Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent & Enjoyable Account
This is Stephen Dando-Collins second book covering the history of a Roman legion, this time he deals with the Fourteenth Legion (14th Gemina Martia Vietrix Legion). I thoroughly enjoyed this author's first book, "Caesar's Legion: The Epic Saga of Julius Caesar's Elite Tenth Legion", so I eagerly awaited the publication of this title. Again I must confess that I have no...
Published on 21 Mar. 2005 by Aussie Reader

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars XIV Gemina Martia Victrix
The perfect gift for all Roman history enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
This book is well written but short on historical accuracy one point springs to mind the author mentions that the three legions destroyed in the Varian disaster where numbers XXIII,XXIVand XXV when in fact there is abundant historical...
Published 18 months ago by amazon customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent & Enjoyable Account, 21 Mar. 2005
By 
This is Stephen Dando-Collins second book covering the history of a Roman legion, this time he deals with the Fourteenth Legion (14th Gemina Martia Vietrix Legion). I thoroughly enjoyed this author's first book, "Caesar's Legion: The Epic Saga of Julius Caesar's Elite Tenth Legion", so I eagerly awaited the publication of this title. Again I must confess that I have no in-depth knowledge of this period, just a keen and general interest.
I found this book as good as the first, in fact, even better. The one criticism I have is the author's usage of modern military titles instead of those used by the Roman Empire. I had little or no knowledge of the 14th Legion but I found the story fascinating, from its decimation in 54 BC while campaign with Julius Caesar through it's campaign in Germany and latter in Britain where it achieved its immortal fame in putting down the rebellion led by Queen Boudicca.
The narrative is full of interesting accounts and information and the story flows along quite smoothly. There are no illustrations within the book and only a few maps which I think could have been of better quality but suffice to follow the story of the 14th legion.
Overall I think this book would be of interest to anyone who enjoys a decent account of the Roman Empire. It's more of a popular history, and not some stuffy dry text of military manoeuvres, tactics and famous commanders of antiquity but an account of the men who did the fighting and dying and who made the Roman Empire what is was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars XIV Gemina Martia Victrix, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The perfect gift for all Roman history enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
This book is well written but short on historical accuracy one point springs to mind the author mentions that the three legions destroyed in the Varian disaster where numbers XXIII,XXIVand XXV when in fact there is abundant historical evidence to prove that they where XVII, XVIII, XIX. All in all reads well but be wary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nero's Killing Machine, 24 Aug. 2012
By 
Neil Horton "Neil" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant read. Non fiction but reads well and could well have been a novel. It is the first time I have been able to pick up a book, which gives me information of the major players during the Roman Era. Will definitely be reading it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cleverly Structured and Well-Paced, 2 Sept. 2006
By 
Fiona Capp (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
It's a tribute to Stephen Dando-Collins' narrative powers that he won over such a battle-weary reader as myself. No doubt it helped that the fight at the heart of the story involved a woman wronged: the wild Queen Boudicca of Britain. Nero's Killing Machine is written with a filmic sense of the physicality of battle and the fine line between triumph and disaster. FIONA CAPP, Book Reviewer, 'The Age,' Melbourne, Australia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Detailed but with enough style to make it easy to read and easier to understand. The book brings the legion to life and is a great read. If i was picky I would say that the end of the book rushed through the final years of the legion leaving me wanting to know a little more - but the first 90% of the book was superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just to add on, 19 July 2007
By 
Thomas P. Utterback "SageMensCircle" (YAKIMA, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolutely riveting account. I have both his books on Roman legions and I recommend them both highly. Awe-inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History at it's best, 31 Oct. 2007
By 
A. Butler (Swansea, West Glam Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has got to be one of the best books that I have read in long time. Ignore the pointless one star from one idiot. If you like a factual book from someone who not only spent 20 years re-searching this subject but was at the same time researching for other books aswell, then buy this as it is a very good read and I have to be honest I didn't want it to end because by the end you feel as if you were there with the Legion and I personally think he ended the book well.
Some history books just swamp you with too much facts and by the end of just one page you're cross eyed and dribbling. Not this book as it keeps you wanting to read more and more. I look forward to reading his other books with gusto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 18 Jan. 2010
By 
Dace "Dace" (Phoenix, AZ, Seville, Spain, London, England ,) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay, firstly good price and swift delivery from Amazon.
This is the second Dando-Collins read, Caesars X was first.
Very enjoyable, if only history had been taught at school in the interesting way this is written.
I find it amazing what some of these men did in their lives, apart from the wars all the travelling.
Well worth a read, if you like me, want some history but not just facts and figures.
As to the gentleman who mentioned the book was wrong because the XIV was multiple units crossed over...can I say most military units follow a loose attachment to the past, my own can be traced back directly to the unfortunate 7th Cavalry.
Buy it enjoy it and if it is what you like try the legendary X.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 14th Legion, 28 May 2009
By 
Richard Newson (Banbury, Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nero's Killing Machine: The True Story of Rome's Remarkable Fourteenth Legion (14th / XIV) (Paperback)
A very informative book on the subject, does not get bogged down with unimportant stats or theory, just the facts as they are known. The use of modern day ranks of the Roman Army help keep the smooth flow of the story although, this may upset some of the purists. An excellent read from start to finish, and will be a welcome addition to any Roman History Buffs library or indeed, anyone interested in this quite remarkable Legions exploits accross several Continents, including Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and brutal account of a legion at war., 11 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been fascinated with the Roman Empire in all it's glory and disgrace since leaving the British Army in 1987.
This book is a brutal account of the pariah 14th's rise to glory over Boudicca at the battle of Wattling Street 61 years after the birth of Christ. Superbly written, the author brings reality to each page by careful attention to detail and reffering to by name soldiers involved in key actions in the heat of battle. Tatics,weapons,formations, the use of Cavalry,and the all important Esprit De Corps are explained in plain English and at just the right depth to give the mind a picture without going to deep.
This book will appeal to anyone interested in military history as you will discover so much of what makes any modern army tick was invented by the hard as nails toe to toe men of the Legions and their beloved Emperors way back before gunpowder turned soldiers into pansies, hah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nero's Killing Machine: The True Story of Rome's Remarkable Fourteenth Legion (14th / XIV)
Used & New from: £7.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews