Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fascinating!
In this fascinating book, Professor Fagan introduces something of a climactic history of Europe. The first chapter covers the Medieval Warm Period of 900 to 1300 AD, when Greenland supported a thriving dairy-producing economy, and when French vintners sought protection against the import of fine English wines! Also sprinkled through the book are references to a Mini-Ice...
Published on 12 Aug 2003 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight into Medieval climatic changes
This is in many ways a frustrating book. The subject matter is fascinating - the climatic changes of the last 1500 years and their effect on history. Brian Fagan is Professor of Archaeology at the University of California, and is well qualified for the task, but his account leaves the reader feeling curiously unsatisfied. There are many good features of the book, the...
Published on 10 Oct 2001 by Don Hallett (donski@cableinet....


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Ice Age: How Climate Made History 1300-1850 (Paperback)
Lots of interesting facts in the book about the consequences and extent of the LIA, along with plenty of supporting evidence. A readily accessible read. Shows that we shouldn't take the next one for granted. Here are our politicians preparing for global warming that the climate models predict even though those models have performed so badly that the climate has been doing the opposite of the models predictions in all significant areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars yup, 14 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Little Ice Age: How Climate Made History 1300-1850 (Paperback)
A bit too much of a popular version and missing som scientific values. At least I have read it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 28 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. David Holland "David Holland" (Northampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Ice Age: How Climate Made History 1300-1850 (Paperback)
The majority of Professor Fagan's book is a worthy account of the extent to which our planet's climate can vary without any help from mankind. For that it is well worth reading. Despite this copious well researched evidence of historic extreme weather events and climate change, long before humans could be responsible for it, Professor Fagan leaves the reader in no doubt in chapter 12 where he stands on man-made climate change. In fairness the reader should note that the book was first published in 2000, which may well turn out to be near the zenith of this particular incarnation of the global warming scare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A terrible disappointment, 3 May 2012
By 
Dr Jonathan H Berber (Nottingham, Nottinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Ice Age: How Climate Made History 1300-1850 (Paperback)
The Little Ice Age was recommended to me. I checked the reviews here... generally pretty good. So I bought it.
What a disappointment. This book is repetitive and dull. Worse, almost every page has for some reason a paragraph inserted into it telling us how naughty we all are for causing catastrophic global warming. This thread is pursued to the point at which it even damages the author's main assertions. For example, he states in several places that the mediaeval warm period was warmer than today, for which there is indeed good evidence. Yet he undermines this fact by including several versions of a crude temperature chart which shows temperatures in modern times above some arbitrary 'normal' line, with the MWP well below it. There's a nod to Phil Jones in the acknowledgements - perhaps this has something to do with it.
Mr Fagan would appear to be something of a boating enthusiast. The book is peppered with needless and inappropriate nautical references and terms which add nothing whatever to the subject, yet are left unexplained. Why do we need to be told about such fine details of specific ship's rigging, for example, using obscure nomenclature? I think that this is what used to be called "showing off".
I think I managed to get about half way through this mish-mash of propaganda and repetitive padding, then gave up.
Luckily I only bought it second-hand...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, 26 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Ice Age: How Climate Made History 1300-1850 (Paperback)
The book started quite good. But then it's just anecdotes after anecdotes. That's very boring to read for me. I think Brian Fagan writes books by inserting snippets of facts he's learned in his career as a professor. I was expecting something more profound and scholarly from a professor of history at UCSB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Ice Age: How Climate Made History 1300-1850
The Little Ice Age: How Climate Made History 1300-1850 by Brian M. Fagan (Paperback - 6 Dec 2001)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews