Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars24
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2009
For anyone interested in the motivations that underpin current American foreign policy thinking, this is a 'must read' book. I came to it because of the number of times it was referenced by other authors and decided that it was time that I read it too. The title of the book explains its analytical purpose. It is very much about how the USA can continue to assert its primacy and the manner in which it needs to do so. Reading this analysis of America's global strategic imperatives, especially for the long-term control and security of oil supplies, shows why the USA is in Iraq, Afghanistan now and, latterly, why it is becoming more involved in Africa in countries where oil and minerals are yet to be exploited intensively. It also explains America's military, diplomatic and commercial presence in countries that encircle Russia and border on China.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2007
I have to agree with the review from the Publishers Weekly found on the reverse of the book...in so much as while I found quite a lot of the information/commentary troubling, I also relise that it is a very realistic appraisal of the state of global balance of power (or lack there of), and portrays arguably a realistic view of where 'we' are all headed. Brzezinski also did I feel a find job of setting the world scene historically. That is not to say that I have any delusions about where Mr. Brzezinski is comming from...(in my opinion) the Dark Side of the Force, but he does know how to write a very readable book. N.B. I would recomend reading this book in conjunction with any of the following: The new rulers of the World, Web of Deceit - Mark Curtis, Unholy Trinity, and Resource Wars.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
He's a very clever guy is Mr. Brzezinski!! This book was originally wrote in 1979, and looking around us know, the American plan is well under way. Well worth a read.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2003
This really is an extremely well written book which describes the fascinating interconnecting world of geopolitics of our times. Published in 1997, important areas which the book covers are America's unprecedented place in the world (most specifically the all important Eurasia); Russia's current "one solution" dilema along with its geopolitical interests; and those of France and other geostrategic players (Britain not included). Most interesting of all is a superb analysis and overview of what he describes as the the most important geostrategic zone of our time: "The Eurasian Balkins". This zone, also known as Central Asia, is described by Brzenzesky as being in a political vacuum since the fall of the Soviet Union, while it is also in possession of perhaps the world's most massive quantities of energy resources and perhaps ethnic tensions as well. He describes in clear detail the workings of the regional Central Asian geopolitics and its important players. The set of circumstances so described are also said to coincide the explosion of energy needs in East Asia. Since now, in 2003, the USA appears to be on the verge of constructing two huge military bases on its southern flank in Afghanistan and in Iraq, I am unable to suggest a better "beginner's guidebook" for what appears to be the start of what could be one of America's most bold (or risky, depending on the perspective) attempts at increasing its hegemony and short and long term "self-interests". Vast fortunes are to be made, yet the capacity for extreme violance should not be underestimated. This book explains the hows and whys. Amazingly, all this can be read about in less than a few days as the book is very lean and compact.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Quite an interesting read, for what is pretty much 240 pages of jingoism, in it's most base form. I can't fault the writing itself, although the author sometimes takes a rather simplistic view of complex events, but considering the context, and length of this book, it is probably understandable. It can be a bit of a choir at points, the subject matter and near constant egocentricities don't make for easy reading, but there are often important points to be made, so it is worth the effort. I, like others on here, had heard of the book before reading, and had done a little bit of research on the author, so I more or less knew what I was letting myself in for. Although it doesn't really reinvent the wheel or reveal anything new or particularly surprising, it does give some direct, and chilling insight, into American foreign policy. I think it is certainly a worthwhile read, and I will more than likely keep a copy around for referencing, however I probably wouldn't recommend it for those without a keen interest, or advise paying for it unless absolutely necessary.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
Very good book, with clear and straight forward idea and strategic vision,most of them we can see in today world. However his visions are a little but contaminated by a "naive" consideration of american supremacy / mission and by a sense of "holy" destiny or unique role in history for the US. Summarising it is a "must to read", easy reading and clear but also in its mainstream ideologic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
Many chapters seemed to be making the same assertions again and again. The author could have got his message out in a book half the size, but guess he wanted the fluff it out a bit for commercial purposes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
Dating from 1997, so much has changed in the meantime, in particular what brzezinski characterizes as the predominant position of the us, that the book is hopelessly dated.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2009
If you want to know why the world won't change under Obama - read this book, and look up this guy on youtube - there are some disturbing clips out there! Remember that it was this guy that funded and encouraged the muhajadeen in Afghanistan (before the Russian invasion), thus helping to create Islamic fundamentalism - which of course then serves to justify America's terrible and ongoing human rights abuses. Brzezinski is Obama's Foreign Policy advisor. -Change we can believe in? Yeah, right.
33 comments|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Kind of a dull read. I was hoping on him divulging more strategical secrets, which he does not do for obvious reasons.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)