Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both advanced and practical
A belated but welcome sequel to vol.s 1-2 in the series. The book is one-of-its kind, advanced (in parts: very!), dry (in parts: very!) and will probably confuse a novice modeler. On the other hand it is practical and takes relational modeling to a new level for experienced modelers. The key point so well explained and exemplified is that there are different levels of...
Published on 29 Jun 2009 by Morten Lintrup

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A must have for data architects
I like this series of books as generically they are extremely useful. I don't agree with everything in them, which actually makes them more useful as you think more rather than just accepting the pattern (or your own preference)
Published 16 months ago by Gerard Deegan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both advanced and practical, 29 Jun 2009
By 
Morten Lintrup "morlin" (Frederikssund, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Data Model Resource Book: Universal Patterns for Data Modeling v. 3 (Paperback)
A belated but welcome sequel to vol.s 1-2 in the series. The book is one-of-its kind, advanced (in parts: very!), dry (in parts: very!) and will probably confuse a novice modeler. On the other hand it is practical and takes relational modeling to a new level for experienced modelers. The key point so well explained and exemplified is that there are different levels of modeling of the same subject - each with a proper purpose and use. There is never one true and correct model, a data model is after all 'a model', a representation of something, not the thing itself. The true modeling professional must know when to choose one or the other model type, and when and how to switch between them. After all, data modeling may be an art and it may be a craft, but it is definitely not an exact science (though a great many other data modeling books may leave that impression).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's more to this than a set of models, 15 Feb 2005
By 
Dagna Gaythorpe (Dovercourt, Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You might be tempted (as I was, at first) to just dip into this book and use it as a source of patterns for producing data models. And if you do that, then you will find some very useful patterns as well as saving a lot of time. But that would be a shame, because by starting at the beginning and reading the whole book, I found that as well as a very comprehensive, rigourous and coherent set of models, I also got an understanding of the underlying structures and approach. And this approach has proved to be extremely useful when dealing with any new data structures. Someone described this as 'the second data modelling book you should buy', and I agree with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teach a modeller to model as opposed to giving them a model, 3 Dec 2013
By 
S. J. Bizley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Data Model Resource Book: Universal Patterns for Data Modeling v. 3 (Paperback)
Excellent book that lays out the options for specific models versus generalised models and the associated pros and cons. The answer is do both for different reasons and then understand how many of the business rules you want to enshrine in the data model. Builds on the first two books and shows how the authors wrote them. At the end of the day each modeller/designer must make their own calls but this provides some structure around which to make those choices. The detail wags the dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A must have for data architects, 24 Dec 2012
By 
Gerard Deegan (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Data Model Resource Book: Universal Patterns for Data Modeling v. 3 (Paperback)
I like this series of books as generically they are extremely useful. I don't agree with everything in them, which actually makes them more useful as you think more rather than just accepting the pattern (or your own preference)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great reference book to have, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book provides some commonly-needed models and it will save you some time by giving you a well-made base schema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Modelling Support!, 15 Dec 2006
By 
Soren Alsmo "sorensuéde" (Arles France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These books are just great and I'm impressed how the parts build up a consistent whole. I've studied volume one in detail and modelled most of it in a CASE tool. And used it as major outline for an (real) Enterprise Logical Datamodel. When compared with some commercial package's models Mr Silverstone's structures seem to have had quite a bit of influence.

Not only I have learnt a lot from these two books :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the weakest of the trio, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Data Model Resource Book: Universal Patterns for Data Modeling v. 3 (Paperback)
I bought it for completeness sake, but if you're not obsessed with not having the entire collection and the areas included in the book are not interesting to you, do not buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7692504)

This product

The Data Model Resource Book: Universal Patterns for Data Modeling v. 3
£50.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews