Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reverence through and for language
This is a very cheap and worthwhile introduction to the poetry of RS Thomas. The selection is based on the collected poems 1946-1990 and was published in the early 90s whilst he was still alive. Unfortunately, it does not include details of which year each poem was published or from which collection. That aside, the selection seems to cover his major themes - the rural...
Published on 26 Mar 2007 by Mykool

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious and teenage.
The idea of a 'Welsh Nationalist' writing in English, sending his children to a private English school is off-putting enough, but constantly religious, badly formed didactic poetry is already too easy to come by.
Published 4 months ago by Kieran Andrew Mcgill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reverence through and for language, 26 Mar 2007
This review is from: R. S. Thomas: Everyman Poetry: 7 (Paperback)
This is a very cheap and worthwhile introduction to the poetry of RS Thomas. The selection is based on the collected poems 1946-1990 and was published in the early 90s whilst he was still alive. Unfortunately, it does not include details of which year each poem was published or from which collection. That aside, the selection seems to cover his major themes - the rural people and landscape of Wales (often with weariness, frustration and some bitterness), struggle with religious faith and love. His sounding note, however, is a reverence for life and experience and an even greater reverence for the language that can encapsulate it. If you like poetry you will not fail to be touched and impressed by this tough and tender work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 25 Jun 2010
By 
P. Morgan (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: R. S. Thomas: Everyman Poetry: 7 (Paperback)
This book contains all my favourite R S Thomas verses.
It is small enough and cheap enough to carry around.
Love this series of Everyman poetry...it is what it says it is, accessible and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent value, 21 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: R. S. Thomas: Everyman Poetry: 7 (Paperback)
This is amazing value. It's a good selection of poems, the paper/book quality reasonable so it has a nice feel although not as good as I'd expect from a more expensive volume. I was very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Concise R S Thomas, 4 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: R. S. Thomas: Everyman Poetry: 7 (Paperback)
A wonderful introduction to this prolific poet. It's easy to get lost in some of the larger collections.

And it's hard to get great poetry at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: R. S. Thomas: Everyman Poetry: 7 (Paperback)
Very good value, easy to read budget copy of R S Thomas' poems.
Attractive cover with quite rough, cheap paper but completely serves its purpose without great expense which is what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sufficient for the day, 9 Oct 2013
By 
J. I. Sears (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: R. S. Thomas: Everyman Poetry: 7 (Paperback)
Good little book with some of RS Thoma poems within. Good for a taster, but a fuller version is the next stage in purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for the money ., 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: R. S. Thomas: Everyman Poetry: 7 (Paperback)
R S Thomas wonderful poetry which this little book as so many of great value and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry, 10 Dec 2012
By 
MBCluderay (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: R. S. Thomas: Everyman Poetry: 7 (Paperback)
This is a book which speaks of the great beauty of the writings of R.S. Thomas. It is helpful in size and content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars R S Thomas: raw, graphic, touching, deep and honest, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: R. S. Thomas: Everyman Poetry: 7 (Paperback)
Thomas' work may seem severe. He tells us of four things: about the hard life of poor Welsh countrymen during the middle of the twentieth century, about the struggle to bring people to faith (Thomas was a country clergyman), the chronic crushing over centuries of Welshness by the English and also the difficulty of 'poems that have come to pieces/ In your crude hands' when composing them.

His tone is raw, graphic, touching, deep and honest.

Read him and I think that you get strong senses of the Wales that Thomas knew. He is so far removed from my lifestyle and yet I love his work and keep this book on my bedside table to lose myself from all the technology, spiritual bankruptcy and materialism that surrounds me today.

I can't decide which my favourite poem is, but it could be Evans, Ninetieth birthday, Tramp or Good.

Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RS Thomas poetry, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like RS Thomas' style and these poems are lovely to read and meditate upon. Thomas does not mince his words and can appear to be a grumpy old man at times but his observation of life is wonderfully accurate and superbly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

R. S. Thomas: Everyman Poetry: 7
R. S. Thomas: Everyman Poetry: 7 by R.S. Thomas (Paperback - 19 Aug 1996)
2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews