Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excell 2007 Bible
Excellent book for all of those who are reasonably familiar with Excel and want to know more. Not really for beginners unless you have got a lot of patience but extremely comprehensive and well written. Thoroughly recommended.
Published on 11 July 2009 by Richard Ellis

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excel built in help in paper form.
That's basically what it is: Excel already built in help system turned into a book ( and printed on very low quality paper paper). I'd guess that 90% of the content can be found in Excel help and remaining 10% was written by the author. I'm amazed how this book received so many positive reviews as it can neither be used as a reference (poor format and terrible indexing)...
Published on 19 Sept. 2011 by xxln3


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excell 2007 Bible, 11 July 2009
By 
Richard Ellis (Beds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Excel 2007 Bible (Paperback)
Excellent book for all of those who are reasonably familiar with Excel and want to know more. Not really for beginners unless you have got a lot of patience but extremely comprehensive and well written. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolfenbach's 2007 Bible, 28 May 2009
This review is from: Excel 2007 Bible (Paperback)
Well worth buying before you get individual books ie visual basic, charting etc. Have used the CD only and found this very useful. Will try the individual books at greater depth when I have mastered this (may be some time!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 20 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Excel 2007 Bible (Paperback)
The book is the best for those who want to study Excel. A lot of new things even for users who have years of work with Excel. The delivery from Amazon was surprisingly fast and cheap.
Thanks a lot!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excel built in help in paper form., 19 Sept. 2011
By 
xxln3 (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excel 2007 Bible (Paperback)
That's basically what it is: Excel already built in help system turned into a book ( and printed on very low quality paper paper). I'd guess that 90% of the content can be found in Excel help and remaining 10% was written by the author. I'm amazed how this book received so many positive reviews as it can neither be used as a reference (poor format and terrible indexing) or as a tutorial book (poor examples, bad format, no exercises).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Alrounder for Learning Excel, 5 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excel 2007 Bible (Paperback)
It's called a Bible but excel is much larger than can be covered in a bible sized book.
That said it covers more than is needed for someone that uses excel frequently but doesn't need to tweak it to do more details functions very often, or not that often.
DON'T FORGET HOW BIG EXCEL IS AS AN ADAPTABLE PROGRAM!
it is very good for an average user that can pickup and understand advanced tasks and the supportive disc helps that understanding, nothing better than doing whilst learning and being able to see one made earlier if your attempts fail (mostly a letter out of place or additional comma etc)

There are some areas I would have liked more information/guidance on but overal this is excellent.

Decide what you need to learn and have a look at the inside of the book (assuming you still can).
also don't forget when looking at the contents pages, they give you at a glance contents which are just the headings, after this there is a more detailed table of contents which I found more helpful.
The book is on the disc as a PDF which I found helpful searching for certain tasks (I know lazy way to find something).
I would say you will be happy with this book unless you are an Advanced Excel User/programmer then I would look at it closely first.
This is a Medium to Lower Advanced user Level

if 5 is medium and 10 is extremely advanced, it sits at around 6.5 to 7.
Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best excel book available, 7 Jan. 2010
By 
Claus Liegl "Claus Liegl" (Copenhagen, Danmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Excel 2007 Bible (Paperback)
both the way it is explained and depth and width of it is great - strongly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy, 2 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. I. Bekri - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Excel 2007 Bible (Paperback)
This is a must buy for anyone wanting to learn excel quickly.
It has a easy read feel about it, although if your a complete beginner you might get a little lost of how excel works otherwise a very good purchase. Explains formulas pivot charts the explanation of arrays is a little ropey, but go on youtube and your back on track again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to the title, 17 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excel 2007 Bible (Paperback)
A splendid resource. It does it exactly what I wanted it to.
Unlike some excel guides it doesn't just slightly rewrite the help index.

It is well written and easy to understand. It covers all aspects from the very basics to the more advanced stuff. The chapters on VBA were especially good. After reading them I have begun to be able to do some basic VBA programming.

Like a lot of books from this publisher it does have slightly cheap feel to it and I didn't like the grey colour of the text.

The CD that accompanies it is very useful and all the examples seem to be accurate.

I have found this book to be immensely helpful and having a copy of it can make you the "excel expert" in your office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars used it once, now in the office for anybody to use, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excel 2007 Bible (Paperback)
I used this once and from then on I used the excel online help. However, it is comprehensive of information and a good book. I just personally prefer the online help!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the right balance, 13 Feb. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excel 2007 Bible (Paperback)
As a reasonably experienced Excel user, I needed to come up to date with the powerful features in 2007, and also wanted to extend my skills into basic VBA and creation of my own functions. This book is well written with clear examples; I was encouraged to buy due to the one 'negative' review because I didn't want anything totally basic (that's easy enough to learn by pressing the F1 key). You can learn from this book by browsing without a PC switched on in front of you and it is equally at home as a reference next to your keyboard. Well written and compiled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Excel 2007 Bible
Excel 2007 Bible by John Walkenbach (Paperback - 10 Jan. 2007)
£20.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews