Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic writer, and book.
Daniel Woodrell's books are terse, gripping, and contain some of the best dialogue I have read. Not a wasted word is in there. The plot courses in a, sometimes depressing, realistically random way; there are few artificial plot twists - it's all too plausible.
For readers of Cormac McCaarthy and William Gay - sign up here!
Published on 3 Dec 2010 by David Toresen

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Who needs to read about what's so prevalent in today's society?
Published 1 month ago by P. F. Dinneen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic writer, and book., 3 Dec 2010
By 
David Toresen (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomato Red (Paperback)
Daniel Woodrell's books are terse, gripping, and contain some of the best dialogue I have read. Not a wasted word is in there. The plot courses in a, sometimes depressing, realistically random way; there are few artificial plot twists - it's all too plausible.
For readers of Cormac McCaarthy and William Gay - sign up here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Nov 2010
By 
P. Cranfield - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomato Red (Paperback)
This book, written in Woodrell's sparse but beautifully crafted style, really evokes the characters and their environment to great effect. The story is beautifully structured and the voice it is written in is unusual enough to engage the reader, whilst being accessible too. I feel the book has more heart than the more celebrated Winter's Bone and is a rounder book. I have already passed this on and will be buying more books from this writer with a truly unique voice and style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely pace and rhythm, 21 Jun 2011
By 
NJ Thorn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomato Red (Paperback)
To me, this read like a Tom Waits song working to a John Lee Hooker beat. Really, you can almost tap your feet to Woodrell's prose and the whole thing pulsates with lines of buttoned-up simile worthy of Chandler. I loved the ending. Just when looks like it's going to slip down a lazy and unlikely John Grisham (zzzz) route, it is yanked back to the prosaic and the likely - pure genius. One of the best and most underrated writers working today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, 15 April 2011
By 
D. M. R. Barrington "Zacstack" (Gloucester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomato Red (Paperback)
Riveting book that transports you deep into the heart of the frozen landscape and tough culture of the Ozarks. Woodrell's wonderful unconventional
use of words and language weaves a visual tapestry that makes the reader think and feel. The film is nothing in relation to this extraordinary book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fine slice of country noir, 29 May 2012
By 
Rob Kitchin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomato Red (Paperback)
Tomato Red reads a bit like a social realist play, with its gritty realism and harsh truths, and small cast of well drawn characters. The dialogue and interactions between Sammy, Jamalee, Jason and Bev is pitch perfect, and Woodrell does an admirable job of immersing the reader in their world. As ever, the prose is nicely crafted, and Woodrell has a deft hand for turning expressive phrasing and sharing interesting observations and insights into social relations. Where the book falls a little short perhaps is with respect to plot, which is quite ponderous at times as if Woodrell is tentatively feeling his way, and the ending felt a little false and rushed. I've become a huge fan of Woodrell's country noir; Tomato Red didn't quite match some of his other works, but its still a fine, entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 27 Aug 2014
By 
P. F. Dinneen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomato Red (Paperback)
Who needs to read about what's so prevalent in today's society?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rotten Tomato..., 3 April 2011
By 
K. Hendrikse (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomato Red (Paperback)
Surprising because eveything else I've read from Daniel Woodrell has been brilliant. He seems to try too hard in this novel. Less is more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tomato Red
Tomato Red by Daniel Woodrell (Paperback - Oct 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews