Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward and instructional.
As part of my own personal conversion from film to digital photography, I recently purchased almost every book and tutorial DVD relevant to my new cameras (Nikon D300) and overall situation. I am a self-taught photographer whose work has been widely published for over 30 years including by National Geographic. Having learned little or nothing from any of the DVDs (very...
Published on 12 Jan 2009 by Ned Middleton

versus
25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very useful
If you can handle the small text and monochrome of the Nikon manuals (pages 71 - 106 for the SB800), and you have time to surf the forums at photo.net, or nikonians.org, you'll learn more than you can from this book. Much of it is dedicated to photography generals not specific to the Nikon Creative Lighting System (e.g. posing techniques, using flash outdoors, etc.) and...
Published on 1 Feb 2007 by Steven Seymour


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward and instructional., 12 Jan 2009
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon Creative Lighting System Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
As part of my own personal conversion from film to digital photography, I recently purchased almost every book and tutorial DVD relevant to my new cameras (Nikon D300) and overall situation. I am a self-taught photographer whose work has been widely published for over 30 years including by National Geographic. Having learned little or nothing from any of the DVDs (very disappointing!), I have found books to be the best for overall value.

With so much to learn - some of which is quite daunting, we students of photography require books that are well laid out and allow the reader to build on subjects covered so far. This is such a book. Published by a company whose products include some of those generally excellent photography titles "For Dummies," they really do appear to know the subject.

What I really like is the very beginning of this work. This is called a "Quick Tour" and is designed to get you up and running with your flash unit. Fantastic, after just two pages, we are taking photos with a Nikon Speedlight and it's a positive learning trail all the way from here as the author covers the widest possible spectrum of flash photography.

Part I includes a complete exposé of the Creative Lighting System (CLS) and setting up the Nikon SB-600 and SB-800 units. Part II allows the photographer to create great photos with full details of; Flash photography basics, wireless flash photography, wireless studio, real-world applications and portraiture. With examples which include anything from portraits, a Hornet and even the head of a small screw, this book gets down to basics and is unlikely to disappoint those who are eager to learn.

NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very useful, 1 Feb 2007
By 
Steven Seymour (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon Creative Lighting System Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
If you can handle the small text and monochrome of the Nikon manuals (pages 71 - 106 for the SB800), and you have time to surf the forums at photo.net, or nikonians.org, you'll learn more than you can from this book. Much of it is dedicated to photography generals not specific to the Nikon Creative Lighting System (e.g. posing techniques, using flash outdoors, etc.) and for these things there are other books that are much better (e.g. Steve Bavister's 'Lighting for Portrait Photography').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Neither One Thing Nor Another, 4 Sep 2007
By 
AHW Rea "Slioch" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon Creative Lighting System Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
I was looking for something that expanded upon, and made more easily comrehensible,the instruction manuals that came with my SB-800 and macro flash systems. What I wasn't after was an idiot's guide to using flash. Unfortunately, the latter is what I got.
The book would be excellent for someone starting out to use a flash system for the very first time, needing advice and guidance on bounce flash, guide numbers, posing, ideas for subjects etc. I seriously doubt that there are too many people with an SB-600/800 who have those needs.
The book dwells at tedious length on composition and subject ideas. It does give technical detail about using the system, but it is both irritatingly moronic in its assumptions about the reader and lacking in adequate technical detail to do much to expand on the instruction manual.
The book deals, it says, with the Creative Lighting System. In fact, beyond a cursory mention a couple of times, it does not deal with the innovative macro-flash system at all. Users of D70/80/200 cameras with built in Speedlights fare a little better, but the emphasis is definitely on the SB-600/800 guns.
I'd recommend using the money you don't spend on this book on a few sets of batteries. Get used to the instruction manual and go out and experiment. The book is a waste of money for the majority of its supposed target readership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Highly Recommended, 17 May 2007
This review is from: Nikon Creative Lighting System Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
I bought this book as I had struggled with the unreadable and frankly incomplete user manual supplied by the manufacturer (and I am fairly technical!). This book is clear, concise and accurate. It gives just enough information, no more, no less, to get you operating your SB600 or SB800 on and off camera, and wirelessly. It also gives some common senarios, with detail of how to light them. I very highly recommend it - it has moved my photography a giant leap forwards. Nikon should give this book with each light!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok unless you have the SB900, 4 Mar 2009
By 
J. Hoskison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon Creative Lighting System Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Unfortunately it does not do what it says on the label - the Nikon CLS has a big brother called the SB900 which never gets mentioned in this book, probably because the book is out of date. Thats said what it does contain is still intersting and informative. Perhaps Amazon should show publication dates then you could amke a better judgement on value of thee tech books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great cure for insomnia, 7 May 2010
This review is from: Nikon Creative Lighting System Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Definitely an old school type "manual". Great cure for insomnia but focuses far too heavily on background theory and not enough on how to get the best out of the actual system in practical uses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing Nikon D80 settings information, 8 Jan 2009
By 
N J P "Nick" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nikon Creative Lighting System Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Not quite sure what to make of this book.
I have a Nikon D80 and most of the reference and settings information for my camera and its uses with the CLS appears to be missing .
However It does explain how to use the lighting system clearly and now that I have worked out for myself how to change the mode settings on my D80 all is ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikon Creative Lighting System Digital Field Guide
Nikon Creative Lighting System Digital Field Guide by J. Dennis Thomas (Paperback - 12 Jan 2007)
Used & New from: £0.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews