Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad
It's a good tool to use to grasp a good general understanding of the Japanese language. However there are no words that appear or anything, it's just 100% audio which is quite a disadvantage if you wanted to see the words appear.

Each lesson starts with the English word first such as "Good morning" and then the Japanese word follows "Ohayou Gozaimasu".
Published on 6 July 2011 by Jagjit

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for driving
Bought this about a month ago with the intention of learning while driving. I already had some knowledge of the language but was looking to become more fluent.
The CD's have some useful information on verbs and adjectives but without following along with the book, the japanese speaker is too fast and i found the heavy american accent of the english speaker to really...
Published 13 months ago by Akira


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, 6 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese For Dummies (Audio CD)
It's a good tool to use to grasp a good general understanding of the Japanese language. However there are no words that appear or anything, it's just 100% audio which is quite a disadvantage if you wanted to see the words appear.

Each lesson starts with the English word first such as "Good morning" and then the Japanese word follows "Ohayou Gozaimasu".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pop it in the car... it worms its way into your brain!, 21 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese For Dummies (Audio CD)
I bought this about a month before going to Japan. Too late to learn anything I hear you say? No... not at all, by constantly listening to it on the way to work every day (2hrs each day), I was soon mastering the basics. Without this I'd have had some real trouble on my trip, with it I manged to master the basics, and grasp the pronunciation, so even though I might not have been able to recall the correct phrase when confronted with a real life situation, I could at least pronounce it correctly when I looked it up in the handy book.

The only fault I'd give the CDs is that it would be handy to have split the CD tracks by word/phrase, rather than section of the book to aid skipping back and forth in the car, but then that's more a limitation of my car stereo than a real flaw with the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for driving, 8 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Japanese For Dummies (Audio CD)
Bought this about a month ago with the intention of learning while driving. I already had some knowledge of the language but was looking to become more fluent.
The CD's have some useful information on verbs and adjectives but without following along with the book, the japanese speaker is too fast and i found the heavy american accent of the english speaker to really grate on me after a while.
May be better if you have the time to sit down with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quick introduction, not a real language course, 5 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese For Dummies (Audio CD)
It does exactly what it says on the tin, namely try to teach you some very basic Japanese vocabulary and expressions. Bear in mind that this is not a real language course though: it doesn't do a very good job at explaining language structure for instance, which means that you will be able to repeat "ready-made" sentences but not build many of your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
Giovambattista Salerno (Cava Manara, Pavia, IT) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese For Dummies (Audio CD)
It was exactly my expectation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Japanese for Dummies, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese For Dummies (Audio CD)
Good condition, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Japanese For Dummies
Japanese For Dummies by Eriko Sato (Audio CD - 25 Jan. 2008)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews