Customer Reviews


9 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good even if you don't speak Chinese!, 19 April 2011
This review is from: Niubi!: The Real Chinese You Were Never Taught in School (Paperback)
I bought this book as a gift for a friend studying Chinese and we both found it exceedingly amusing. The words themselves are where the real hilarity lies not least because they haven't held back on the obscenity. At all. I'm not sure whether I can share the expressions here but suffice to say that the title of the book itself has a very interesting meaning and etymology! Without speaking the language I have no idea how common these expressions are and what would happen if a foreigner in China used them. It might have been fun to have included some example dialogues so that people like me could mangle the language even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable guide to sweary Chinese, 11 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Niubi!: The Real Chinese You Were Never Taught in School (Paperback)
I have lived in China for a couple of years and discovered this book shortly after I arrived. It really is a fabulous guide to swearing, slang and genuine idiomatic Chinese as used on the streets. Not only did I find it interesting and amusing, but my first copy was leafed through avidly by my fluent Chinese-speaking assistants, both of whom then went out and bought their own copies. I have subsequently bought about 15 copies for friends and business contacts (provided that they are reasonably open-minded and have a sense of humour). Many of them are fascinated by the Chinese characters - although they use the words fairly casually in speech, they have never seen them written down and a typical comment is "ahhh - THAT's how you write that one!" It is also an interesting insight into Chinese culture and the concepts that people here do or don't find offensive. A must for any student of the Chinese language!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to the title, 7 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Niubi!: The Real Chinese You Were Never Taught in School (Paperback)
As a very humble learner of this wonderul language, this little book is a nice addition to my collection of books on Mandarin Chinese. Standard text books for learning foreing languages tend to be bland, boring and full of silly texts, detached from everyday conversation, modes, idioms and colloquial language and expression, so this book is a must if you want to improve a little bit by learning street language, internet slang and other idioms which will, if you don't know them, put you at a loss to interpret them. It is nice that there is nothing held back in terms of language and obscenity or profanity, so delicate stomachs maybe should abstain. Otherwise it is sometimes a good laugh. A culture's own profanity and preferred insults is always also an insight of the culture itself, specially it reveals things about the culture's specific way of thinking, what things it values more, (and therefore are the subject of most hurting abuse), how it deals with censorship online, and so on. Not that I will be using all of this everyday, and some of it can get you GBH in a Beijing alley, but it is good to know, specially internet slang which you can easily find when browsing and dirty words which could be harder to find sources for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does what is says on the tin!, 25 July 2012
This review is from: Niubi!: The Real Chinese You Were Never Taught in School (Paperback)
Every language student needs a break from learning the academic and proper version of any language, this book is a wonderful contribution to language aids. It's full of belly laughs that many Chinese language students will appreciate. It's not uncommon for students to learn phrases in which we secretly think we'll never use, this humourous language aid is potentially full of ones we either will use or will encounter (uh oh)! For the student needing a little motivation when learning a new language gets momentarily dull.
This is up to date slang! Perhaps the best Chinese slang book one has encountered yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Niubi!: The Real Chinese You Were Never Taught in School (Paperback)
Bought for my brother who works in China. When he took it back he said all the guys who he works with loved it too as quite often they know they swear words but didn't know how they were written! Good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun book, 14 Mar. 2014
By 
Wang Hui Jia "Jiajia" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Niubi!: The Real Chinese You Were Never Taught in School (Paperback)
Bought this as a gift for my friend who's interested learning Chinese. And he likes the book a lot. It's fun, and with up-to-date modern Chinese usage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice little extra, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Niubi!: The Real Chinese You Were Never Taught in School (Paperback)
It's a nice little book. It will not get you any further in China but at least you can share a laugh when your trying to pronounce these words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Niubi!: The Real Chinese You Were Never Taught in School (Paperback)
Very good book, but some part is very hard-core. Anyhow, it is an amazing book. the words are in this book are very local, very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 19 July 2014
By 
YING LI "Y. LI" (London, HA1 3YU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Niubi!: The Real Chinese You Were Never Taught in School (Paperback)
Funniest Chinese language book ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Niubi!: The Real Chinese You Were Never Taught in School
Niubi!: The Real Chinese You Were Never Taught in School by Eveline Chao (Paperback - 24 Nov. 2009)
£8.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews