Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Book of 2010
I don't know what happened in the 10+ hours it took me to fly from Amsterdam to Portland, Oregon, because I was absolutely engrossed in this wonderful book. I bought it because my husband and I are opening an agriturismo in northern Italy, but it isn't just a book for future restaurant owners. The author is such a lovely man with so much wisdom to share. Along with...
Published on 25 July 2010 by Elizabeth Ballarin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ETHICS OR MANAGEMENT STYLE
Probably not that inspirational, more a summary of paying attention to detail, following a theme and lots of hard work. I did agree with the ethos Danny suggests for customer service by focus on staff development. Much better than management theories and bull written elsewhere, and relevant because he has made a successful living business
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars core logic, 28 Jun. 2013
By 
Mrs. P. Czyzak-dannenbaum "Peggy" (London, Miami and roving) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Setting the Table (Kindle Edition)
This is a very compelling case for how to deliver exceptional service no matter what the product. The logic is clear, the execution is clear, and the writing about it is clear. I found it a very useful book. Nothing is surprising but Danny Meyer comes across as a an exceptional leader and someone anyone should be happy to work for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 29 Mar. 2013
By 
S. Shaker "Sasha" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Setting the Table: Lessons and inspirations from one of the worlds leading entrepreneurs (Paperback)
Inspirational reading - Danny is generally recognized as the best in the game and reading this helps you realize exactly why. Outstanding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good so far, 8 Feb. 2013
By 
Matthew Kershaw "mattski2000" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Setting the Table: Lessons and inspirations from one of the worlds leading entrepreneurs (Paperback)
I'm a couple of chapters in so far and enjoying it. It's always interesting to hear people's catering war stories. Some interesting parallels with Blood, Bones And Butter by Gabrielle Hamilton.
One thing though - in the Kindle version, every instance of the word 'service' is spelled 'ser vice' with a gap in it. As you can imagine, in a book about catering, it's a pretty common word!
I'm sure his restaurants aren't run as sloppy as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting read, 19 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Setting the Table (Kindle Edition)
I am actually opening my own restaurant but thought the book was genuinely interesting as a read as well as helpful and thought provoking for those setting up a new business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having heard the wonderful Danny Meyer speak i was really keen to read this book. It didn't disappoint and is a wonderful story of how to deliver true "hospitality" to your customers. If you want to test out what Danny says in his book,try the restaurants...awesome!

Highly recommended particularly for those in service industries or wanting to learn how the best do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Setting the Table: Lessons and inspirations from one of the worlds leading entrepreneurs (Paperback)
*****5 Star*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my nephew, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Setting the Table: Lessons and inspirations from one of the worlds leading entrepreneurs (Paperback)
Came very quickly and in good condition. The book looks very good but not really what I thought it would be, so sadly not sure it is going to be what my nephew will like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sales Sales Sales. No Content, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A man more impressed with his own achievement than a love of the industry. Dreadfully pompous and terminally dull. Best avoided
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bla bla bla for nothing new or special. I ..., 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Setting the Table: Lessons and inspirations from one of the worlds leading entrepreneurs (Paperback)
Bla bla bla for nothing new or special. I was expected photos and instructions how to set up a table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Setting the Table: Lessons and inspirations from one of the worlds leading entrepreneurs (Paperback)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Setting the Table: Lessons and inspirations from one of the worlds leading entrepreneurs
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews