Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars15
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 10 November 2007
Deeply relevant and very influential: if you're a software developer, you owe it to your users to buy this book.

The book is organised into three distinct parts, each of which has a rather different tone. The first part is an introduction to "personas" and their goals. Much emphasis is placed on detailed research such as interviews with sample users, which is a fine luxury if you have the resources and time! However, even developers working in smaller teams will find the general principles useful.

The second part is concerned with the overall approach that an application should take. It discusses "posture": whether an application should be "full-screen" and sovereign or an infrequently used utility, and how this changes the top-level design.

This second part includes my favourite chapter, "Eliminating Excise", which is really pretty funny - it points out why we find prompts from Word annoying and why Motorola phones are just plain frustrating. However, the advice to fix these frustrations might be a bit over the top unless you have an infinite development budget: I too would love to have multi-level undos that are persistent across application sessions.

The final part covers specific advice on layouts and controls. It brings together more concrete suggestions based on the previous two parts.

It's quite possible that the ideas in this book influenced the design of applications such as Office 2007 and iTunes. Although few developers have the challenge of designing Web sites or applications for the mass market, the advice in this book is worth considering even for corporate applications. Just watch the budget!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 17 July 2011
I brought this along with 'Dont Make Me Think', which is the 'classic' book on this sort of stuff, and I must say im impressed. Personally I like the extra ooomppff of a heavy accademic approach to anything. This goes into a lot of detail and depth on things, which gives it a lot of credibility. In comparison to 'Dont Make Me Think' which is out of date I think, its not 'subjective'. It provides you with a technical framework to understand the issues it deals with. 'Dont Make Me Think' gives an emotive framework and is subjective. It gives you a rich vocabulary with which to deal with the issues with customers. For example, personas, user levels and interfaces.

My only observation is that it is focussed more on computer interfaces than web sites. Although its all the same, I think its important to bear in mind as many references focus on product development and not web development which is more fluid in my opinion. As such, a lot of the methodology is better suited to teams that have the time to go to the next level to get userability right before a product launch in comparison to web sites which are oftem more lightweight and flexible.

Definatly recommended for people that dont want a phamphlet on the subject, ie the sort of book designed to be read on a plane trip like many others are.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 5 April 2011
This book is not a set of templates to apply to a given project. Instead it is a philosophy on how to design good software from the ground up. After spending some time on the core conceptual framework it then does offer some good advice on the specific templates - but always reminding you that templates themselves do not work in isolation, and it is the core design principles that should guide your application.

This is certainly a 5 star book given the huge learnings I have taken from it. Having said that - it does feel a little long winded in parts and I found myself skim reading chunks of it to get to the meat. There is no doubt that following the authors' methodology to the letter would be a long and painstaking (but successful) task that few will do - but even following a watered down version of their recommendations will be hugely valuable.

Being busy I would have loved an "abridged" version that summarised the key points in 200 pages compared with the 550+ pages - for at times it reads as much as an academic text on the subject as a practical one. But of course some people will want all the detail - and those people will love it. For those that want things a little snappier I would still recommend the book - it's packed with insight - but you will probably want to skim over some sections.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 19 November 2011
Having worked in a Research & Development department for the past 15 years, I initially bought this book to study user interface design.
However, this book has opened my eyes to a much wider range of techniques for managing the research phase of development. The need to get "buy-in" from other departments / managers and such like to allow research projects to be funded to even a prototype stage is critical, and the detailed advice given in this books first 100 pages alone is worth the asking price IMO.

If all you are after is a book to tell you how to design a user interface, this may not be what you're after.
Likewise, if you're working on personal projects that are not required to be used by others - or need any kind of funding to be developed, I'd imagine that there are other books that just cover general UX design / layout do's and dont's.

But, if you work in any kind of R&D or development environment that requires projects to be green-lit via research (eg. You need to prove that your idea will meet requirements before you'll be allowed to develop it), then I can't recommend this book highly enough.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 5 April 2010
It is a good book but it lacks practical examples and thus falls short of being truly great. Personas and goal-directed design are all described on a theoretical level and there is no examples of how to transition from theory to practice. This is an omission that I hope will be corrected in the next edition.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 21 December 2007
Maybe you have heard of Interaction design and is already practising in the fields of Graphic Design, Information Architecture or User Experience for digital products. If you are one of those who think that a better integration amongst those fields would work wonders in digital projects, look no further, this is your book.

Alan Cooper, Reimann and Cronin give you the best immersion of this area I have read in years. Although Usability is an area which is not really covered by Interaction Design the work is so thorough that you will know in which stages of digital projects you will be able to include the Usability workflow.

A masterpiece.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
Revised version of a book that's been around for some time. This is absolutely essential reading for anybody working in interaction design or other areas of user experience. Very accessible and broad in scope.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
A must-have with the easiest to understand overview of the domain that I have ever come across. Highly recommended for both breadth and depth on the subject, and plenty of concrete examples.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
Super Books, explains in detail a lot of areas that most gloss over. It also explains how to practically go about implementing a lot of methods and techniques which others fail to do.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
Having thoroughly enjoying Alan Cooper at this years UXLondon I really thought I should grab a copy of this book. Essential reading for every interaction designer. Buy it now!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
About Face: The Essentials of Interaction Design
About Face: The Essentials of Interaction Design by Alan Cooper (Paperback - 19 Sept. 2014)

The Design of Everyday Things, revised and expanded edition
The Design of Everyday Things, revised and expanded edition by Donald A. Norman (Paperback - 23 Dec. 2013)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.