Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy and Intuitive read, 16 Feb 2011
This review is from: Excel 2007 Dashboards and Reports For Dummies (Paperback)
I purchased this book as I had to come up with some dashboard designs for my job. I am fairly proficient in Excel already but always struggled with the graphs design from the upgrade to Excel 2007 from 2003. The book is very well thought out and so easy to read, understand and put to practical use immediately. Would recommend for anyone who needs to brush up on their Excel presentation skills.

There are also some day to day excel tips that you may learn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ingenious. And Enlightening., 22 May 2012
By 
Simon (MILTON KEYNES, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excel 2007 Dashboards and Reports For Dummies (Paperback)
For those of you thinking this book is a waste of time; a chart is a chart after all then think again. I won't go into the benefits of presenting dashboards for info-hungry managers and steering committees, but for those that end up building such dashboards and reports, this is for you. Reducing mountains of data into fuzzy-felt-and-crayon bite-size easily digestible fragments is an art, and however proficient you think you may be now, this book will open your mind to new techniques not only to display such information, but to bring it together too from various sources. It also touches on backwards compatibility too. How many of you knew of the excel REPT() function, or how it can be used with admirable effect in a dashboard?

All in all a good buy. Setting up dashboards will be quicker and ingenious based on what I've learned in here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant overview of how to make Dashboards, 26 May 2011
By 
R. Rose "ROSIE RATES" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excel 2007 Dashboards and Reports For Dummies (Paperback)
As a user familiar with many of the features found in Excel, I found this book an absolutely fascinating read. The book is compelling as it uses the typical functions you know and love plus other obscure ones (REPT, no I have never used it before either!) to produces basic building blocks. These building blocks then become more relevant as you go through the book and start to understand how they each can be extended and enhanced. From the very simplistic beginnings the author explains why things are done and what the possibilities are. Halfway through the book, I just could not put it down. The clarity of message really does make for an engrossing read and I finished this book quickly, and now use it as a reference for all the little tips and tricks it contains. There are some fantastic time saving tips - creating a quick and dirty heat chart, as well as some more esoteric functions - camera for instance. If you want to produce dashboards in Excel,this is the first book I would read. Excellent price and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excel 2007 Dashboards and Reports For Dummies (Paperback)
Good introduction to the dashboards. Plenty of material on the building blocks, written in an easy to follow style, as you would expect from the "Dummies" range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: Excel 2007 Dashboards and Reports For Dummies (Paperback)
Good book :) I think it will help me a lot in my daily job even if it's written in foreign (for me) language. It is so simple and but still very useful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction to Dashboard Techniques, 5 Oct 2013
By 
J. P. Spiers "John S" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Opened my eyes to the pitfalls of visualising data as well as a range of ideas and techniques to improve my dashboards. Easy to read and often funny. Th best Dummies book I have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excel 2007 Dashboards and Reports For Dummies (Paperback)
Brilliant book Excellent content came amazingly on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excel 2007 Dashboards and Reports For Dummies, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excel 2007 Dashboards and Reports For Dummies (Paperback)
Excel 2007 Dashboards and Reports For Dummies. This is an excellent book for producing Dashboards & Reports and carries my full recommendation. A five star rating to the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Excel 2007 Dashboards and Reports For Dummies
Excel 2007 Dashboards and Reports For Dummies by Michael Alexander (Paperback - 29 Feb 2008)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews