Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you really care about users, buy this book
Deeply relevant and very influential: if you're a software developer, you owe it to your users to buy this book.

The book is organised into three distinct parts, each of which has a rather different tone. The first part is an introduction to "personas" and their goals. Much emphasis is placed on detailed research such as interviews with sample users, which is a...
Published on 10 Nov 2007 by Jeremy Mcgee

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but lacks practical examples
It is a good book but it lacks practical examples and thus falls short of being truly great. Personas and goal-directed design are all described on a theoretical level and there is no examples of how to transition from theory to practice. This is an omission that I hope will be corrected in the next edition.
Published on 5 April 2010 by S. Andersson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you really care about users, buy this book, 10 Nov 2007
By 
Jeremy Mcgee (Deepest Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design (Paperback)
Deeply relevant and very influential: if you're a software developer, you owe it to your users to buy this book.

The book is organised into three distinct parts, each of which has a rather different tone. The first part is an introduction to "personas" and their goals. Much emphasis is placed on detailed research such as interviews with sample users, which is a fine luxury if you have the resources and time! However, even developers working in smaller teams will find the general principles useful.

The second part is concerned with the overall approach that an application should take. It discusses "posture": whether an application should be "full-screen" and sovereign or an infrequently used utility, and how this changes the top-level design.

This second part includes my favourite chapter, "Eliminating Excise", which is really pretty funny - it points out why we find prompts from Word annoying and why Motorola phones are just plain frustrating. However, the advice to fix these frustrations might be a bit over the top unless you have an infinite development budget: I too would love to have multi-level undos that are persistent across application sessions.

The final part covers specific advice on layouts and controls. It brings together more concrete suggestions based on the previous two parts.

It's quite possible that the ideas in this book influenced the design of applications such as Office 2007 and iTunes. Although few developers have the challenge of designing Web sites or applications for the mass market, the advice in this book is worth considering even for corporate applications. Just watch the budget!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Academic Book, 17 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design (Paperback)
I brought this along with 'Dont Make Me Think', which is the 'classic' book on this sort of stuff, and I must say im impressed. Personally I like the extra ooomppff of a heavy accademic approach to anything. This goes into a lot of detail and depth on things, which gives it a lot of credibility. In comparison to 'Dont Make Me Think' which is out of date I think, its not 'subjective'. It provides you with a technical framework to understand the issues it deals with. 'Dont Make Me Think' gives an emotive framework and is subjective. It gives you a rich vocabulary with which to deal with the issues with customers. For example, personas, user levels and interfaces.

My only observation is that it is focussed more on computer interfaces than web sites. Although its all the same, I think its important to bear in mind as many references focus on product development and not web development which is more fluid in my opinion. As such, a lot of the methodology is better suited to teams that have the time to go to the next level to get userability right before a product launch in comparison to web sites which are oftem more lightweight and flexible.

Definatly recommended for people that dont want a phamphlet on the subject, ie the sort of book designed to be read on a plane trip like many others are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but lacks practical examples, 5 April 2010
By 
S. Andersson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design (Paperback)
It is a good book but it lacks practical examples and thus falls short of being truly great. Personas and goal-directed design are all described on a theoretical level and there is no examples of how to transition from theory to practice. This is an omission that I hope will be corrected in the next edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 19 Nov 2011
By 
J. Page - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design (Paperback)
Having worked in a Research & Development department for the past 15 years, I initially bought this book to study user interface design.
However, this book has opened my eyes to a much wider range of techniques for managing the research phase of development. The need to get "buy-in" from other departments / managers and such like to allow research projects to be funded to even a prototype stage is critical, and the detailed advice given in this books first 100 pages alone is worth the asking price IMO.

If all you are after is a book to tell you how to design a user interface, this may not be what you're after.
Likewise, if you're working on personal projects that are not required to be used by others - or need any kind of funding to be developed, I'd imagine that there are other books that just cover general UX design / layout do's and dont's.

But, if you work in any kind of R&D or development environment that requires projects to be green-lit via research (eg. You need to prove that your idea will meet requirements before you'll be allowed to develop it), then I can't recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant discussion on interface design, 5 April 2011
This review is from: About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design (Paperback)
This book is not a set of templates to apply to a given project. Instead it is a philosophy on how to design good software from the ground up. After spending some time on the core conceptual framework it then does offer some good advice on the specific templates - but always reminding you that templates themselves do not work in isolation, and it is the core design principles that should guide your application.

This is certainly a 5 star book given the huge learnings I have taken from it. Having said that - it does feel a little long winded in parts and I found myself skim reading chunks of it to get to the meat. There is no doubt that following the authors' methodology to the letter would be a long and painstaking (but successful) task that few will do - but even following a watered down version of their recommendations will be hugely valuable.

Being busy I would have loved an "abridged" version that summarised the key points in 200 pages compared with the 550+ pages - for at times it reads as much as an academic text on the subject as a practical one. But of course some people will want all the detail - and those people will love it. For those that want things a little snappier I would still recommend the book - it's packed with insight - but you will probably want to skim over some sections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A landmark book, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design (Paperback)
A must-have with the easiest to understand overview of the domain that I have ever come across. Highly recommended for both breadth and depth on the subject, and plenty of concrete examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best single book on interaction design, 19 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. L. M. Mcivor "Lee McIvor" (St Albans, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design (Paperback)
Revised version of a book that's been around for some time. This is absolutely essential reading for anybody working in interaction design or other areas of user experience. Very accessible and broad in scope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book from one of the thought leaders of IxD., 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design (Paperback)
Having thoroughly enjoying Alan Cooper at this years UXLondon I really thought I should grab a copy of this book. Essential reading for every interaction designer. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best UI book you can get!, 29 July 2010
By 
This review is from: About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design (Paperback)
This book covers every aspect you could think of in the field of UI design - UX, usability, cognitive psychology. With references to the other great books (including Don Norman's of course), every chapter offers brilliant insight and sparks so many ideas that you're constantly thinking about them when designing or coding a project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must have, 2 Dec 2009
By 
M. Cawood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design (Paperback)
This book is a must have for anyone working in UX fields, its hard going to read from cover to cover but is an excellent reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design
About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design by David Cronin (Paperback - 15 May 2007)
19.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews