Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

8
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 8 November 2010
This book, written in Woodrell's sparse but beautifully crafted style, really evokes the characters and their environment to great effect. The story is beautifully structured and the voice it is written in is unusual enough to engage the reader, whilst being accessible too. I feel the book has more heart than the more celebrated Winter's Bone and is a rounder book. I have already passed this on and will be buying more books from this writer with a truly unique voice and style.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 3 December 2010
Daniel Woodrell's books are terse, gripping, and contain some of the best dialogue I have read. Not a wasted word is in there. The plot courses in a, sometimes depressing, realistically random way; there are few artificial plot twists - it's all too plausible.
For readers of Cormac McCaarthy and William Gay - sign up here!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 21 June 2011
To me, this read like a Tom Waits song working to a John Lee Hooker beat. Really, you can almost tap your feet to Woodrell's prose and the whole thing pulsates with lines of buttoned-up simile worthy of Chandler. I loved the ending. Just when looks like it's going to slip down a lazy and unlikely John Grisham (zzzz) route, it is yanked back to the prosaic and the likely - pure genius. One of the best and most underrated writers working today.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Riveting book that transports you deep into the heart of the frozen landscape and tough culture of the Ozarks. Woodrell's wonderful unconventional
use of words and language weaves a visual tapestry that makes the reader think and feel. The film is nothing in relation to this extraordinary book.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Tomato Red reads a bit like a social realist play, with its gritty realism and harsh truths, and small cast of well drawn characters. The dialogue and interactions between Sammy, Jamalee, Jason and Bev is pitch perfect, and Woodrell does an admirable job of immersing the reader in their world. As ever, the prose is nicely crafted, and Woodrell has a deft hand for turning expressive phrasing and sharing interesting observations and insights into social relations. Where the book falls a little short perhaps is with respect to plot, which is quite ponderous at times as if Woodrell is tentatively feeling his way, and the ending felt a little false and rushed. I've become a huge fan of Woodrell's country noir; Tomato Red didn't quite match some of his other works, but its still a fine, entertaining read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 29 July 2015
A master with words and people and the ways we do. Go ahead and read it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 27 August 2014
Who needs to read about what's so prevalent in today's society?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 3 April 2011
Surprising because eveything else I've read from Daniel Woodrell has been brilliant. He seems to try too hard in this novel. Less is more.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The Death of Sweet Mister
The Death of Sweet Mister by Daniel Woodrell (Paperback - 24 April 2012)
£9.56

Winter's Bone
Winter's Bone by Daniel Woodrell (Paperback - 12 July 2007)
£8.99
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.