Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value
I half read this book- then my wife "accidently" threw the book away! No matter having bought the item a second time, I am more than pleased to advise this is a good read! The Pox certainly gets around so one wonders what damage, who is infected these days and whether or not events are being dictated by it's infectious course! Well worth the cover price!
Published on 10 Feb 2009 by Gwr Evans

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Syphilomania
Probably the most ridiculous book I have ever (half-)read. Written by a sensationalist for sex-obsessed voyeurs. Nobody in her right mind would believe that if Beethoven had had syphilis it would have inspired him to compose great music. What was the ground for such 'diagnosis'? Did he have any tests, or just a gossip would do? Incidentally, the first (still non-specific)...
Published on 16 Mar 2010 by Jack Wonder


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 10 Feb 2009
By 
Gwr Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pox: Genius, Madness, and the Mysteries of Syphilis (Paperback)
I half read this book- then my wife "accidently" threw the book away! No matter having bought the item a second time, I am more than pleased to advise this is a good read! The Pox certainly gets around so one wonders what damage, who is infected these days and whether or not events are being dictated by it's infectious course! Well worth the cover price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Syphilomania, 16 Mar 2010
This review is from: Pox: Genius, Madness, and the Mysteries of Syphilis (Paperback)
Probably the most ridiculous book I have ever (half-)read. Written by a sensationalist for sex-obsessed voyeurs. Nobody in her right mind would believe that if Beethoven had had syphilis it would have inspired him to compose great music. What was the ground for such 'diagnosis'? Did he have any tests, or just a gossip would do? Incidentally, the first (still non-specific) test for syphilis - the 'Wassermann test'- was invented in 1906. This was some 79 years after Beethoven's death! The specific tests for Treponema Pallidum came much later still. Perhaps the composer had a chicken pox, after all? But that would have not been sensational enough for the authoress. 'Syphilis everywhere' is the real obsession of this book. Also, references are fiddled with to suit the most absurd hypothesis that genius must have syphilis to realize his potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pox on You If You Don't Read this Book!, 29 April 2004
By 
Janelle Barlow "book author" (Las Vegas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Pox on you if you don't read this book!, March 2, 2003
Reviewer: Areader from Las Vegas, NV USA
This is the best book I have read this year, and probably the best book Ihave read in five years. Not only is the information critical forunderstanding a number of historical personages, but Hayden's writing isstimulating. Her words work their way through your system the samecompelling way syphilis worked its way through such a huge portion of thepopulation until the development of penicillin. That is, her message can'tbe ignored. The need for society to put syphilis in the closet is surelyas strong a statement as the impact of the infection itself on genius,madness, and creativity. Given its unusual subject matter, this is adetective book that is hard to put down once you start it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything Yo Need To Know About Catholic Impropriety, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well this book opened the door to me about all the psychopaths of history and why most of them died so young. Hayden research is fantastic and the number of famous characters amazing and she is only talking about the tip of the iceberg making syphilis possibly the biggest killer of mankind ever known
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6b55864)

This product

Pox: Genius, Madness, and the Mysteries of Syphilis
Pox: Genius, Madness, and the Mysteries of Syphilis by Hayden (Paperback - 4 Dec 2003)
12.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews