Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic reform in the Catholic Church
This an excellent manifesto for authentic reform in the Catholic Church. A call to all to return to the true roots of the Faith and accept our call to be disciples of Christ and proclaimers of the Gospel through the Lord's Church.
Published 18 months ago by F G Sephton

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Evangelical Catholicism
This bok claims to be about Evangelical Catholism, but it keeps refeering back to sacramental aspects, whic we have too much of.It has some positive suggestions and is worth reading, but is a bit disapppointing.
Published 15 months ago by Dr B R Eggins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic reform in the Catholic Church, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This an excellent manifesto for authentic reform in the Catholic Church. A call to all to return to the true roots of the Faith and accept our call to be disciples of Christ and proclaimers of the Gospel through the Lord's Church.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Evangelical Catholicism, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evangelical Catholicism: Deep Reform in the 21st-Century Church (Hardcover)
This bok claims to be about Evangelical Catholism, but it keeps refeering back to sacramental aspects, whic we have too much of.It has some positive suggestions and is worth reading, but is a bit disapppointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evangelical Catholicism: Deep Reform in the 21st-Century Church (Hardcover)
Some good ideas but generally it was a long rant about things Weigel doesn't like in the church such as the priest facing the people at Mass, some hymns and people living together being allowed to get married.

His definition of evangelical catholicism had a great deal to do with telling people how to behave and not much on how to show God's love in the world so as to build up God's Kingdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 28 April 2013
By 
Marie McDonald (Wallasey, Merseyside) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evangelical Catholicism: Deep Reform in the 21st-Century Church (Hardcover)
this author has such vision and it's so full of common sense - I wish he was advising the curia in Rome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A street fighter - regret I wasted my money, 28 Feb 2013
By 
James Claffey (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evangelical Catholicism: Deep Reform in the 21st-Century Church (Hardcover)
I had to give up in Chapter 3 when I read that Counter Reformation Catholicism " did not lay much stress on sanctification through a regular encounter with the Bible and frequent reception of holy communion (a lacuna that eventually had to be addressed by legislating the annual reception of communion during the Easter season)."

Any informed Catholic knows that there was no lacuna to be addressed since 1215 and the Fourth Lateran Council. That council, long before the reformation, famously imposes excommunication on adult Catholics who do not receive Communion "at least at Easter".

It was not just the error but the hectoring tone of the word "eventually" which reoccurs in this book prevented me continuing. It is the tone of a street fighter.

PLEASE MAY I HAVE MY MONEY BACK

It makes you wonder how accurate the author was years ago when he wrote a biography of Pope John Paul II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evangelical Catholicism: Deep Reform in the 21st-Century Church (Hardcover)
George Weigel has not published a book which failed to hit the target. This one is no exception. Thought provoking, learned while being very readable. Needs to be read more than once for the wisdom it contains
Kevin Keeley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evangelical Catholicism: Deep Reform in the 21st-Century Church
Evangelical Catholicism: Deep Reform in the 21st-Century Church by Weigel George (Hardcover - 22 Feb 2013)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews