Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poe-try
Most people know that Edgar Allen Poe wrote poetry. Of course, you'd be hard-pressed to make them quote a line that doesn't involve ravens.

Well, it's time for some poetry homework -- "The Raven" is neither Poe's most beautiful nor his most striking poem. That is reserved for other, more obscure works in Poe's "Complete Poetry" -- and while one might expect the...
Published on 10 Oct 2008 by E. A Solinas

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good price
I flicked through this book , i'm not going to call mr poe, he's obviously a master of what he's does, just not for me
Published 18 months ago by Karl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poe-try, 10 Oct 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe (Signet Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
Most people know that Edgar Allen Poe wrote poetry. Of course, you'd be hard-pressed to make them quote a line that doesn't involve ravens.

Well, it's time for some poetry homework -- "The Raven" is neither Poe's most beautiful nor his most striking poem. That is reserved for other, more obscure works in Poe's "Complete Poetry" -- and while one might expect the ghostly or macabre to be all throughout his work, it's also filled with transcendent beauty, wistfulness, and some truly amazing wordwork.

Over his lifetime, Poe tried out many styles -- there are sonnets, short hymns, long rambling odes written in dramatic, vaguely Shakespearean style ("O, human love! thou spirit given/On Earth, of all we hope in Heaven!"), acrostics, little exercises in self-reflection, a lyrical song or two, and some haunting stories rendered in verse like the bittersweet "Annabel Lee."

And the content of these poems is just as diverse. Some of them are distinctly dark -- sunken cities, tolling bells, haunted palaces, thoughts on the lingering spirits of the dead, abandoned valleys, and loved ones that have been stolen away by death (" I pray to God that she may lie/For ever with unopened eye/While the pale sheeted ghosts go by!"). And yes, it has the one about a midnight dreary, and a creepy raven with eyes like "a demon's that is dreaming."

And there are a lot of moments of beauty -- lush descriptions of nature, bittersweet dreams, love for a beautiful girl, and elfin odes to those who "put out the star-light/With the breath from their pale faces/About twelve by the moon-dial..." But in many of these, Poe manages to add a melancholy atmosphere -- just look at "Bridal Ballad," whose narrator assures us that she is happy, but who is haunted by the "dead who is forsaken," her former lover.

Yeah, Poe's verse tends to be about as cheerful as his best known fiction, and often with some of the same preoccupations. He was a little less successful in verse at times, as occasionally you get some very strained verse schemes, like the terribly awkward "Eulalie" ("Now Doubt - now Pain/Come never again/For her soul gives me sigh for sigh").

But like his stories, Poe's poems are spun out of exquisite, dreamlike words that can sometimes evolve into nightmares. This guy could evoke everything from ghosts to fairy-tales, brides to wormlike horrors. Even the more sentimental moments have a dark edge ("Oh, may her sleep/As it is lasting, so be deep!/Soft may the worms about her creep!"). And he also wraps his verse in some truly beautiful natural metaphors -- ancient forests, flowers, misty moons, and many other beautiful touches.

And Poe's poetry even allows a window into his own mind at times, most painfully expressed as "from childhood's hour I have not been/As others were -- I have not seen/As others saw -- I could not bring/My passions from a common spring..." and the "mystery which binds me still."

For anyone who can appreciate his exquisite use of words, the "Complete Poetry of Edgar Allen Poe" is a must-read -- full of dark, meditative little gems and exquisite language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Little Book of Poe, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe (Signet Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
I like Edgar Allan Poe's work and this book helped me further my knowledge of it.

This is the perfect little book, and it is smaller than an average book, for anyone who is interested in learning about Poe and reading for themselves his poems. The introduction is interesting and also includes background information on Poe himself and the reasoning behind his poems.

The design is nice and the text isn't too small, if you're looking for the complete poetry of Edgar Allan Poe then I'd recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edgar Allan Poe, 5 April 2012
By 
Elle Tunstill (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe (Signet Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love Edgar Allan Poes work he is one of very few poets I like and this book is exactly what I wanted, is very informative not only does it have great poems in it also tell's about Poes life. It is perfect condition and easy to read and best of all it fits easily into my bag haha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter the dark, twisty world that is Edgar Allan Poe....., 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe (Signet Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
In all honesty, I bought this so I would have a paper copy of The Raven. I am not a big fan of poetry, and I very rarely read any before, until Poe.

As it turns out, I enjoyed the other works too, and slowly this is becoming one of my most read books from the shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really happy with this book, 29 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe (Signet Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
this is a really good book, because not only it has all of Poe's poems. But it also gives information of how he wrote the poems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe (Signet Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
my son was very pleased with the book and he said it was very good so i was happy with the perchase many thanks to you all *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection of poems, 27 April 2013
By 
Mrs. F. E. Limbert "FayeJ" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe (Signet Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
As a fan of Poe's short stories, I was keen to read his poetry. This is a great collection with a cool cover illustration. Small enough to pop in my handbag, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edgar Allan Poe, 1 Feb 2013
By 
M. Flynn (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe (Signet Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a small book with (I believe) all of Edgar Allan Poe's poetry works. My favourite is Annabel Lee. Such a beautiful poem with so much emotion behind it. I enjoy reading Edgar Allan Poe's works and believe he was a brillaint writer and poet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing., 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe (Signet Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
Edgar Allan Poe is one of my favourite poets of all time. His deep gothic style and odd rythms are so fascinating to read. Whats nice about having them all together is you can pick out certain writing traits of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe (Signet Classics), 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe (Signet Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
Wanted this book, ordered it and came on time. I have enjoyed reading it. Cannot think of much more other than to type until word requirement is met.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe (Signet Classics)
The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe (Signet Classics) by Edgar Allan Poe (Mass Market Paperback - 7 Oct 2008)
2.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews