Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blueprint for entrepreneurial thinking
This book contains a concise analysis of what has made some of the most successful brands of recent time succeed. However, what makes this book special is that it lays out a series of exercises that promote innovative thinking. This process has already helped develop new ideas for one of my clients.
Published on 12 April 1999

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gave up
Too many charts and statistics, gave up after 1-2 chapters. Others may like it but it was more like an academic paper than an inspirational business book.
Published 21 months ago by A.H.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blueprint for entrepreneurial thinking, 12 April 1999
By A Customer
This book contains a concise analysis of what has made some of the most successful brands of recent time succeed. However, what makes this book special is that it lays out a series of exercises that promote innovative thinking. This process has already helped develop new ideas for one of my clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful advice, engagingly written, 1 Oct. 2001
This is the definitive work for the challenger brand. Every number two or three brand is tempted to copy the strategy of the number one, only with less resources. Adam Morgan makes it clear that this is the wrong approach and he gives a step by step process on the right way to attack number ones, leveraging the freedom and flexibility that challengers have. As you read each chapter, you find yourself nodding at the good sense and practicality of the alternative approach.
It is recommended reading at this business school
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Marketing Master Class, 7 Sept. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Adam Morgan sets out to show how smaller players can challenge the market leaders with creative marketing strategies. He succeeds brilliantly and in doing so feeds us some provocative ideas. His examples and case studies are highly instructive. The book will stimulate you to think about your marketing strategies and give you pointers for using innovation to power market share growth. A terrific read for anyone interested in business strategy, marketing or innovation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful!, 9 Jun. 2004
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Author Adam Morgan went hunting for the second most successful brands. He sought commonalities among them to develop guidelines for those who are challenging the number one brands in their fields. In other words, if you are coming into the battle in the number two slot, here's your strategy for winning the marketing wars. Morgan is very adept at breaking things down into precise action steps. Witty and engaging, he offers a detailed analysis of the current consumer attitude about brands plus strategies you can use to market your second or third rank brand. We recommend this compilation of competitive ideas to those who want to boost their "Challenger" brands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Want to be like Innocent and Method? Read this book., 24 May 2014
By 
Nikolaj Denmark (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eating the Big Fish: How Challenger Brands Can Compete Against Brand Leaders (Second Edition) (Hardcover)
This is in my humble opinion the best book in challenger behaviour written by the godfather of this revolutionary marketing thinking Adam Morgan.

Put very simple other books like appraised Kevin Robert's Lovemarks stress the importance of an emotional connection in B2C relations. Fair enough but this finding is the easy part. How to do it is much more tricky.

Eating the Big Fish gives you the blue print to accomplish this. Am on my fourth copy (all worn out with underlining and comments) and Adam Morgan's brilliant thinking has been the foundations of all my companies since I first read the first edition more than 10 years ago. I cannot express my die hard excitement strong enough.

Actually when I come to think about it - maybe I should instead encourage you to not read this book. Because then I potentially loose my competitive edge..:)

However, some sort of poetic justice and my deep appreciation for Eating The Big Fish encourage my to tell the truth: The best book and not by coincidence the foundation on which successful companies like Innocent and Method created their storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of the pack, 15 July 2004
I don't think it's exaggerating to call this a classic. The thinking on challenger brands is engaging, sharp and smart: it is also littered with the sort of examples that really help bring the studies to life and are of enormous practical worth. Indispensable stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eating the Big Fish, 7 May 2012
By 
Mo Hoyt (North Berwick, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eating the Big Fish: How Challenger Brands Can Compete Against Brand Leaders (Second Edition) (Hardcover)
This is one of the best books about branding ever written. What I love about this book is the engaging nature of the narrative, presented in a way that not only examines the wonderful brand-wide thought leadership strategy, pointing out a lot of small seemingly insignificant features of a brand that you'd noticed but not wholly understood, but also outlines a basic strategy to go about implementing this strategy making it immediately useful!

I cannot recommend this book enough. Even if you merely wonder about the ideas and thoughts behind company branding strategies, this will spark your interest further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read with many easy to follow examples, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eating the Big Fish: How Challenger Brands Can Compete Against Brand Leaders (Second Edition) (Hardcover)
A great read and definately helps to review ones position in a given market.

Would recommend to anyone with a small business.

D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 3 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Eating the Big Fish: How Challenger Brands Can Compete Against Brand Leaders (Second Edition) (Hardcover)
This is a fascinating and insightful book. It is absolutely jam-packed with brilliantly creative marketing and branding ideas. I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful!, 15 Oct. 2003
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Author Adam Morgan went hunting for the second most successful brands. He sought commonalities among them to develop guidelines for those who are challenging the number one brands in their fields. In other words, if you are coming into the battle in the number two slot, here’s your strategy for winning the marketing wars. Morgan is very adept at breaking things down into precise action steps. Witty and engaging, he offers a detailed analysis of the current consumer attitude about brands plus strategies you can use to market your second or third rank brand. We recommend this compilation of competitive ideas to those who want to boost their “Challenger” brands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews