Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2007
This short book is surely among the most concise, informative investment guides ever written. Christopher H. Browne manages to make stock market investing as simple and straightforward as shopping for groceries. He sketches quickly, but in adequate detail, the main principles of value investing, offers guidance on how to use such basic information as P/E ratios, points the way to free online stock-screening services and, yet, makes no big promises about market success. His message is that value investors who do their homework patiently and thoroughly may expect good returns eventually. Instead of aggressive trading, he emphasizes the virtue of not taking action. We recommend this succinct tutorial to every investor.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
this is an incredibly well written, concise book on value investing. it tells the reader exactly what look for - equities that are peiced cheaper than face value. why do i like this book? - it simple and clear - it doesn't expect the reader to be a financial analyst of accountant so the style is very easy. it uses great case studies, it's very short and not long winded and i will use this as a reference point going forward.

reading this book; you won't become a stock market guru overnight, however you will learn a hell of a lot and may even be swayed by value investing as a methodology going forward.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2007
Leaves you wanting more, in a good way. The author does outline but doesn't quite detail the approach. This book gives a great introduction to the fascinating strategy that has helped shape many successful investors. Does exactly what it sets out to do, but will leave you wishing there was a "big book of value investing". Very relevant information which was one of the reasons I purchased this book. The dot-com bubble features highly, as well it should - for those stocks are quite the opposite to what a value investor is looking for.

Highly recommended read if you're looking for an investment strategy that will slowly turn your money into a sizeable sum. Reading this book should be one of your first steps on that slippery slope and I'm glad I took time to learn about value investing.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Although having only read a few books on investing and finance I can by far say this is the best book I've read. The fact that the author is an actual investor and comes from a lineage of investors with ties to Benjamin Graham and Warren Buffet only authenticates his points even more.

Would reccomend to anyone and everyone, but you may need a tiny bit of knowedge on financial terms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An investment book with not a single table or chart but which in its just over 160 mini book pages distills the lifetime experience of a seasoned US value investor, who applies a global mindset and in his younger days followed in the footsteps of Ben Graham and Warren Buffett in terms of his initial work experience?

Yes, that is exactly what makes this such a pleasurable and valuable read plus an easily learnt education in the basic concepts of value investing and the skillset needed which the writer believes anybody with general investment awareness can apply. As the author states several times it is ultimately one of patience and accepting that this is a long term investment approach with "lumpy" performance in realising steady profits rather than graph like upward trends or "star manager" short term approaches and the related volatility they carry, given how the market values shares before recognising their true value by re-rating or being the subject of a bid.

The author has been a value based investor for nearly 40 years and is a partner in a successful US firm Tweedy Browne that only follows this approach. While some of the examples may seem likely to recur easily again (the more conservative accounting followed in certain non-US jurisdictions and the undervalue that produces) there is enough that is still current and valid to make this little tome a very valuable reference work for using by many amateurs like myself. Its mix of matter of fact examples and non-technical jargon make it a real and valuable find.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
Very well written. I had very little clue of value investing before reading that book and now I feel confident enough to go and start investing. Value investing concepts are explained in simple terms, any one can read it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
The Little Book of Value Investing is steeped in the ideas of Ben Graham and numerous studies show the out performance of the Value Investing method over all others.
What I liked about the book is that everything is explained really clearly and you come away the "I get it feeling" This is useful for the beginner and and a little further reading on the internet and you will be wel on the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
Need I say more... This book is possibly THE best resource on the subject of long term investing I have ever come across.

A must-read for serious investors.

If you're a short-term trader, this book is not for you, neither is the market by the way ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
Packed with loads of useful information with some anecdotes included and read to the listener in a clear and interesting style that kept me listening intently throughout. I have listened to the entire book repeatedly on my drives to work and every time I played a CD I latched on to some more useful gems of information. I honestly recommend the audio version of this book and think the actual book would be a fabulous read to any investor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
While too concise to be a practical step-by-step manual (and which hardly is the purpose of the book) it neatly summarises a few key tenets and insights of value investing and substantiate these with a large number of studies from credible, established and reputable institutions and academics. Quite convincing and wets the appetite to explore further and start putting the thinking to work in actual practice!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)