes with the D300 is a lot better written. The information in this book about the D300 is very basic, and you will pick up similar or better information by skim reading the user manual that comes with the D300. I gave the book 1 star because it is cheap and gives some basic photography tips.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2008
You might as well just read the manual which comes with the camera. I don't think this book is well written and compiled as some bullet pointed information seems to be under the wrong bullet point and some explanations, for example about polarising filters, are to put it charitably "confused". There is also a lot of repetition in the first half of the book. It gets one star for being cheap and giving a few valuable points of information.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As mentioned elsewhere, I am in the process of converting from film to digital photography and there are certain aspects which I have found quite daunting. Altogether, I have purchased several books and tutorial DVDs on the subject as that process of conversion continues and this product is one of the best.

Having already worked my way through this particular title (with camera in hand) I found this book was able to provide instruction which was far superior to any of the tutorials I had also studied. Basically, if you are new to the Nikon D300, this book will provide an excellent grounding.

Beginning with an introduction to the camera, the book is then carefully laid out in the best possible way where the author meticulously builds on the information imparted so far until the structure of the book is complete. Part 1 contains an explanation of the many and varied facets of this outstanding camera and are far too numerous to list here. Part 2 then expands on this knowledge by giving examples of how to create great images and includes a chapter on working with light and other aspects of the art.

Altogether a complete product for the complete photographer.

NM
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2008
A disappointing book, more concerned with showing you his portfolio and snaps of his girlfriends than in teaching you about the complex operational foibles of the D300.

Might suit someone who's just been given a D300 and hasn't got a clue how to take a photograph, but that's about it.

One star, and I give that grudgingly.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
These is a good book if you know how to ues this camera.It takes you from a novice to a pro.This book is not for anybody who as bought this camera and dose not not know the basiics and just want a point and shot camera
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
When I bought the Nikon D300 it didn't come with a manual, so I had to find something that would show me directions around the controls of this wonderful camera. This book has done exactly that. Fully recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Excellent read, with very interesting facts about the camera, and also this helped me with my sons nikon which is different but does have some of the same functions
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2009
This book is ok if you are new to digital, but I'm assuming that if you are spending this amount you have at least used a DSLR before. If not then you are more than likey to use the D300 on Program all the time. The D300 has many advanced techniques that are hidden within the menues. This book is just an extendsion of the manual that comes with the camera. It does not explain in detail all these differnt items and how they affect the outcome. It doesn't tell you that the AE lock does not affect the flash. (You need flash lock FV) It does not tell you that you can change each white balance with amber and blue tones by rotating a dial. It doesn't expalin that fill in flash works best in rear curtain sync. If you want to use your D300 to its best then this is not the book. It does not demostrate how to manage the picture controls very well. If you want an expanded manual then yes this is the book. I suggest that you look for a photographic book that is written with the D300 in mind, but shows you how to take better pictures by using the camera to its full. If you use a seperate speedlight then its a must to buy a book that shows you how to use wireless flash as the camera can act as a wireless flash commander.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2009
Not too happy with my purchase. Thought the book would be all about the D300 but in fact over half the book is taken up in covering general photography subjects. Photographers who have just spent over £1000 on a new camera body would, I suggest, already be well versed in how to take pictures. If not, there are many other books which cover the subjects included in this book.

Denis
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Brilliant book and a fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)