Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
This book is often talked about as THE book to read regarding acting. It is written from Uta Hagen's point of view as an Actress and so it is from the 'horses mouth' and is very readable. Our Tutor recommended it as the book for our Stanislavski class to get at City Lit (a large London college) and it has been very useful.
Published on 9 Nov. 2009 by Ms. S. M. Alford

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, funny too.
Excellent, funny too.
Published 3 months ago by Father Time


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 Nov. 2009
By 
Ms. S. M. Alford "djmuchacho" (Borehamwood, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respect for Acting (Hardcover)
This book is often talked about as THE book to read regarding acting. It is written from Uta Hagen's point of view as an Actress and so it is from the 'horses mouth' and is very readable. Our Tutor recommended it as the book for our Stanislavski class to get at City Lit (a large London college) and it has been very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good basis for the budding actor, 7 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respect for Acting (Hardcover)
I am currently on a Drama Foundation course and have found this work really useful. It sets out the rudiments of technique, such as sense memory recall, endowment, using the fourth wall and so forth, and even delves into role creation. A requisite in the actor's armoury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational., 27 Mar. 2012
By 
Amazonian (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respect for Acting (Hardcover)
First, it is not "by David Hyde Pierce" as claimed by the review-request email! (He wrote the intro.) It's by the late, great Uta Hagen -- acting teacher extroadinaire. The book has inspired pretty much every decent American actor that walked the earth so let it inspire you. Find out what method acting is REALLY about (it's not about larding up for a role, staying in character for 6 months or running around the block to get sweaty... it's really about find aspects of yourself you can blow up and use). Her exercises are great -- watch her video on Youtube with students doing them, and her straight but comforting critiques. The exercises alone inspired me to write a 30-minute piece for a local festival, telling a full story with one actor in one location -- talking to himself and on the phone. Uta was the actor's Jesus. Every actor should read this to really get a handle on what acting is, how an actor should think. And every so often you will ask yourself, "What would Uta do?".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Acting Bible, 20 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respect for Acting (Hardcover)
Just... inspiring. Hagen is revolutionary in terms of providing the actor with detailed, effective methods on how to bring truth to a character and the play. Her anecdotes are highlights of this gifted book and supplies an explanation to certain aspects that maybe perceived as confusing. However, the basis of her technique just frees me, personally, as an actor and I am still in development. It seems so obvious now but she teaches you that the best actors are finely tuned with their senses 27/4 and they observe their reactions, feelings and emotions and what the do in that state in order to bring life to the stage. She states also in her DVD "If I go to the theatre and I can see the acting - I already don't like it". It is such a shame that in 2004 we lost such a great actress and this book just preserves her spirit and enthusiasm for the craft of acting. There is no choice if you are an actor - you MUST get it. 1 million stars ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respect for Acting (Hardcover)
This book arrived on time and in excellent condition. This was bought for my son who is extremely impressed with it.
It would be recommended to anyone looking for a deeper insite into acting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Respect for Acting (Hardcover)
A critical piece of literature focusing on the area of dramatic literature; crucial for any serious actor considering employing method.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respect for Acting (Hardcover)
Just want daughter ordered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, funny too., 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respect for Acting (Hardcover)
Excellent, funny too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Respect for Acting
Respect for Acting by Haskel Frankel (Hardcover - 4 July 2008)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews