Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
Like the other review says this is for beginners and it is perfect for that.
I just started Multimedia at collage 6 months ago and borrowed this book,it explains and shows everything clearly.I found it much better than "for dummies" and it helped me save loads of time trying to figure out the layout of the software.
Published on 2 Jan. 2008 by D. Bray

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Beginners of any version of Photoshop.
If you have used Photoshop before then you will know everything in this book. This book will not teach you Photoshop CS3, the book is for beginners and most of the things shown can be done on any version on CS.

The book doesn't teach you it tells you what you can already see on the screen but without any further explanation. The book will only help beginners of...
Published on 25 July 2007 by paulrichy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Beginners of any version of Photoshop., 25 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself VISUALLY Photoshop CS3 (Teach Yourself Visually) (Paperback)
If you have used Photoshop before then you will know everything in this book. This book will not teach you Photoshop CS3, the book is for beginners and most of the things shown can be done on any version on CS.

The book doesn't teach you it tells you what you can already see on the screen but without any further explanation. The book will only help beginners of Photoshop; I wanted a book that would go through all the latest additions in CS3 to bring me up to scratch, this wasn't the book.

It should be entitled "Photoshop for Beginners, Learn the Basics" the book is colourful, easy to understand, nicely laid out, colour coded but if you are not new to Photoshop and you understand all your basic tools don't buy it to learn CS3 as it wont help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 2 Jan. 2008
By 
D. Bray (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teach Yourself VISUALLY Photoshop CS3 (Teach Yourself Visually) (Paperback)
Like the other review says this is for beginners and it is perfect for that.
I just started Multimedia at collage 6 months ago and borrowed this book,it explains and shows everything clearly.I found it much better than "for dummies" and it helped me save loads of time trying to figure out the layout of the software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for photoshop learners, 6 Nov. 2009
By 
Nikki "NikNak" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teach Yourself VISUALLY Photoshop CS3 (Teach Yourself Visually) (Paperback)
I bought this for my 83 year old Gran who needed some support at home with her photoshop homework! All I can say is that if a silver surfer in their eighties can use and understand the help and support it offers then it is a pretty good manual! Great for visual learners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever...., 21 Oct. 2009
By 
K. S. Wilson Roze (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teach Yourself VISUALLY Photoshop CS3 (Teach Yourself Visually) (Paperback)
I had an older version of teach yourself visually so I knew roughly how it was setup - but this book is great has condensed enough and visually clear without losing too much important information.

Definately recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too basic for anyone spending £600 on CS3, 4 April 2008
By 
Hiace Drifter (Northern Hemisphere) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teach Yourself VISUALLY Photoshop CS3 (Teach Yourself Visually) (Paperback)
This is book is fine as a very brief introduction, but only skims the surface of the features of CS3.

The layout is unlike any other CS3 - there are lots of cartoons that are simply there to brighten the book up, rather than add value to the text. If you got rid of all these extra illustrations the book would be half as thick.

I think anyone spending so much money on CS3 will quickly want a book that goes into far more depth. I would suggest those people borrow this book from the library, then buy something more meaty (from Martin Evening or Scott Kelby for example).

Overall, the style and complexity of this book would be more appropriate for Photoshop Elements users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a novice this is the book for you!, 9 Mar. 2011
By 
Paul Buckner (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teach Yourself VISUALLY Photoshop CS3 (Teach Yourself Visually) (Paperback)
If you are jumping from one version to another, or like me, had never touched Photoshop before, this covers the basics and is a quick read, you can jump from topic to topic, or skim it if you just need to brush up.

Paul Buckner,

Author of from "Broke to Broker, and other stories of finding financial freedom."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good guide for beginners, 21 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Teach Yourself VISUALLY Photoshop CS3 (Teach Yourself Visually) (Paperback)
As a complete beginner, I have found this book invaluable as a starting point for working with the programme. My only criticism would be the absence of a DVD with sample photos as are included in other books to practice the skills being taught. However, this was not a great problem as I simply used my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learn the basics, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself VISUALLY Photoshop CS3 (Teach Yourself Visually) (Paperback)
I can thoroughly recommend this book for anyone wishing to learn the basics of CS3 and then progress. The visuals are really helpful, you don't miss out any vital steps and then, lo and behold, you have achieved what you want to. For me, a very good buy, I couldn't be more pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself VISUALLY Photoshop CS3 (Teach Yourself Visually) (Paperback)
Excellent book, very easy to understand. If you find it easier to learn visually, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
Niels Jørn Hansen "eenjh19" (denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself VISUALLY Photoshop CS3 (Teach Yourself Visually) (Paperback)
the book is not rather logical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teach Yourself VISUALLY Photoshop CS3 (Teach Yourself Visually)
Teach Yourself VISUALLY Photoshop CS3 (Teach Yourself Visually) by Linda Wooldridge (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2007)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews