Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the only book you need on waves
A fantastic guide on the physics and mathematics of waves and vibrations. From simple harmonic motion and coupled oscillations, to EM waves in the ionosphere, interferometers, convolution, matrix methods, holography, phonons, and more. Definitely worth the money.
Published on 4 Sep 2009 by Rational Rob

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid
After reading some bad reviews, I tried hard to see the good side of this book.

It's not very clear, the techniques used are quite odd sometimes, and it disagreed with my other textbooks and course notes in places.
Published 19 months ago by Greg


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the only book you need on waves, 4 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Physics of Vibrations and Waves (Paperback)
A fantastic guide on the physics and mathematics of waves and vibrations. From simple harmonic motion and coupled oscillations, to EM waves in the ionosphere, interferometers, convolution, matrix methods, holography, phonons, and more. Definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Systematic Introduction of Basic Concepts, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Physics of Vibrations and Waves (Paperback)
For many years I have been looking for a thorough book on vibrations and waves. They are important throughout physics and electronics among other subjects.

This book is methodical in its introduction of the topics, the maths is well laid out and I have moved on leaps and bounds by referencing the sections of the book where I had blanks before.

I wish I had a copy many years ago and it will remain on my book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent phil haddrell, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Philip Haddrell (Newcastle-u-Lyme, Staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Physics of Vibrations and Waves (Paperback)
I have found this to be one of the best undergraduate physics text books ever. Its explanations are clear and provides an excellent introduction to other areas of physics namely electromagnetic theory and quantum mechanics. The book gives clear introductions to the mathematics used at every stage. I first used this book over 40 years ago during my undergraduate course and have 3 different editions of this excellent book. To be honest I am completely baffled by some of the negative reviews of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good price, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Physics of Vibrations and Waves (Paperback)
This is a set book for physics degree students and is keenly priced too. It was posted to another address very promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Focused engineering examination with lighter math complexity, 19 Nov 2013
By 
ab..c (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Physics of Vibrations and Waves (Paperback)
* Physical

The book is very well bound for a paperback. The text and graphics are clearly reproduced. And the text is reproduced with a generous text size to help those who need glasses to read and study.

* Target audience, A-level, H.N.D, undergraduate, Graduate, Post - graduate?

The book (i.m.h.o) is aimed at upper - year H.N.D in electrical / mechanical engineering, through first and second year engineering type degrees.
The coverage is focused and covers (in my copy, 4th edition, bought from Amazon second - hand), Simple and Dampened Simple Harmonic Motion / The Forced Oscillator / Coupled Oscillations / Transverse Wave Motion / Longitudinal Waves / Waves on Transmission Lines / Electromagnetic Waves / Waves in More than One Dimension / Fourier Methods / Waves in Optical Systems / Wave Mechanics / Non- linear Oscillations and Chaos / Appendix

* How does the author explain the engineering topics?

This book is focused examination of a common thread within science and engineering of the wave and vibrations. It strikes me that the author begins by reviewing an agreed level of required knowledge to allow the book to progress up to speed. Such as topics around the concepts within kinetic and Potential energies, and the similarities between electrical and mechanical, 2nd - order differential equations. The classifications of underdamped, critical and over - dampened, steady -state and impulse is developed algebraically but not in tremendous depth. This is the routine stuff that's usefully reminding the reader.

* Is the Mathematical content daunting?

Some of the reviews, say with series, such as exp(ix)and in 'i' notation is well - explained and tends to apply the least daunting mathematical argument to make its points come across. The engineering features of the topics is explanied, which is then supported by 'why it happens' in terms in physical phenomena, and latterly on top the mathematical grounding support is added and shown. Note that partial and Newtonian symbolic diff. equations and logistical equations are used to get acquainted with the background of the topics. There are many hints to solve the given problems.

* Section topics that are well developed?

This earlier usage of interchangeability between mechanical and electrical coupled oscillation calculations is given a positive note. Later when sending waves through Transmission lines and goes into details over many pages. The part - components of an idealized transmission line model, such as resistance, inductance and capacitance, voltages and currents (sometimes complex), and the importance to match impedances is shown in turn, with topics such as avoidance of reflections. Its shown that dimensional analysis definitions are given prominence. The mathematical explanations are controlled and built to support the clarity of the writing, and not to go over the target audience's heads.

In my opinion the latter sections of 'wave mechanics' is particularly well expanded reminder of Quantum Mechanics. But if its your first time, I would read another book first.

* Summary

This book is a valuable and focused explanation of the properties of several types of wave phenomena. If you keep in mind it used the least technical math's to build its rock - solid explanations upon. You will find this book of use over H.N.D (year two, especially with the mathematical derivation of the 'relaxation' oscillator) and undergraduate (2nd year, especially with waves in more than one and above dimensions) degree level engineering studies. The explanations are helpful and not mind crushingly difficult to take aboard. I like the way the author explains the topics he is dealing with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Physics of Vibrations and Waves (Paperback)
After reading some bad reviews, I tried hard to see the good side of this book.

It's not very clear, the techniques used are quite odd sometimes, and it disagreed with my other textbooks and course notes in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Physics of Vibrations and Waves
The Physics of Vibrations and Waves by H. J. Pain (Paperback - 1 April 2005)
£42.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews