Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quick Ref and Newbie Starter
OK, I'm just starting out with Linux, although I have used Mac and Windows for many years. Ubuntu was my choice as it is so well supported and appears to be the least painful way of getting into Linux.

The book itself has a very good 'building block' approach to getting up and running quickly, then takes you through all manner of configuration options...
Published on 29 July 2008 by R. Berends

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ubuntu Linux Toolbox
This book tries it's best to cram a lot of material into a fairly short number of pages. It teaches the user the basics of the command line and then starts with a variety of very powerful tools and useful tricks. This book renders a lot of Graphical User Interface (GUI) packages obselete and can make these tasks quicker. The book helps the user develop their command...
Published on 19 May 2010 by Kevin Macphail


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quick Ref and Newbie Starter, 29 July 2008
By 
R. Berends (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Toolbox: 1000+ Commands for Ubuntu and Debian Power Users (Paperback)
OK, I'm just starting out with Linux, although I have used Mac and Windows for many years. Ubuntu was my choice as it is so well supported and appears to be the least painful way of getting into Linux.

The book itself has a very good 'building block' approach to getting up and running quickly, then takes you through all manner of configuration options. Throughout, it is well laid out and task based, i.e. 'Mounting File Systems with the mount Command', so you can quickly find out how to do a specific task. It also contains troubleshooting sections and a useful guide for vi and other editors. The Index is very thorough, as is the Table of Contents, so finding what you are looking for is dead easy. I had one Ubuntu Server and a number of desktops up and running in under a day, thanks to this book, notwithstanding the fact that the server is command only (NO GUI!) and I wanted to install VMware Server!

In conclusion, I'd say it is one of the most comprehensive Zero to Hero guides out there on Ubuntu. It's name doesn't do it justice, it is much more than just a 'Toolbox', the words Quickstart and Compendium might do better, I would think.

Well done to the authors, it nailed all of my Ubuntu questions in one neat bundle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly useful!, 24 Jun 2009
By 
Christopher Chinnery (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Toolbox: 1000+ Commands for Ubuntu and Debian Power Users (Paperback)
To summarize; if I had to have only one book on GNU/Linux, this would be it. It is excellently indexed, very readable, and-- at only 330 compact pages-- usefully portable. Almost immediately, it established itself as my number 1 reference. Ubuntu Linux Toolbox is almost entirely devoted to using the shell. After a useful introduction to Ubuntu, the following 13 chapters are on subjects such as using the shell, working with files, manipulating text, managing the system, remote system administration etc. Each chapter is divided into sections such as "Backing up tar archives over SSH". It is in these sections that the authors' experience really shows. Everything is explained and alternative approaches explored. The three appendices cover shell variables, Vim and /proc. The aim always seems to be to get you started, and to point you to a variety of useful features and ways of doing things. As a moderately competent user, I can not judge this book's appeal to a real expert, but to anybody else, I would say that buying this book is a no-brainer. Alternatives versions exist for Fedora and Suse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful and Dense, 5 Jun 2009
By 
H. Lancashire - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Toolbox: 1000+ Commands for Ubuntu and Debian Power Users (Paperback)
As one would expect with any Linux textbook, this one is dense. There is lots of information, not presented in the most readable manner, however the good indexing and contents makes it pretty easy to find what you want.

With the subsequent updates of Ubuntu it is becoming less usual for a normal user to carry out tasks from this manual, however some, such as regular expressions, deserve to be learnt by everyone. In addition learning the different ways there are to go about everyday tasks, graphically and via the terminal, give the user a better understanding of what goes on "behind the scenes".

People argue that "you can get it all from the internet". Personally I would argue that it is easier to read things on paper, and nicer to have something there to dip into rather than switching back and forth between browser and command line continually. Also books, like this one, are written to sell, not just as a hobby, they are generally better written and more complete than online tutorials.

All in all I would recommend this book for people not scared to try the command line and those who want to learn a few more intriguing things that Linux can do. However if you are content with using Ubuntu's easy-to-operate Graphical User Interface, then steer clear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Simply Brilliant Book!, 23 Oct 2009
By 
Alex Howe (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Toolbox: 1000+ Commands for Ubuntu and Debian Power Users (Paperback)
I would recommend this book for any Debian Linux / *Ubuntu user. Whether you are new to the system or have some experience but just need some help finding out how to do certain things.

The contents are perfectly laid out which makes finding what you want very quick and painless. Each tutorial is brilliantly written and explains each example in a way that makes it stick in your mind and gives you enough to expand on the example using other reference material i.e Linux Pocket Guide or Linux in a Nutshell.

I mainly used the internet as reference which was very good but this book in my opinion is easier and it teaches you instead of just giving the answer.

I believe you could download Ubuntu and work through this book to become a very skilled Linux user. I'm not saying the resources would give the reader enough knowledge to become LPI Level 3 certified but it will definitely send them on the right path.

Hats off to the Authors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ubuntu Linux Toolbox, 19 May 2010
By 
Kevin Macphail (Isle of Lewis, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Toolbox: 1000+ Commands for Ubuntu and Debian Power Users (Paperback)
This book tries it's best to cram a lot of material into a fairly short number of pages. It teaches the user the basics of the command line and then starts with a variety of very powerful tools and useful tricks. This book renders a lot of Graphical User Interface (GUI) packages obselete and can make these tasks quicker. The book helps the user develop their command line skills from early stages of browsing through files to more complicated specialist commands that a lot of users may simply never need.

So why only 3 stars? The book attempts to cram a lot into 360 pages, however the readability and user friendliness of the book does suffer, a few more examples of code and tasks would be useful.

This book finds itself stuck between two areas, it is too large for a pocket guide but at the same time I feel that too many useful commands and examples are missing to make this a great reference guide. I have been using this for over a year now so I am not basing this on a couple of weeks so I feel suitable research has been carried out. For a thorough Command Line reference then I would recommend the Linux Command Line and Shell Scripting Bible which is by far and away the best Command Line guide available.

Ideal for the casual user that wishes to give the Command Line a go, but for those who want to take their command line skills even further then I would recommend to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent handbook, 9 Nov 2009
By 
Michael Lewin (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Toolbox: 1000+ Commands for Ubuntu and Debian Power Users (Paperback)
As A relative newcomer to Ubuntu and Linux I found this handbook an excellent resource for getting more familiar with using the command line. Whilst still not an expert I can now do virtually everything I need to do to manage my system effectively.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A practical 'cookbook', 19 Jan 2010
By 
John Harper (Mansfield Notts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Toolbox: 1000+ Commands for Ubuntu and Debian Power Users (Paperback)
A practical and useful reference for those of us not working in IT but needing a short cut to taking advantage of the full versatility and wide scope of Ubuntu.Explains not only how but why in a straightforward way without assuming too much prior experience by the reader. Well indexed and logically laid out.Easy to find guidance on any particular current interest without having to read the whole book.In my opinion good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Advanced, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Toolbox: 1000+ Commands for Ubuntu and Debian Power Users (Paperback)
Too advanced for me - sorry. That all I can say. My son loves it, but he is a professional
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The real red meat of Linux use, 14 Jan 2013
By 
David Slater (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Toolbox: 1000+ Commands for Ubuntu and Debian Power Users (Paperback)
Lot's of computer books are all guff and hot air. Lots of screen shots showing how to do what's obvious and a strange silence on the real issues that show they aren't real experts but just spinning money out of puff.
This is different.
It gives you what you need the detailed syntax of command lines so you can get the job done.
Recommended, but not for the beginner it won't hold your hand.
But it will save you time and get the job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick reference for power users in other OS - knowing Linux, 9 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ubuntu Linux Toolbox: 1000+ Commands for Ubuntu and Debian Power Users (Paperback)
This is exactly what I was looking for. A quick, accessible 'recipe' book for practical uses of the Linux shell without delving too deep into the particular mechanics. Being a power user in Windows for many years, I recently started as a dev in a new job with Linux centered users. I've browsed it on a daily basis, and it has proven invaluable on my transition.

Don't expect this book to guide you gently if you're a beginner - it's definitely oriented to solve particular tasks that are common to advanced users. I'm giving it four stars because I believe a newer edition is due.

My only regret? I wish had gotten into Linux years before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ubuntu Linux Toolbox: 1000+ Commands for Ubuntu and Debian Power Users
Used & New from: £0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews