Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I was
I am also following Technology and Innovation Course at University of Sussex and i have to admit that this book has proved very helpful to me.
The fact is that this book is very practical tool for students and managers.It provides the reader with a great variety of case studies and ways that companies and organizations failed or achieved in innovating.It has really...
Published on 20 Feb. 2008 by IL.PAPPAS

versus
2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Irrelevant
I was pretty much forced to buy this book as part of a university course taught be one of the authors. Each week it was bombarded into us - "If you are silly enough not to have bought the book then you will fail". I do wonder how much royalties this title brings in...

Anyway, onto the book. Although it tends to hit many of the classical notions of...
Published on 3 Dec. 2007 by Chris Korhonen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I was, 20 Feb. 2008
By 
This review is from: Managing Innovation: Integrating Technological, Market and Organizational Change (Paperback)
I am also following Technology and Innovation Course at University of Sussex and i have to admit that this book has proved very helpful to me.
The fact is that this book is very practical tool for students and managers.It provides the reader with a great variety of case studies and ways that companies and organizations failed or achieved in innovating.It has really helped me to understand what innovation is all about and comparing it with other books that deal with the same topic i think its one of the bests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for all who are interested in innovation managem, 15 July 1999
By A Customer
This book review is a summary of a review published in 'Research Policy', Vol. 27, No.2, June 1998, 229-231
The publication by Joe Tidd, John Bessant and Keith Pavitt on "Managing Innovation - Integrating Technological, Market and Organizational Change" is clearly a book which is interdisciplinary, multifunctional and integrative and adds value. The rich knowledge of the three authors is based on own research, consulting and teaching experiences at Imperial College Management School at the University of London, the Centre for Research in Innovation Management at the University of Brighton and the Science Policy Research Unit at the University of Sussex. These own experiences and the broad analysis of the "classical" and latest management research make the book very valuable...
"Managing Innovation" wants to equip readers with the knowledge to understand and skills to manage innovation, both at the operational and strategic level. The book aims to integrate the management of market, technological and organizational change to improve the competitiveness of firms and effectiveness of other organizations. Although a large number of differing theoretical approaches are reviewed and regarded by the authors, the theoretical roots lie very much in economies of innovation and the evolutionary economics (for instance, Dosi, Freeman, Nelson and Winter, Pavitt, Penrose), theories on organizational learning and knowledge creation (e.g. Argyres, Leonard-Barton, Nonaka and Takeuchi, or Schein) and competence-based theories of the firm (e.g. Hamel and Prahalad, or Teece and Pisano). One important value-added of the book is the integration of various theoretical approaches - each of which is subject to lively discussion among management researchers and practitioners - which in the past have stood alone and for themselves...The overall structure of the book is clear, the given boxes and examples very illustrative and the hints on further reading very helpful and, all in all, serves the needs of both the targeted management students and practitioners...The broad use and review of literature in the field of innovation management and the illustrative examples make this book a rewarding read for management practitioners, students and researchers. This book is warmly recommended for all who are interested in innovation management. - Prof. Dr. Guido Reger, University of Applied Sciences, Brandenburg, Germany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a few comments..., 7 Feb. 2008
By 
Escravo (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Managing Innovation: Integrating Technological, Market and Organizational Change (Paperback)
I usually don't review but when I saw Corhonen's bullcrap I had to comment. I am taking Tidd's course and nobody is forced to buy the book. I didn't buy it. Essential readings are available for free at the university anyway. This is absolute nonsense... If you really think someone will fail you (in the UK educational system) cause you don't buy his book, and there is nothing you can do about it but buy the book, you are simply foolish.

The book is good exactly _because_ it explains complex concepts in an uncomplicated, straightforward way and enables the reader to grasp the most important notions quickly and thoroughly. There is a number of key studies that show how the processes explained in the book are applied in the real world.

So yeah, in my opinion, if the reader is looking for a classical academic piece with extremely complex notions that are never used in everyday or business language but sound "smart", quantitative analyses of data just for the sake of analysis with results you can't use, and with examples that can never be applied to the real world, buy something else.

And I apologise to everyone reading this but I must resort to the lowest action of all in written debate - an ad hominem attack, although a well deserved one. Hey Chris, if you really think any crucial managerial insight can be gained by watching a TV programme aimed to entertain the general public, like the Dragon's Den, then it is obvious you didn't read the book. Oh, and that you watch TV way too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book in general as a textbook in university, 3 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book in general as a textbook in university. Good use of examples to ensure the appropriate principles are referred to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good..., 9 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Managing Innovation: Integrating Technological, Market and Organizational Change (Paperback)
Well written and comprehensive overview of a complex, challenging and increasingly important area. I liked the profusion of illustrative examples and the way in which the entire innovation chain is covered both from the market and individual firms standpoint. Nicely complements Wharton's Managing emerging technologies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Irrelevant, 3 Dec. 2007
By 
Chris Korhonen "Chris Korhonen" (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Managing Innovation: Integrating Technological, Market and Organizational Change (Paperback)
I was pretty much forced to buy this book as part of a university course taught be one of the authors. Each week it was bombarded into us - "If you are silly enough not to have bought the book then you will fail". I do wonder how much royalties this title brings in...

Anyway, onto the book. Although it tends to hit many of the classical notions of organizational management on the head, I can't help feeling that it is a rather simplistic account of what are really complex concepts. Expecially todays 'Innovate or Die' world.

Fundamentals are reduced to the obvious, without scraping any depth at all. In addition, this confused narative continues througout most of the book.

All in all, if you want to pass a management course or have any kind of business experience, you are probably best watching the Dragon's Den!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Late delivery, 11 Jun. 2009
By 
G. Loy (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Managing Innovation: Integrating Technological, Market and Organizational Change (Paperback)
was was promised as 3-5 days delivery took over 4 weeks. However the product was as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Managing Innovation: Integrating Technological, Market and Organizational Change
Used & New from: £4.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews