Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How the evolution of mating affects your dating
Why do women use makeup? Why do men like to buy big cars? Why do people feel jealous? Evolutionary psychologist David M. Buss digs deep into the ancient past of human relationships to answer such questions, and produces intriguing results, disconcerting insights and valuable explanations. Using observations from the animal world and from many studies conducted in various...
Published on 11 Dec 2006 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What about fetishes?
Overall a very interesting book and equally a very disturbing book; it is one that I think a lot of people should read and that more research should be carried out in this field.

One thing that concerned me is that this book doesn't mention fetishes. Not at all. Not even one mention. Aren't fetishes a large and interesting aspect of the evolution of desire...
Published on 24 July 2011 by Claggart's on fire


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How the evolution of mating affects your dating, 11 Dec 2006
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Evolution of Desire: Strategies of Human Mating (Paperback)
Why do women use makeup? Why do men like to buy big cars? Why do people feel jealous? Evolutionary psychologist David M. Buss digs deep into the ancient past of human relationships to answer such questions, and produces intriguing results, disconcerting insights and valuable explanations. Using observations from the animal world and from many studies conducted in various societies, he provides a theoretical framework based on Darwin's theory of natural selection. Give Buss credit for elaborately fitting in almost every conceivable puzzle inherent in human mating relationships - even though this, admittedly, at times requires quite a stretch of his evolutionary theory. We recommend this "drop-dead shocker" (The Washington Post Book World) to anyone who has ever searched for, attracted, kept or separated from a mate - that is, anyone who is strong enough to face the unromantic truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book tells you how people work, 18 Jun 2014
By 
C. Ford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evolution of Desire: Strategies of Human Mating (Paperback)
I bought this book because I didn't understand people well. That's changed a little. Now I see myself and the other fleshy 2 legs out there all shuffling around to the tune of ancestral genetic mating protocols. I think it's why we do what we do.

It has one downside - seeing everything laid out like this could take the romance out of the whole procedure. Then again, the knowledge in this book could stop you getting stung, badly. You only live once, so best not to spend it caring for someone else's babies or being a dispensable sex object / status object.

If you're human, I have to recommend you read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What about fetishes?, 24 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evolution of Desire: Strategies of Human Mating (Paperback)
Overall a very interesting book and equally a very disturbing book; it is one that I think a lot of people should read and that more research should be carried out in this field.

One thing that concerned me is that this book doesn't mention fetishes. Not at all. Not even one mention. Aren't fetishes a large and interesting aspect of the evolution of desire? Where did they come from? What are they for? Why may they have evolved? This book should have dedicated an entire chapter to fetishes and sexual preferences I believe, but it doesn't.

It also gets a tad repetitive, but I would still buy this book. I also wish there was a recent book on human mating: this came out in 2003!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's Reason in Romance, 10 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evolution of Desire: Strategies of Human Mating (Paperback)
In a thorough analysis of human reproduction through the lens of evolutionary psychology, David Buss carefully examines a variety of its aspects.

Attraction, mating strategies, wooing, one-night stands, commitment, monogamy, fidelity, lifetime mating, jealousy, infidelity, abuse,divorce...it's all part of nature's meticulous design. So is (presumably) the female orgasm, and so is (presumably) homosexuality.

Throughout the approach is objective and scholarly. It's quite amazing to consider this array of hot topics in such a sober and scientific fashion.

I would unreservedly recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evolution of Desire: Strategies of Human Mating (Paperback)
My prinsible language is not English so this book is a bit hard for me to understand since it has very hard terms of sience and psycology but definately you learn things about our evolution and animal kindom that they are very intresting and worth knowing .I would recomend it for people who care about evolution .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice book, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evolution of Desire: Strategies of Human Mating (Paperback)
I like the book and which was interesting, I think I will share this for my friends. anyway, I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Understanding The Drives of Desire, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evolution of Desire: Strategies of Human Mating (Paperback)
Once you read and integrate the information contained within this book, it enlivens the everyday once you can see and understand how and why people are drawn to certain behaviours in dealing with one another, both in real life and online. It shows how certain conceits of dating are why and how they are, and how they can be misinterpreted in observation. Well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Evolution of Desire: Strategies of Human Mating (Paperback)
A classic in evolutionary thinking about attraction, sex and relationships
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 29 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Evolution of Desire: Strategies of Human Mating (Paperback)
This book is an Eye Opener Book, shows and explains all the things we humans have in common and why are we so hard to understand ourselves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Evolution of Desire: Strategies of Human Mating
The Evolution of Desire: Strategies of Human Mating by David M. Buss (Paperback - 3 Feb 2003)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews