Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential resource for anyone wanting to learn to pray.
There are few books as easy to read as "To Pray as a Jew." You will find all the essentials ... from preparing to attend synagogue to what to do when you leave and thereafter. If you desire to learn how to make prayer an effective part of your everyday life, then you MUST read this book. It is a "how to", "when to", "what to",...
Published on 18 Nov. 1997

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars lots to learn
I have long been interested in liturgical history and development so it has been interesting to delve into the liturgy of another religion, Judaism. In the past, I did so via a liberal book on fasts and festivals. This book is orthodox so a little more difficult for me.

When we pray for things, are we expecting God to change everything or to change us? We need...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. D. P. Jay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential resource for anyone wanting to learn to pray., 18 Nov. 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: To Pray as a Jew: Guide to the Prayer Book and the Synagogue Service (Paperback)
There are few books as easy to read as "To Pray as a Jew." You will find all the essentials ... from preparing to attend synagogue to what to do when you leave and thereafter. If you desire to learn how to make prayer an effective part of your everyday life, then you MUST read this book. It is a "how to", "when to", "what to", "what else" manual. You will certainly wear this book out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great find!, 12 Dec. 2010
By 
Alexander Massey (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To Pray as a Jew: Guide to the Prayer Book and the Synagogue Service (Paperback)
I was delighted to read this book, and use it as a constant resource to remind me of aspects of the Jewish prayer services, and the siddur (Jewish prayer book). Often I have wondered why a particular text or prayer is included in a Jewish service, and just as often, I have discovered that other Jews don't know either. Donan has located each prayer in its historical context (how it came to be written, and included, as well as why the words may have been changed over time); he also establishes each text's relevance to Jewish beliefs and traditions. Donan also manages to convey what moves him about the prayers, and by these personal reflections, touched me as a reader, and brought the prayers alive for me. Not only has this book deepened my own appreciation of the liturgy, but it has given me the confidence to lead parts of Jewish services, teach and bring the liturgy alive for others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for goyim and bnei Noach, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Pray as a Jew: Guide to the Prayer Book and the Synagogue Service (Paperback)
This book has been really helpful. The detail and history as well as the familiarity with hebrew prayer has taught me a great deal.
This book is tenderly and lovingly written. It will never be a walk in the park to learn reams of dry prayer by heart and if you are isolated from the reasoning it will be harder, but Rabbi Donin includes you in the decision process and syllogism of the prayer.

Often prayers are written in Hebrew, with phonic transliteration and in English, because of this my ability to read and recognise Hebrew has short forward. I will definitely by buying HaLevy Donin's 'To be a Jew' next and hopefully one day I will live up to them.

Jew, Gentile, Christian, Muslim, curious atheist, may you be blessed with peace and understanding of HaShem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About the Jewish pray to the perplexed..., 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Pray as a Jew: Guide to the Prayer Book and the Synagogue Service (Paperback)
I am not a Jew but one of my friends is and therefore I am now interested i Jewish way of thinking. This book has given me a presentiment about the things, ideas and visions that are important in the Jewish prayer. The book is very well written. I should have appreciated if its Hebrew texts should have been tranlitterated, too. Book was written to the Jews who have became estranged from their own religion. To this purpose the text is working very well. But we are also many who are interested in the topics from another perspective, from another traditions and religions perspective, to us this book has also much to give. It shoud be good if we had a kind of "virtual synagogue" to follow up the services with the this book. Here in tthe North beside the Polar Circle we don't have any real one (synagogue). I really recommend this book to other perplexed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars lots to learn, 27 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. D. P. Jay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To Pray as a Jew: Guide to the Prayer Book and the Synagogue Service (Paperback)
I have long been interested in liturgical history and development so it has been interesting to delve into the liturgy of another religion, Judaism. In the past, I did so via a liberal book on fasts and festivals. This book is orthodox so a little more difficult for me.

When we pray for things, are we expecting God to change everything or to change us? We need to be involved in the act of prayer. Reading from a prayer book does not mean that one is praying. Water, pools, springs and pools are often a symbol for that to which we return for refreshment in prayer. In contrast to the sometimes long-winded intercessions in Sunday church services: "it is forbidden to ask for the fulfillment of personal (physical) needs," on the Sabbath.

Contrary to those who claim to know the Jewish background to the parable of the Good Samaritan: Even the High Priest, who was forbidden any contact with the dead, unable even to take part in the burial of his own parents, was required to defile him¬self to perform this hesed shel emet if he came upon an unburied corpse. The greatest expression of God's loving kindness is therefore what He can do for the dead.

“The only places where prayer is forbidden are places identified with idolatry or sexual lewdness….” However, Rabbi Lionel blue testified as to the effects of prayer in a gay sauna in Amsterdam. Either god is everywhere or he is not.

Sound wisdom about weddings – the first blessing is not about the fulfilment of two people’s needs against the world.

A corrective to Zionism when it is solely political: Physical possession of Eretz- Yisrael and a love for the land are, in themselves, not enough to assure national survival and growth. There must be a spiritual dimension to Jewish life in the holy land. It is in this context that we can turn to the popular meaning of the verse that "man does not live by bread /alone."

There must be exceptions in times of extreme hardship but not here: Since a blessing for food is a formula for receiving God's permission to eat the food, and since per¬mission to eat the forbidden food has already been denied by God, to go ahead and eat it and then thank Him shows only defiance and contempt.

There is a ruling about what to do after making a mistake when praying silently from memory – you have to go back to a certain part of the prayer. I tend to think that God knows what we are saying anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars prayers for everyone, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Pray as a Jew: Guide to the Prayer Book and the Synagogue Service (Paperback)
This book is truly a good introduction to Jewish praYers
whether you are a beginner, or youhave been praying for years.
, young or old, a student or just interested in Jewish prayer
this book is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommend for anyone interested in converting, 1 Jan. 2013
By 
MP (Toulouse France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Pray as a Jew: Guide to the Prayer Book and the Synagogue Service (Paperback)
I highly recommend for anyone interested in converting, i gave it this rating because its a must for anyone interested in judaism and wants detail info on the daily life of a jew
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have, 22 Jan. 2012
This review is from: To Pray as a Jew: Guide to the Prayer Book and the Synagogue Service (Paperback)
This is a must-have if you want to know more about synagogue service, prayers - the life of an orthodox jew. Learning so much, look forward to re-reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Pray as a Jew: Guide to the Prayer Book and the Synagogue Service (Paperback)
Wide range of ideas and analysis of prayer. Very readable and suitable for all levels of familiarity. Engaging and inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete to learn by oneself, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Pray as a Jew: Guide to the Prayer Book and the Synagogue Service (Paperback)
A very complete and interesting about the Jewish prayers and the synagogue service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To Pray as a Jew: Guide to the Prayer Book and the Synagogue Service
To Pray as a Jew: Guide to the Prayer Book and the Synagogue Service by Hayim Halevy Donin (Paperback - 20 Sept. 1991)
£12.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews