Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've seen on the subject
...although there aren't a great deal of other contenders out there.
I was pretty much a beginner when I read it and it was simple enough to be easily understood and yet it told you pretty much all you need to know.
Published on 2 Jan. 2009 by Frenchie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmmmm
I think the other reviewers must be his mates.

I thought the book was confusing. The maths is simple, so it shouldn't be - but somehow he managed it.

if MC is reading this - pls recheck ur numbers on page 12 - the Buy/Sell Back example.
Published on 6 Oct. 2008 by M. SMITH


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmmmm, 6 Oct. 2008
By 
M. SMITH (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Introduction to Repo Markets (Securities Institute) (Paperback)
I think the other reviewers must be his mates.

I thought the book was confusing. The maths is simple, so it shouldn't be - but somehow he managed it.

if MC is reading this - pls recheck ur numbers on page 12 - the Buy/Sell Back example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've seen on the subject, 2 Jan. 2009
This review is from: An Introduction to Repo Markets (Securities Institute) (Paperback)
...although there aren't a great deal of other contenders out there.
I was pretty much a beginner when I read it and it was simple enough to be easily understood and yet it told you pretty much all you need to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Badly explained., 2 Mar. 2011
I work in Repo and I'm sure some of this content is out of date. Some irrelevant.
He could do well to explain the concepts better.
However, it is one of a small number of books on the subject so deserves some merit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars State of the Art, 3 July 2003
The great thing about Moorad Choudhry’s The Repo Handbook is that it is designed to fully maximise the role and impact of the repo trader within the institution. Sure, the book clearly explains what a repo is and how it trades, and covers in depth the full sphere of practical issues – calculations, settlement, legal, tax, accounting. Repo is technical and the practitioner is lost without a mastery of these. But Choudhry goes further in recognising that repo is at the heart of all products in the global market, and that financing, settlement, hedging, and overall efficiency are impossible without it. In this context, he explains the wide range of instruments, businesses, derivatives and structures that benefit from repo. A repo trader that understands these interrelationships will go furthest in building communication, teamwork, and in the end overall profitability across the firm. Wisely, Choudhry devotes a section to risks in repo that must be respected. The book is easy to navigate, and a solid ongoing reference as the glossary, appendices, and formulas are very handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction that is well structured., 27 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
I picked up this book after having a frustrating look at the FT/Prentice Hall publication by Rob Steiner "Mastering Repo Markets". This other book is badly structured, has terrible font and is overpriced for what it is. Moorad Choudhry's book on the other hand is well structured (he seems to have had practice writing other books)and it's very easy to get a good picture of what repos are and why they exist. He does place more emphasis on the UK Gilt market and so appears to be less international in flavour - but if you ignore the fact that he's putting off US buyers this is an excellent book/buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on repo I've seen yet, 6 July 2000
By A Customer
This is an excellent book on repo. Don't be put off by the "Introduction" bit in the title, this is as advanced a book on repo as any others in the market. Fantastic value for money as well. I rate it above Steiners book, and it's better for practitioners than the book published recently by Freshfields / Cedel. It also covers the basis in very accessible fashion. This is THE top book on repo, if you're involved in any way in the repo market, buy it, for less than the price of a few drinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A concise yet comprehensive summary of the repo markets, 28 Sept. 1999
By A Customer
Introduction to repo markets is an excellent introduction to the repo markets. It assumes little or no prior knowledge of the subject, and covers all the major topics, including repo market mechanics, classic repo and sell/buyback. There are also chapters on basis trading, the yield curve, electronic repo trading, accounting, tax and capital issues. All in all a good introduction to an important area of the debt capital markets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This has to be the best book about repo!, 14 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
The subject of bond markets repo is an obscure yet important one, and there are several titles around. This is by far the best, which is ironic because it's one of the cheapest. The author ran a repo book at two different banks and presents the main points clearly and succinctly. This is ideal for dealers, sales people, programmers, analysts, lawyers and accountants. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCELLENT WAY TO FULLY GRASP THIS SUBJECT, 28 Sept. 1999
By A Customer
This author has shown an excellent inside knowledge of this subject. The author appears to have researched the repo market to such an extent that it leaves the reader without any doubts as to the intricacies of this market. Anyone wishing to become an expert could do well to read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Introduction to Repo Markets (Securities Institute)
An Introduction to Repo Markets (Securities Institute) by Moorad Choudhry (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2006)
£35.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews