Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars33
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2014
I've always loved the lyricism of Dylan Thomas and loved Under Milkwood ever since seeing the dramatisation on BBCTV when I was a teenager over 50 years ago. To now have traeted myself to the collection of his works and being able to listen to the special voice of Richard Burton is just magical.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
All Dylan Thomas's best known poetry with dates they were written, stories and broadcasts. Excellent book, excellent service.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
full works at a very good price. Print size might be a problem for some - i.e. small - but to have all the works in one compact book is excellent
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book contains a selection of Dylan Thomas' more popular poems and short stories, also including broadcasts, such as the absolutely fantastic Under Milk Wood.

Reading Thomas is a real treat, his poems call to us and his stories grab and hold us. From humour to pathos Thomas gives us tales of everyday life with real characters that we can all relate to; the scenery of Wales comes to life and we feel that we have walked there.

So, if you've had a stressful day, make a cup of tea, put your feet up and relax and enjoy this wonderful collection.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
An excellent little omnibus with the best (Under Milk Wood) kept until last.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
the descriptions in his play and poetry is magical. enjoying it and rereading it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
Love him, loathe him or criticise his lifestyle, there is no denying Dylan Thomas was born with a typically Welsh talent for words and the rhythm and cadence of poetry. Maybe his best days were behind him when he whisky'd himself to death, but this book undeniably illustrates that the man was a literary giant of the 20th century. His talent easily encompassed poetry, short stories and broadcasts and as history proves, time and time again, genius is usually contained within a very imperfect human being, sometimes prone to self-destruction. We can only be glad he lived as long as he did and left such a small but perfectly formed legacy. If you buy one Dylan Thomas book for your shelves, let it be this one, and go straight to 'Fern Hill'.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Many of the most important poems by an international favourite poet.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
This book is lovely, i have loved the poem Under Milk Wood"
for years, anything by Dyan Thomas is so inspiring.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
Since studying Under Milk Wood at school, I've always had an affection for Dylan Thomas' writing. My dog-eared, 30 year old copy of 'Portrait of the Artist as a Young Dog' had seen better days, so I decided to buy this. Money well spent, as well as 'Portrait' and Under Milk Wood, there's lots of treasures here if you a fan of wonderfully descriptive, emotive writing.

Only grumble is that there's not a Kindle version available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.