Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relatively Great
This is not a children's book. Swift ensured that Gulliver's account is an easily readable piece of literature, but this is certainly not a book to be read on the surface. The depth of ideas and satire is unmatched by any other author. The first two chapters concentrate on the problems of our political systems and ridicule our customs. Gulliver is cleverly interposed in...
Published on 24 Aug 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very famous book and it's good to have read it but...........
I enjoyed the more famous chapters about the hero being the prisoner and later the guest of miniature people, and then later being the pet and exhibit of giants. I also enjoyed the sections where he lands up at a country where horses are in charge and yahoos (uncivilized and savage humans) provide the power and transport.
However, I was conscious of not knowing...
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good characterization but a little too long winded in explanation. Worth a read if you can stick with it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed by collectors, 24 April 2009
By 
S. Cook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The colour plates and line drawings by Arthur Rackham in this 1959 hard cover edition of the ever popular Gullivers Travels are typical of the work of this Victorian artist who became famous as an illustrator of childrens books. Rackham's illustrations can appear foreboding but were never frightening for children as he managed to convey joy and wonderment in his work. The illustrations express am impish joy and delight in his subject matter with glorious detail in the backgrounds, filled with little nuggets of hidden images or surprisingly animated trees or animals. A must for collectors of either Rackham or Swift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nobody likes a Smart-Alec, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. J. Emblen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Any wordsmith wizadry Jonathan Swift applies to this "classic" was totally and utterly lost (ironically, like Gulliver himself) because of my dislike for the title character, Lemuel Gulliver.

We're supposed to believe that Gulliver travels unchartered lands, charasmatically wooing royal courts left, right and centre with his witty banter? With so little hardships from all these various crashes he's endured? It all seems too good to be true.

We've all got "friends" like Gulliver, who're usually followed by a whiff of cattle manure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed!, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this story was better than this Except for the first story thay everyone has read since childhood I was very disapointed the horse story was OK but the rest is rubbish. sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, but a little dated, 28 Dec 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "USA & ENGLAND" (NEW YORK USA & LONDON ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
This is a good book, it is a little dated however. I found it a good read, but slowly grow tired of the stlye of language in the book. This is a classix book so perhaps it is just me, but modernising the language would have helped here. b=never the less for free, how can you go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK (ish), 4 April 2012
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gulliver's Travels (Audio CD)
Gulliver's Travels from AudioGo

1 hour abridged CD tells the tale of Gulliver in his travels to strange worlds. Having never read the book I only had a brief idea of what the story was about. It was `gently' read by Andrew Sachs. The story reads like a ships narrative and therefore lacks any excitement, but nonetheless was fairly interesting.

Can I recommend it? Hmmmmm.......probably not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brain-raking model in English literature, 6 Jan 2004
By 
I am rather disappointed by the book that definitely is a classic. Lilliput is just another image of monarchy, but in no way different from what Swift knew. The criticism comes from the scale of the people who are extremely small. Brogdingnag does not change this approach, only the scale of the people who are extremely big, though in this case there is a direct criticism of the exploitation the grotesque Gulliver is the object of. Laputa, Balnibarbi and Luggnagg show a strange floating saucer in a kingdom dominated by unpractical scientists who try to do everything upside down. It is a satire of scientists in general who are so little concerned by the welfare of the community that they can ruin just for the sake of implementing their hypotheses. Glubbdubdrib is funnier because it enables Gulliver to meet all kinds of people from the past and this leads to remarks about philosophers or politicians or generals that show how small and little and even tiny they were. Japan only shows the extreme anti-christian policy that can be reached there and the extreme self-centeredness of the Dutch, which is probably a criticism of the crown in England. But the last voyage to the country of the Houyhnhnms is by far the best because here we reach both a severe criticism of the human race reduced to its animal instincts and behaviors, and a utopian society in which evil does not exist because it cannot even be conceived, because it is totally out of reach for these kind reasoning and reasonable horses. And yet Gulliver is expelled because he is a Yahoo, no matter what, and the natural reason of these dominant horses leads to rejection, after having found in Gulliver's explanations a solution to get rid of the Yahoo by sterilizing them into extinction, just the way men do with horses in European countries, just a little bit more systematically. This leads to the idea that genocide and ethnic cleansing is a natural attitude, an attitude that goes along with natural reason that says that the species standing in the way of reason have to be exterminated. But the book never reaches that level of thinking, since Swift could not know about such policies that will flourish in later centuries, and yet the Irish occupation should lead him to some idea of what such a principle can lead to. Thus at a second level of reading we find a criticism of natural reason though it is not fully expressed and developed. After all it is that natural reason that led, already in Swift's times, to the genocide of Indians in America : they were not human, they were attributed all kinds of shortcomings like aggressivity, the love of war, the lack of cleanliness, a strong stench, and many other elements of the type. We can even note that beyond the genocide, the sterilisation policy will be implemented, but not on males, rather on females, and this in some US states up to the 1950s and maybe the 1960s. And this policy initiated by the Scandinavians in the early 20th century (and it was to last at least fifty or sixty decades) was to be systematically used against physically or psychologically impaired people. Hitler will follow that model, pushing it one bit further. In a way the book becomes then some vision of the future. This book hence is a prefiguration of many other books on the subject, such as The time Machine , Brave New World , Animal Farm , etc. This book seems to be the archetype of a literary genre in English literature, and of course the archetype of many films dealing with the same subject, particularly extraterrestrials.To conclude I will say that such a book is definitely not for children even if it is often assigned to young children in some schools.
Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is something I read some 70 years ago. I have nor reread it and enjoyed it, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do not follow this. What tips are you requiring from me other than I have written above or diferent from that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gulliver's Travels, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really struggled to get into this book, in fact I stopped after 2/3 of it. I did try to enjoy it but I couldn't get into the style of writing, it's just not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gulliver's Travels, 16 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the first part of this book, but eventually became bored with the rest of the stories. It was good to be reminded of the style in which this story is written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gullivers Travels (Signet Classic)
Gullivers Travels (Signet Classic) by Leopold Damrosch (Mass Market Paperback - 4 Mar 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews