Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent top quality book, 27 Feb 2009
By 
Jay Rainbow (bolton england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emily Dickinson (EVERYMAN POETRY) (Paperback)
good value. simply put this short collection of her work is accesable and brilliant value. its a nice length and well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taste and see, 3 May 2005
By 
B. G. Strand "strandbg" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Emily Dickinson (EVERYMAN POETRY) (Paperback)
A cheap and easy way to try out Emily's poetry.It prompted me to buy the complete works .Undoubtedly the best American poet especially if you prefer shorter poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sassy, short poems with big ideas, 20 Aug 2004
By 
M. L. York "Grammarian" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Emily Dickinson (EVERYMAN POETRY) (Paperback)
So... I know my title sounds like a description of a twenty-first century poet. I would never usually apply the word 'sassy' to writing so old. However, Emily is timeless. My friends and I, who studied her avidly for A Level, can imagine her hiding away in a big house somewhere even today, looking at the world through her bitingly cynical eyes. The poetry is very very difficult, and thus, extremely rewarding. I liken it to problem solving - on first reading one of the poems, usually with a maximum of 6 stanzas, you think you'll never understand it. There are so few words, and seemingly the syntax is all wrong, but after a few reads, it all fits together beautifully.
I just love Emily's tone, always with that slight smirk behind it, as if inviting a gasp of shock. Her rythms are often like playground taunts, but her subject matter (from death to religion to nature to marriage) is far from childish. That, for me, is the beauty of the writing, which encapsulates huge ideas and comments in little bubbles of stanzas.
For such a recluse, Emily has an incredible perspective on the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Old Friend, 11 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book because Dickinson is one of my favourite poets and I already know her work well. If you are coming to her as a stranger, you are in for a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emily Dickinson (EVERYMAN POETRY) (Paperback)
Because it contained a Poem loved by Carolyn Quentin
'Hope' is the thing with feathers ......a really beautiful poem

Yes, would recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value - in every sense, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emily Dickinson (EVERYMAN POETRY) (Paperback)
This slim but rewarding anthology will grace any bookshelf with its collection of wry, witty, troubled, uplifting verse. The poetry of Emily Dickinson walks softly but carries a big stick. The brief accompanying introduction to her life & times is ideal for those still to acquaint themselves with the riches within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely., 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emily Dickinson (EVERYMAN POETRY) (Paperback)
Mysterious lovely.For my money one of the greatest poets in English. The still eternal world we have lost. Words and meaning embrace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emily Dickinson (EVERYMAN POETRY) (Paperback)
What can i say... if you like her, you'll love this. Surprisingly modern views and outlook...Depending on mood this will take a long time to digest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Emily Dickinson (EVERYMAN POETRY)
Emily Dickinson (EVERYMAN POETRY) by Emily Dickinson (Paperback - 25 Aug 1997)
2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews