Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2012
I have lived in China for a couple of years and discovered this book shortly after I arrived. It really is a fabulous guide to swearing, slang and genuine idiomatic Chinese as used on the streets. Not only did I find it interesting and amusing, but my first copy was leafed through avidly by my fluent Chinese-speaking assistants, both of whom then went out and bought their own copies. I have subsequently bought about 15 copies for friends and business contacts (provided that they are reasonably open-minded and have a sense of humour). Many of them are fascinated by the Chinese characters - although they use the words fairly casually in speech, they have never seen them written down and a typical comment is "ahhh - THAT's how you write that one!" It is also an interesting insight into Chinese culture and the concepts that people here do or don't find offensive. A must for any student of the Chinese language!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2011
I bought this book as a gift for a friend studying Chinese and we both found it exceedingly amusing. The words themselves are where the real hilarity lies not least because they haven't held back on the obscenity. At all. I'm not sure whether I can share the expressions here but suffice to say that the title of the book itself has a very interesting meaning and etymology! Without speaking the language I have no idea how common these expressions are and what would happen if a foreigner in China used them. It might have been fun to have included some example dialogues so that people like me could mangle the language even more.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2011
As a very humble learner of this wonderul language, this little book is a nice addition to my collection of books on Mandarin Chinese. Standard text books for learning foreing languages tend to be bland, boring and full of silly texts, detached from everyday conversation, modes, idioms and colloquial language and expression, so this book is a must if you want to improve a little bit by learning street language, internet slang and other idioms which will, if you don't know them, put you at a loss to interpret them. It is nice that there is nothing held back in terms of language and obscenity or profanity, so delicate stomachs maybe should abstain. Otherwise it is sometimes a good laugh. A culture's own profanity and preferred insults is always also an insight of the culture itself, specially it reveals things about the culture's specific way of thinking, what things it values more, (and therefore are the subject of most hurting abuse), how it deals with censorship online, and so on. Not that I will be using all of this everyday, and some of it can get you GBH in a Beijing alley, but it is good to know, specially internet slang which you can easily find when browsing and dirty words which could be harder to find sources for.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
Every language student needs a break from learning the academic and proper version of any language, this book is a wonderful contribution to language aids. It's full of belly laughs that many Chinese language students will appreciate. It's not uncommon for students to learn phrases in which we secretly think we'll never use, this humourous language aid is potentially full of ones we either will use or will encounter (uh oh)! For the student needing a little motivation when learning a new language gets momentarily dull.
This is up to date slang! Perhaps the best Chinese slang book one has encountered yet!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
Bought for my brother who works in China. When he took it back he said all the guys who he works with loved it too as quite often they know they swear words but didn't know how they were written! Good fun.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Bought this as a gift for my friend who's interested learning Chinese. And he likes the book a lot. It's fun, and with up-to-date modern Chinese usage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
It's a nice little book. It will not get you any further in China but at least you can share a laugh when your trying to pronounce these words.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Very good book, but some part is very hard-core. Anyhow, it is an amazing book. the words are in this book are very local, very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Funniest Chinese language book ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Quite good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)