Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good introduction to the operating systems world
I had the opportunity to read through different books regarding the subject and, while I must admit that each and every one of them has its pros and cons, Operating System Concepts provides the reader with a very solid introduction to the subject. Each chapter is very well structured, mainly on examples from real OS's like Solaris, Linux, Win XP or Mac OS X. Reading...
Published on 23 Dec 2009 by L. Stan

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Operating systems book
If your on a computing course then its good for revision and intensive research into operating systems. Great diagrams showing how things work etc. I found it very boring to read though!
Published on 1 May 2010 by Adam Gnourie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good introduction to the operating systems world, 23 Dec 2009
By 
L. Stan (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Operating System Concepts (Paperback)
I had the opportunity to read through different books regarding the subject and, while I must admit that each and every one of them has its pros and cons, Operating System Concepts provides the reader with a very solid introduction to the subject. Each chapter is very well structured, mainly on examples from real OS's like Solaris, Linux, Win XP or Mac OS X. Reading through the book, one will notice that some parts are repeated over and over again, but I must stress that I find this a very good thing because it keeps the reader with former issues fresh in their mind. Also, at the end of each chapter, there are some really interesting programming exercises in which the author engages the reader to modify kernel functions from different open source OS's. The code examples in the book are great and very good explained. (mostly C, but Java as well).
Sometimes, the reader will have the impression that the author is advertising Sun's OS, Solaris, because of the big number of examples from it and the good reviews he gives to different aspects of it.

All in all, I definetly recommend it. I will actually buy it for myself. I'm currently reading a library copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good introduction to operating systems, 22 Oct 2009
By 
This book is a very good introduction to the world of operating systems. I didn't attend an operating system class at university, and I wanted to catch up with the basic ideas of how an operating system works. This books covers all topics about the internal workings of a modern operating systems, i.e. CPU scheduling, memory paging, I/O management, protection and security, real-time operating systems, and much more. Each topic is thoroughly described in a chapter of about 50 pages; a summary and a description of the most important references is also provided at the end of each chapter. The book is very readable and succseeds in conveying to the reader the feeling of how complex and sophisticated operating systems have become over the years thanks to faster CPUs and hardware peripherals. This is a very good starting point for everyone interested in how an operating system works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book on OS, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operating System Concepts (Paperback)
I read this book when I was studying, translated in my native language and I found it great. Reading it in the original language and a few editions later is even better. The text is very clear and intuitive, but still very technical. This is definitely a must to any computer science engineer or anyone that wants to know what's going on under the hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 25 May 2010
This review is from: Operating System Concepts (Paperback)
This is absolutely the best book to start learning operating systems. Good concept, nice text even perfect for non english people like me (standard IT english is enough). There are exercises in book including modifying kernels.
Very good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Operating System Concepts - A. Silberschatz, 3 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the required reading for the "Operating Systems" module in the on-line Masters program run by the University of Liverpool as of 1st April 2010.
A fairly good book, it deals with the concepts inherent in the core of any operating system first them goes on to explore the different types of operating system discussing the pro's and cons of each without too much bias in any one direction (other than open source).
I felt it necessary to reduce the rating by one star as, when the module started a 1 page list of errata in this publication was issued - mainly printing errors rather than context errors.
Other than this - a good book, if rather pricey, for any one interested in computer operating systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good introduction to operating systems,, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operating System Concepts (Paperback)
As a first year computer science student this book was recommended to me by one of my tutors.

It is a very comprehensive guide to the workings of the computer / operating system with lots of excellent diagrams and good explanations of quite complex topics. I would say it is aimed at those studying A level computing and higher or those with a very strong interest and background in computing.

Used alongside lectures and course material I really didn't need to go anywhere else for more information. The book really is an excellent study guide and useful for revision too.

It is the best study related book I have purchased, good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Operating systems book, 1 May 2010
By 
Adam Gnourie (UK Macclesfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operating System Concepts (Paperback)
If your on a computing course then its good for revision and intensive research into operating systems. Great diagrams showing how things work etc. I found it very boring to read though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Operating System Concepts
Operating System Concepts by Greg Gagne (Paperback - 13 Feb 2009)
Used & New from: £14.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews