Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unsettling material, but very well written.
I have to agree with the review from the Publishers Weekly found on the reverse of the book...in so much as while I found quite a lot of the information/commentary troubling, I also relise that it is a very realistic appraisal of the state of global balance of power (or lack there of), and portrays arguably a realistic view of where 'we' are all headed. Brzezinski also...
Published on 23 July 2007 by Mr. Andrew Crabtree

versus
34 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars change we can't believe in!
If you want to know why the world won't change under Obama - read this book, and look up this guy on youtube - there are some disturbing clips out there! Remember that it was this guy that funded and encouraged the muhajadeen in Afghanistan (before the Russian invasion), thus helping to create Islamic fundamentalism - which of course then serves to justify America's...
Published on 14 Jan 2009 by S J. McAuliffe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unsettling material, but very well written., 23 July 2007
By 
I have to agree with the review from the Publishers Weekly found on the reverse of the book...in so much as while I found quite a lot of the information/commentary troubling, I also relise that it is a very realistic appraisal of the state of global balance of power (or lack there of), and portrays arguably a realistic view of where 'we' are all headed. Brzezinski also did I feel a find job of setting the world scene historically. That is not to say that I have any delusions about where Mr. Brzezinski is comming from...(in my opinion) the Dark Side of the Force, but he does know how to write a very readable book. N.B. I would recomend reading this book in conjunction with any of the following: The new rulers of the World, Web of Deceit - Mark Curtis, Unholy Trinity, and Resource Wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a 'must read book, 19 Nov 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "RGV" (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For anyone interested in the motivations that underpin current American foreign policy thinking, this is a 'must read' book. I came to it because of the number of times it was referenced by other authors and decided that it was time that I read it too. The title of the book explains its analytical purpose. It is very much about how the USA can continue to assert its primacy and the manner in which it needs to do so. Reading this analysis of America's global strategic imperatives, especially for the long-term control and security of oil supplies, shows why the USA is in Iraq, Afghanistan now and, latterly, why it is becoming more involved in Africa in countries where oil and minerals are yet to be exploited intensively. It also explains America's military, diplomatic and commercial presence in countries that encircle Russia and border on China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Guide: Especially for Central Asia, 7 Feb 2003
This really is an extremely well written book which describes the fascinating interconnecting world of geopolitics of our times. Published in 1997, important areas which the book covers are America's unprecedented place in the world (most specifically the all important Eurasia); Russia's current "one solution" dilema along with its geopolitical interests; and those of France and other geostrategic players (Britain not included). Most interesting of all is a superb analysis and overview of what he describes as the the most important geostrategic zone of our time: "The Eurasian Balkins". This zone, also known as Central Asia, is described by Brzenzesky as being in a political vacuum since the fall of the Soviet Union, while it is also in possession of perhaps the world's most massive quantities of energy resources and perhaps ethnic tensions as well. He describes in clear detail the workings of the regional Central Asian geopolitics and its important players. The set of circumstances so described are also said to coincide the explosion of energy needs in East Asia. Since now, in 2003, the USA appears to be on the verge of constructing two huge military bases on its southern flank in Afghanistan and in Iraq, I am unable to suggest a better "beginner's guidebook" for what appears to be the start of what could be one of America's most bold (or risky, depending on the perspective) attempts at increasing its hegemony and short and long term "self-interests". Vast fortunes are to be made, yet the capacity for extreme violance should not be underestimated. This book explains the hows and whys. Amazingly, all this can be read about in less than a few days as the book is very lean and compact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
He's a very clever guy is Mr. Brzezinski!! This book was originally wrote in 1979, and looking around us know, the American plan is well under way. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars change we can't believe in!, 14 Jan 2009
By 
S J. McAuliffe "Feedthemoon" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you want to know why the world won't change under Obama - read this book, and look up this guy on youtube - there are some disturbing clips out there! Remember that it was this guy that funded and encouraged the muhajadeen in Afghanistan (before the Russian invasion), thus helping to create Islamic fundamentalism - which of course then serves to justify America's terrible and ongoing human rights abuses. Brzezinski is Obama's Foreign Policy advisor. -Change we can believe in? Yeah, right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We are sitting on a pile of explosives !, 3 April 2001
If you believe that Imperialism and Slavery are the words of History, then you must read this book. The book helped me to understand the meaning of imperialism in present context. It also shows how US has used/abused the terms like "human rights" and "democracy". Brzezinski frankly admits the goal of US policy of Hegemony over its "tributpflichtigen Vasallen" [tributary vassals] and control of bridgeheads on the Eurasian continent.
"Zbig" has presented a spectrum of world politics but the treatment of Middle East politics and the reason for Russia's Breakup is not adequate. He fails to vision some of the dangers of USA's adventurism to become the landlord of this Global village. The book also lacks the description of its secret service organizations and it role in media.
Although he do shows the pitfalls of US policy in military perspective, but he has failed to bring out the fallacy of the policy from more complete perspective.
The book may prove useful for our political leaders for framing the policies, only if they are really concerned...which again is a rare case. The book may also provoke the more determined leaders to experiment with America's formula for world dominance.
But will the other nations of the world always remain in the role of pawns?. A single move will not only checkmate US but also end the game and the board. Hence this book gives me another reason to be worried for world peace. It has confirmed my perception that we are sitting on a pile of explosives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Out of date, 19 April 2013
By 
Mr. P. Murphy "Scholar" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dating from 1997, so much has changed in the meantime, in particular what brzezinski characterizes as the predominant position of the us, that the book is hopelessly dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wildly inaccurate projections, but there you go, 3 July 2011
I read this book a few years ago in 2007, ten years after it was written. Already back then it seemed out of date; I only read it to amuse myself at just how inaccurate and over-optimistic the author's projections of American geopolitical power looked with hindsight...

As a work of analysis the book has proven to be rubbish, more or less. But it's still useful, I suppose, as a window onto American geostrategic thinking (not very good thinking perhaps, but still).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential read, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't recommend this book enough, fantastic stuff. Though if you have no interest in geopolitics, its obviously not for you. Too lazy to write proper review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Utter nonsense in some parts, 5 April 2006
By A Customer
Although the book provides useful insight into American Political planning, I must say that I find the book a bit off putting. The author clearly is a true American patriot, and I find some of his claims to be inaccurate. One claim is that he openly states that America is the only true global super power that has ever existed in the entire history of mankind, and plays down the influence the British, Roman, Greek, Mongol and other empires have had on global politics. To say that the British Empire was never a true global super power is ridiculous. He gives several governing factors that he believes are ideal measuring factors for a global super power to have. He states that factors such as military power, economics, and world influence etc. are the best in determining if a country can consider itself a global super power. Unfortunately, the author's argument falls down here because the British Empire, for two centuries (18th and 19th) had the most powerful military, had the biggest economy and by 1921 held sway over a population of about 470-570 million people; approximately a quarter of the world's population, bringing the English language to millions. The British Empire covered about 14.3 million square miles (more than 37 million km≤), about a quarter of the world's total land area. So I can't see how the author can claim that the British Empire was never a true global super power. The book comes across as nothing more than an American publicity platform for how America will one day rule the Earth, as it moves its forces on the political chessboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Chessboard
Grand Chessboard by Zbigniew Brezinski (Hardcover - 18 Nov 1997)
Used & New from: £52.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews