Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2009
The book is easy to follow at the beginning. Once it goes into more complicated things it lacks clear examples so it gets more difficult to grasp for somebody with no previous knowledge
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
Please don't buy this book; I have (after I bought) seen several VBA books which seem better

The author's first example has a lot of code in it which is redundant and it is also a NOT a good introductory example. I didn't know VBA a lot and even I managed to halve the lines by 50%!!!!!! Then, on top of that, he doesn't follow up to explain what the lines of code mean. You would think that a dummies book would do this. This is why I got it. It IS A DUMMIES BOOK JOHN. Hello World would have been a better example.

Then, a lot of repetition on the next few pages; people want something new, some meat and not a book with a few light-hearted jokes.

Walkenbach sometime later advises on declaring variables. Why is this then not mentioned at the beginning of the book

He re-introduces the macro recorder. This is fine, but why introduce it at the very beginning of the book (1st chapter) when a simple example should have been

Honestly, this book does have 2 stars and not one, because it does have some good usable code. What a waste of money. Would be nice if Amazon would let us view more of the book rather than just the contents and the index

Cost: 17 quid. You can get ones for 7.93, 8.90. The more expensive ones are 16.89 and 25 quid and do you know what they give me to trade this book in? 1 pound. Ha ha ha ha ha.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2009
As soon as I started to read the book, I immediately idenfied myself with the excel user this book is aimed at. So easy to read and simple to follow, the explanations are kept at a level any "dummy" can understand, I thourougly recommend this book to any budding VBA programmer.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Yes amusing but very informative and I used it as a tool to instruct excel users on how VBA simple programs could be utilised using the "developer "tab in Microsoft Office Suites. The way the author introduces you to each program was amusing and contained useful tips. It's not the auricle as you do need some experience in basic VB programming to understand it fully.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2010
It does what it says on the cover but it does make unnecessarily hard work to digest in such tiny, unrelated portions. However it will, eventually, resolve my problem and at a price that was extremely attractive compared to recommended selling price. Delivery from Amazon was, as is usual, excellent and free.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2010
As a competent Excel user, I wanted to go beyond Excel to a grasp of VBA programming. The book is well written and reasonably easy to follow (so far !)_and the author has a good reputation in the field of Excel. It has shown me how to create Macros and to edit them too but as i have specific requirements from VBA, it doesn't answer all my particular needs. However, the internet is a great resource for answering specific queries you may have and I think the two together seem to work very well. In fact, having picked up quite a bit of knowledge from the internet now, I may start the book again from the beginning as it will make a lot more sense.

Overall a good buy and I recommend it !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
Got the book within three days and it was package well and in good condition.
Could not wait to start using the examples and it did not disappoint.
Have not but it down let, but I would use the Internet as well I found a lot of help and advice out there too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
Most dummies guides are generally good at what they aim to achieve, this one is no exception. Shame about VBA itself though, and it has returned as a disease vector, lots of spam now contains malicious VBA code. See [...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
Another interesting product from the 'Dummies' genre. Well written and easy to follow. Students should not, however rely upon one textbook for VBA for Excel; a range of books on the market give different views.
PCW
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
A good book to get you on the road to VBA programming if you already use excel. Not too technical.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)