Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for background information and techniques
If you are looking for a recipe book with a lot of glossy pictures of bread, this isn't the right book for you. However, if like me you want a book that explains the science underpinning bread baking, and that helps you to understand what the effects are likely to be of any changes you might make to a recipe, this book is excellent. It gives a history of the development...
Published on 4 Jan. 2010 by Plizmon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great home baking!
Good recipies and easy to follow. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to bake their own bread. Good buy for this price.
Published 13 months ago by Andrea Hobohm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for background information and techniques, 4 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread Baking: An Artisan's Perspective (Hardcover)
If you are looking for a recipe book with a lot of glossy pictures of bread, this isn't the right book for you. However, if like me you want a book that explains the science underpinning bread baking, and that helps you to understand what the effects are likely to be of any changes you might make to a recipe, this book is excellent. It gives a history of the development of comercial bread baking, then goes on to explain in detail the effects of adding different ingredients (flour / water / yeast / sweetener / fats etc), and the variations you can apply at different stages of bread preparation (eg varying the time and temperature of different rises). If you're an experimental cook, rather than one who likes to follow a recipe precisely, this means you can vary a basic recipe to get the bread you want, produced on a schedule that fits in with the rest of your life!
There ARE recipes, but they're given as formulae rather than recipes (more academic and less intuitive to follow, unless you're of a scientific frame of mind) since this is a book aimed at students of breadmaking. With that proviso I heartily recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For a thorough understanding of the chemistry and history of bread, 4 April 2011
By 
Victoria (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bread Baking: An Artisan's Perspective (Hardcover)
This book is more like an academic textbook than a recipe book. If you are looking for a glossy inspiring recipe book, then this is not the book for you.

This is more like a detailed practical guide for serious bakers who are considering opening a bakery, with very clear comprehensive explanation of the chemistry and history of bread making. I can imagine this being used in a bread baking course where you would get an exam and a cert in the end.

That's not to say it is unsuitable for casual novices. For novices like me, the practical advice about industrial ovens and mixers are really interesting to know anyway.

It is my favourite book to date about bread baking, and gives me a deeper understanding of the logic and origins of Bertinet, Reinhart, Lepard's techniques.

Everything is written in a factual academic way, without the glossy marketing languages or pictures. It doesn't waste your time telling you how wonderful bread is, but it tells you in a clinical way what makes up the bread's flavours, etc, and how you can control this.

If you've ever wondered why use a poolish instead of a biga (or vice versa), or what happens if you keep a dough in your fridge indefinitely, or what did people used to do before commercial yeast, or the difference between the different flours, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of information, very useful, 27 Nov. 2010
By 
Mari Smith (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread Baking: An Artisan's Perspective (Hardcover)
I'v got many recipes for bread and also have been baking for about 10 years. I wanted to know more about what happens when you do a certain thing and why it is necessary or how that makes a difference to your dough. This book explains about different methods in different processes and helps you understand more about the reasons behind bread making. This will be my bible for a long time. I will recommend this book to those who love making bread and want to know more than just recipes and basic procedures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent book for shop baker, 17 Dec. 2012
By 
Hong Choo (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread Baking: An Artisan's Perspective (Hardcover)
This book contains much details and explain bakery in science unlike most other books which focus mainly on recipes, however, this book uses many jargons.

Organization of the chapter: Sometimes there's a need to refer to the later chapter to understand the previous one and because of this it's difficult to read and understand the concept described.

This book mostly describes bread making using machine for mixing rather than mixing by hand and kneading which is why it favors more for industrial or shop baking rather than home baking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 22 April 2013
By 
Mr. S. Butcher (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread Baking: An Artisan's Perspective (Hardcover)
great book for the serious amateur who wants to know why? you do certain things and the effect this has on your dough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book for true enthusiasts, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread Baking: An Artisan's Perspective (Hardcover)
This is a history book and encyclopaedia of bread baking. If you are considering starting your own artisan bakery, then this book is a must. If, like me, you have no other ambition than to be a capable home baker, then this book makes fascinating reading anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great home baking!, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread Baking: An Artisan's Perspective (Hardcover)
Good recipies and easy to follow. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to bake their own bread. Good buy for this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bread Baking: An Artisan's Perspective
Bread Baking: An Artisan's Perspective by Daniel T. DiMuzio (Hardcover - 27 Feb. 2009)
£122.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews