Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect physiology textbook
This is a great, straightforward and easy to read textbook. It is not as heavy-going as some that are recommended on our medical course, but I have found it deep enough to get through Stage 1 medicine.

It integrates real labelled cadaver pictures with diagrams, photos and text in an interesting, manageable way. Even difficult concepts are well explained and...
Published on 2 Feb 2009 by Ashleigh Manning

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A marmite book
I say Marmite because you either love this book or you hate it, the same goes for tutors aswell. Im studying medicine and some tutors claim this to be the bible and others say its a load of rubbish. Overall its good for physiology but not so good for anatomy.
Published on 5 Oct 2010 by 123sball


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect physiology textbook, 2 Feb 2009
By 
Ashleigh Manning (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Principles of Anatomy and Physiology: WITH Atlas AND Registration Card (2 Vol Set), ISV (Paperback)
This is a great, straightforward and easy to read textbook. It is not as heavy-going as some that are recommended on our medical course, but I have found it deep enough to get through Stage 1 medicine.

It integrates real labelled cadaver pictures with diagrams, photos and text in an interesting, manageable way. Even difficult concepts are well explained and this has become my first port of call when learning anything new. It is so beneficial to have the anatomy given alongside the physiology, enhancing understanding of structure-function relationships without having to skip between textbooks.

There are a couple of mistakes in the text I've come across (and been confused by)- which is why I'm saying almost perfect, but this is a fantastic book to use and surprisingly not that boring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good books, Highly recommended, 25 Aug 2008
By 
Paul Trevains - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Principles of Anatomy and Physiology: WITH Atlas AND Registration Card (2 Vol Set), ISV (Paperback)
Lives up to the high standard set by the previous editions & moves on from them. Now in two volumes which means that it is lighter & easier to use. The free extra book is also a very useful resource. I would highly recommend this to any Paramedic students out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 22 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Anatomy and Physiology: WITH Atlas AND Registration Card (2 Vol Set), ISV (Paperback)
I am currently doing my Access to Nursing Diploma and this book came highly recommended from my Biology tutor as being one of the best investments which will follow us onto university next year and he's not wrong. I am finding it a real help whilst I'm working on my first assignment and the detail and colour diagrams are amazing. Without a doubt this is well worth the investment if you're considering going into Biology or any other medical field, it's money you will not waste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Oct 2009
This review is from: Principles of Anatomy and Physiology: WITH Atlas AND Registration Card (2 Vol Set), ISV (Paperback)
bought it because it is an essential read for my course.
I really like the layout and the content.
Haven't tried the online resources yet.
But overall I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nursing Studies, 15 Jan 2011
This review is from: Principles of Anatomy and Physiology: WITH Atlas AND Registration Card (2 Vol Set), ISV (Paperback)
very well presented book perfect for study , would highly recommend to all medical students!Service from Amazon was incredible yet again - Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tortora for Physiotherapy degree, 7 Nov 2010
This review is from: Principles of Anatomy and Physiology: WITH Atlas AND Registration Card (2 Vol Set), ISV (Paperback)
I'm a first year studying Physiotherapy, this text book covers almost all anatomy, neurology and biomechanics needed and is very useful for the course, for its price the topics covered and in the depth they are this is an appsolute bargain and i would recommend to anyone doing Physiotherapy as a degree, I also found amazon to be the cheapest seller at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Journey!, 25 April 2009
By 
Mrs. S. Card - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Principles of Anatomy and Physiology: WITH Atlas AND Registration Card (2 Vol Set), ISV (Paperback)
This is an excellent book which covers every aspect of human Anatomy and Physiology in a way which is comprehendable. Some aspects I found necessary to re-read over a few times but was pleasantly surprised that some of the subject matters that I had previously thought looked daunting, are very well explained and understandable with a bit of repetition. The illustrations are particularly good with highly detailed and colourful drawings and also fascinating photographic imaging. The whole concept and design of the book and the many features and questionaires etc has been very well thought out and good to know that both the editors have taken students requests and ideas into consideration when designing and updating the book. I particularly like the I-pod facility which allows you do download all the relevant information so that you can 'walk and learn' at the same time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for first phase Anatomy and Physiology.., 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Anatomy and Physiology: WITH Atlas AND Registration Card (2 Vol Set), ISV (Paperback)
I think there is great debate about the quality of Tortura amongst medical students; for some schools it is a recommended text whereas at others it is almost looked down upon. The anatomy side of things may be a little thin but I feel it gives me a solid grounding of both the anatomy and physiology of key topics.

Great text if you supplement it with an anatomy atlas, covers the important points in a very accessible way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Anatomy and Physiology: WITH Atlas AND Registration Card (2 Vol Set), ISV (Paperback)
I had actually wanted vol 2 which I have not been able to purchase in any shop, and when I received vol 1+2 with an atlas it was well worth the cost. Excellent value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must have for any Medical Student out there, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Anatomy and Physiology: WITH Atlas AND Registration Card (2 Vol Set), ISV (Paperback)
This book is the best book to use in the earlier years of a Medical degree, or any other Human Biology course. Doesn't overwhelm you with excessive details but gives you just enough to get a clear overview of pretty much everything you need to know.

The two volume set is good if you need to carry the book around with you. As others have mentioned, there are a few mistakes in the text (the most major of these I remember was in a table showing the spinal tracts) but nothing you wouldn't spot ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Principles of Anatomy and Physiology: WITH Atlas AND Registration Card (2 Vol Set), ISV
Used & New from: 30.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews