Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but...
I recently bought the D200 and read the instruction book (included) cover to cover and found it easy to read and understand and had the camera working in no time at all. A few years ago I purchased the F5 and for the fun of it bought a Magic Lantern guide, it didn't really cover any more than I had learnt in the F5 manual.

So it was with trepidation that I...
Published on 8 Aug 2006 by Tony Hobbs

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A book of waffle!
The first third of the book is a 'large print' version of the manual, adding very little to the manual. It completely avoids explaining the more compex issues of say, focus modes, which for a guide to a camera which is of interest to the dedicated amateur or professional is poor to say the least. (There are some excellent articles available free on Nikon associated...
Published on 19 Jan 2007 by Mr. Michael Coleridge


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A book of waffle!, 19 Jan 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D200 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
The first third of the book is a 'large print' version of the manual, adding very little to the manual. It completely avoids explaining the more compex issues of say, focus modes, which for a guide to a camera which is of interest to the dedicated amateur or professional is poor to say the least. (There are some excellent articles available free on Nikon associated websites.)

The remainder of the book is on general photographic practice and mostly not related to the D200 at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Good Enough, 16 Jan 2007
By 
R. Broadbent (Grays, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D200 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Anybody who wants a good guide to the D200 should look elsewhere, sorry. I found the magic Lantern book a lot better. Look under AF-Area Mode Selector. The information is the wrong way round in this book, the author (D. Busch) states that the single-area AF is at the top, wrong! Its at the bottom of the switch, sorry I think thats a BIG error and caused me concern until I read the Nikon Manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Magic Lantern Guide by Simon Stafford far superior, 27 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D200 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
The main problem I find with this book is that all it seems to do is copy much of its information out of the original Nikon User Guide and doesn't explain much of it in any greater detail - probably the main reason for getting it in the first place! At least the Nikon Guide is written in a logical order - not so with Mr Busch's effort! It also hardly mentions the personal customisation settings that are available on the D200 - something that I was particularly interested in. Not even the Field Projects section is described in anything more than a brief explanation for each topic. THIS BOOK LACKS DETAIL!! Get Simon Stafford's Magic Lantern Guide instead - it's far superior
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but..., 8 Aug 2006
By 
Tony Hobbs (Bristol, S Glos United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D200 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
I recently bought the D200 and read the instruction book (included) cover to cover and found it easy to read and understand and had the camera working in no time at all. A few years ago I purchased the F5 and for the fun of it bought a Magic Lantern guide, it didn't really cover any more than I had learnt in the F5 manual.

So it was with trepidation that I ventured down the path of an other guide dedicated to a specific camera! I am of mixed mind...

Part 1 covers nothing really new, that I didn't know in the manufacturers guide! It is printed better and clearer to read, but that is as should be...

Part 1 continues to cover a little more, but again nothing that can't be read between the lines of the manual!

So I am at Part 2 on page 75 and I haven't learnt much that I didn't know before! Part 2 has info on Essentials, exposure DofF and HISTOGRAMS, helpful! All about lenses, ok, Working with light, prob have that in another book, and Photo Subjects. Again this is probably in other photo books but it is useful here and has over 100 pages dedicated to this subject!

Part 3 is troubleshooting and is only a few pages, so that is a plus point really!! It mentions dust removal and equipment to use!

There is a glossary at the back!

I will keep this book on the 100 pages of photo subjects and it has a few pages of useful info here and there, but I won't get another guide of its kind because I don't see the point! All the additional info is most probably available in other books and the included guide covers pretty much everything this does, shame.....

I have read other books by Busch and plan to check out some others, so the author can't be criticized, he knows his cameras!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Digital Field Guide? Answers on a postcard please!, 14 July 2014
By 
Maximus "Mr Max" (Essex, England, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D200 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
This is a beginners book. If you are new to the D200 and want a little bit of an insight into a few of the controls then this might be for you. If you are even an amateur photographer, this book will waste your time.
Only 72 of its 250 pages is actually dedicated to some loose aspect of the D200. It's really difficult to make connections to the camera's menus or controls because the author does not use a Legend or numbering method to cross reference with either the pictures of the camera or the manual. In fact, no reference is made to the camera's manual. I found this to be really strange because the assumption is that all cameras are supplied with a manual which is invaluable to the description and operation of the camera and not to make reference to it means that he probably hasn't read it.
The information in this book on the D200 is akin to the sort of articles you would get in photography magazines.
THE GOOD: The rest of this book contains lots of useful information on how to take photographs. Lots of photos, colour graphs and illustrations included. Good use of colour throughout the book. The typeface has a nice layout.
THE BAD: The photos of the camera and illustrations cannot be easily referenced because there are no reference points and no references to the camera's manual. Very difficult to find exactly what you want, you have to look really hard and rely totally on the Index, and even then, it's tough. The chapters are a bit strange because you can't just go to a chapter and find what you want, you still have to use the Index
THE UGLY: The photographs in this book are mainly dull and lifeless, although this may be more to do with the printing process. Just look at page 146, that says it all. (why do these book writers always use their families in photos?)

CONCLUSION: This book purports to be a 'Digital Field Guide', well I'd like to see anyone pull this out whilst shooting in the field! I bought this book because I thought that it would be a good companion to the camera, but sadly, no. Only because it's just too difficult to find anything in it. This book will suit a novice. So, if your girlfriend is starting out, (although we all know that women are cleverer than men) this book might come in handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, 27 Oct 2013
By 
JHvW "JHvW" (Pays Bas, Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D200 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
I bought a Nikon D200 second hand. By now it is a bit dated but it was my first digital SLR camera. It is unbelievable what you can do with the camera. The instruction booklet alone takes some time to work through. This book is a useful companion because it explains "how to" in real life settings rather than "if you want to" as explained in the camera's manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last, 29 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D200 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
At last a very readable book that clearly describes how to get the best out of the D200. Much better than the official Nikon hand book, and in my opinion streets ahead of any other books I have come across on this subject. I also have his book on the D40 which is equally good. My constant companion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Written and Hardly D200 Specific, 16 Jan 2009
This review is from: Nikon D200 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
The D200 is quite a step up from my old D70 and there are many features that I'm not familiar with, so I bought this guide hoping to gain some insights and knowledge.

Only the first 70-odd pages of a total of 250+ are remotely connected with setting up the D200 and even that is very poorly written with so many references to other sections (eg "as previously described in Chapter 2") that I found it just about unreadable. I also did not find the information given to be very helpful - it seemed to mostly concentrate on what a particular option did (which is already in the Nikon manual) with very little mention of why I might want to use it and under what circumstances.

The remainder is just another general guide to digital photography. If you're looking for detailed information on setting up and using your D200 in a variety of situations, then there's no way that I could recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful book, 17 Oct 2006
By 
A. Thornton "Albion" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D200 Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Well yes, you'll find much of what is in this book in the manual that comes with the camera.

But that would miss the point. This book is very readable, and will bring you up to speed with the camera rapidly. It's been written by someone who uses the camera, and can explain things clearly. The Nikon manual is in dreary black and white, and written by techies, life's too short.

And it doesn't cost a lot. You won't regret buying it, although you can probably skip the later chapters if you're an experienced photographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikon D200 Digital Field Guide
Nikon D200 Digital Field Guide by David D. Busch (Paperback - 14 July 2006)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews