Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2007
I'm not a web analyst. Nor am I a statistician. However I've just finished reading `Web Analytics: An Hour a Day' and I feel like I could do a pretty good job of the former without being daunted by the latter.

It all comes down to one concept - that of a data driven decision making culture. Or put another way, how to maximise the return on all your hard work. Avinash describes it wonderfully and provides lots of useful advice about how to achieve it.

If that sounds dull, fear not - Avinash does a much better job of making it interesting and exciting.

If you're a web analyst, you shouldn't need this review to convince you to buy the book - read some of Avinash's blog posts and you'll soon work it out for yourself. If you're not an analyst but you're involved in managing a website or sites you'll find it incredibly refreshing and useful (failing that make sure at least one person one your web team has read it).

Personally I can't recommend it highly enough. You don't have to read it cover to cover, and even the most experienced web professionals should find plenty to think about.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2007
This book really is a must read if you have any interest in making your site work more effectively with immediate actionable web analytics - whether you're a CEO, marketing manager or a web analyst for FOOTSIE 500 companies like myself.

Avinash is an inspiration to me (and a very wide audience I do believe) and a beacon of clarity in his sedulous pursuit of web analytic principles that transform we way we see and act on marketing performance to make it work better. I truly do mean that.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2007
This is the best hands-on guide to web analytics and the importance of analytics to any on-line marketing project I have yet found.

The book balances both the high-level aspects of web analytics -- the philosophy, if you like -- with a huge amount of specific, practical, how-to information. It may seem like a big book, but I don't see how it could have been any shorter and still delivered so much.

Fortunately, it's an extremely readable book. I like the language and the style of the book. Avinash's enthusiasm for the subject comes singing out of the pages. He makes the subject seem fun and he sustains that over hundreds of pages. That's a remarkable achievement when you consider the length.

I have a shelf full of business or self-improvement books which try to make themselves readable and accessible by interjecting folksy anecdotes full of people with made up names every few pages. It's a very common approach. The result is often repetitious fluff. This book is very different. There is no padding of that kind: the examples given are all very clearly based on personal experience and are there for good reason. They are informative. They are not simply structural devices.

The language itself is also distinctive and entertaining. I believe that Avinash grew up listening to the BBC World Service. Although it's an American book, there are notes in the language which echoe a different world in a way which I find refreshing.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough. One of my colleagues has a copy where most of the pages are thick with highlighter ink. The quality of information is that high. It really is that good. If you can buy only one book on the subject, this is the one to get.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2008
Web analytics isn't about numbers, page views, hits and sessions. It's about discovering what your users want, what they're doing on your website, and how you can help them get to where they want to be. Avinash does a superb job of explaining this in his book, and if you're in any way serious about doing web analytics the right way, you need to get this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2007
Web Analytics is a must read because it learns you how to view analytics the right way.

One of the hardest part when first diving into analytics is figuring out how to focus on the right data - the data that tells you what is happening with your site.

One of the first questions Avinash gets you to focus on is: "What's the purpose of your web site?" Your analytics strategy should be very much aligned with the answer to this question.

With this attitude towards the data, we can "infer the intent" of the user - ultimately, inferring is the best you can do with this type of data. Inferences are important, as they will inform strategy. If the strategy is then met with improved performance of the site, your confidence in the data and its interpretation grows. If not, you should re-analyze and re-strategize. Early in the book, Avinash identifies this as your top priority in analytics. In fact, he says, "Is it a bit extreme to dump clickstream in favor of measuring outcomes first? Yes. Necessary? You bet."

The challenge is that the quality of the information available from your traditional web analytics tools is too poor for you to analyze outcome. In order to make sense of the data, we need broader research and analysis, so that we can find relationships between the different types of data, and infer meaning from them.

To achieve this, Avinash enriches the data with Focus group analysis, continuous surveys, multivariate testing, etc.

Avinash also integrates competitive intelligence in his interpretation of the data. Services such as comScore and Hitwise can provide direct information about what your customers are doing.

It is a great book that teaches you all this from the ground up, and goes into amazing detail. I recommend it wholeheartedly.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2009
as a newbie in the web analytics field, I have found this book a complete 'blow your mind' away experience, extremely informative, easy to read, and can't wait to start implementing ideas mentioned. I would say this is a good book for anyone new to analytics and even if you just need to brush up on your skills.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2009
This is an excellent start to analytics. I was already interested and got the opportunity to run the ompany analytics. This not only expains the how to but also explains the implications (much more useful). Definitely one that's going to get dog-eared!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2007
Avinash has written a book that covers in depth everything related with web analytics from the perspective of an user centered web management and marketing. Excelent reference book to undestand what are users doing in your web in qualitative terms not just as a "clickstream" of numbers in a list.

A must if you want to learn what web analytics really is.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2009
In my position as E-Commerce director I used the book several times in my teams to explain and motivate people on how to use web data and create a successful web strategy plan. An absolute must-have for every organization that want to achieve great successes with their website!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2009
Lots of ideas, and the exposition is always clear. Kaushik writes quite well, his style is plain, straight and to the point, and easy to follow. He has the ring of authority, it helps that he is pleasantly sceptical about many things.

However like almost all IT books it's quite repetitive...heaven knows why IT writers have to say things 3 times always. Make your presentations attractive, OK. But 3 times, at length, in different chapters? Segment, OK. But why tell us so very many times? And on it goes.

It's genuinely a good piece of work, but could be so much better if he disciplined himself to keep the same content, but say it in 40% less space.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)